Characteristics of defined contribution and of defined benefit pension plans

If you company is a small business, a simplified pension plan (SIPP) may be just what you need.

Characteristics shared by both plan types

A written contract registered with Retraite Québec

A pension plan is a written contract under which you and, in some cases, your employees are required to make periodic payments to a pension fund in order to provide your employees with a retirement income.

Plan administration

Defined contribution and defined benefit pension plans are generally administered by a pension committee (the committee is the "plan administrator"). As the employer, you can sit on the committee or by designated by the committee to carry out specific duties.

Attention

If you plan has less than 26 members and beneficiaries, you can act alone as the plan administrator (if allowed by the plan text). In that case, you have the same duties and obligations as a pension committee.


Employer contributions

The contributions paid into a pension fund are deductible from your taxes. They are also excluded from the calculation of your contributions to other programs such as employment insurance, the Health Services Fund, etc.

If employer contributions vary according to the number of years of employment or credited service, they must be approved by Retraite Québec. The variable employer contributions must meet certain rules.

Protection of the pension fund

You cannot at any time or for any reason take money out of the plan's pension fund. Your creditors cannot touch the fund either. In other words, the pension fund cannot be seized in the event of bankruptcy and it cannot be put up a guarantee for any obligations other than obligations of the plan.

Characteristics specific to defined contribution plans

  • The amount of contributions paid into the pension fund is set in advance.
  • The amount of a member's retirement income depends, among other factors, on the total amount accumulated in the member's account, that is:
    • contributions that you made as the employer
    • member contributions made by the employee (if required to contribute)
    • interest credited to contributions.
  • The risk related to fluctuations in the pension funds rate of return are borne by the members and beneficiaries.
  • Your participation is limited to the contributions that you are required to make under the plan provisions.

Characteristics specific to defined benefit plans

  • The cost of benefits and the contributions to be made to the pension fund are determined by an actuary. Those contributions include both those that you, as the employer, are required to make and those that the members make (if required to contribute).
  • The amount of a member's retirement pension generally corresponds to a percentage of his or her salary, multiplied by the number of years of credited service under the plan.
  • The plan can provide for early retirement or phased retirement measures (or both) to more effectively manage the firm's human resources.
  • As the employer, you are responsible for the plan's funding.

An informed employer will act without hesitation

To set up a pension plan that corresponds to your financial means and to your employees' needs, you will need to contact consultant who specializes in the pension field (an actuary or any other person qualified to set up a pension plan) or a financial institution.

Complete an application for registration of a pension plan, which will guide you through our procedures.

The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.
Top of page

Régie des rentes du Québec

Caractéristiques des régimes de retraite à cotisation déterminée ou à prestations déterminées


Si votre entreprise est une PME, le régime de retraite simplifié (RRS) est tout indiqué pour vous!


Caractéristiques communes aux 2 types de régime

Un contrat écrit enregistré auprès de la Régie des rentes du Québec

Le régime de retraite est un contrat écrit en vertu duquel vous et vos employés, le cas échéant, vous engagez à faire périodiquement un versement dans une caisse de retraite pour procurer aux employés un revenu à la retraite.

Administration du régime

Les régimes de retraite à cotisation déterminée ou à prestations déterminées sont généralement administrés par un comité de retraite (ce comité est « l'administrateur du régime »). Vous pouvez siéger à ce comité à titre de membre ou être désigné par celui-ci pour remplir certaines fonctions précises.


Attention ...

Si votre régime compte moins de 26 participants et bénéficiaires, vous pouvez également agir en tant qu'administrateur du régime (si le régime le permet). Dans ce cas, vous avez les mêmes devoirs et obligations qu'un comité de retraite.



Cotisations patronales

Les cotisations versées dans la caisse de retraite sont déductibles d'impôt. Elles sont également exclues du calcul servant à déterminer les cotisations à d'autres programmes comme l'assurance-emploi, le Fonds des services de santé, etc.

Si la cotisation patronale varie en fonction des années de travail ou de services reconnues, elle doit être approuvée par la Régie. Ce sera le cas si la cotisation patronale variable respecte certaines règles.

Protection de la caisse de retraite

En aucun cas vous ne pouvez puiser dans les fonds de la caisse de retraite du régime. Vos créanciers non plus. Autrement dit, la caisse ne peut pas être saisie en cas de faillite, ni donnée en garantie pour d'autres obligations que celles liées au régime.

Caractéristiques propres au régime à cotisation déterminée

  • Le montant des cotisations versées dans la caisse de retraite est fixé à l'avance.
  • Le montant du revenu de retraite dépend, entre autre, des sommes totales accumulées dans le compte du participant, autrement dit:
    • des cotisations que vous versez à titre d'employeur
    • des cotisations salariales du participant, s'il y a lieu
    • des intérêts crédités sur les cotisations
  • Les risques liés à la fluctuation du rendement de la caisse de retraite sont assumés par les participants et bénéficiaires.
  • Votre engagement est limité à la cotisation que vous êtes tenu de verser selon les dispositions du régime.

Caractéristiques propres au régime à prestations déterminées

  • Ce sont des actuaires qui établissent le coût des prestations et fixent les cotisations qui doivent être versées dans la caisse de retraite du régime. Ces cotisations sont celles que vous devez verser à titre d'employeur et celles des participants (s'ils en versent).
  • Le montant de la rente de retraite que recevront les participants correspond généralement à un pourcentage du salaire, multiplié par les années de service reconnues par le régime.
  • Le régime peut prévoir des mesures de retraite anticipée, de retraite progressive ou les deux, pour mieux gérer la main-d'oeuvre de l'entreprise.
  • Le financement du régime est sous votre responsabilité.

Un employeur averti passe à l'action!

Pour instaurer un régime de retraite qui correspond à vos moyens financiers et aux besoins de vos employés, nous vous invitons à consulter un conseiller spécialisé dans le domaine de la retraite (actuaire ou toute autre personne habilitée à mettre en place un régime de retraite) ou un établissement financier.

Remplissez la demande d'enregistrement d'un régime de retraite, qui vous guidera dans votre démarche auprès de la Régie.

  •  Partager
  • Haut de page 
Tout le monde a droit à une meilleure retraite. Le 1er juillet, le Québec met en place le RVER. Informez-vous