Flash Retirement

Private Pension Plans

Private pension plans provide workers with retirement income to supplement the income they will receive from public pension plans. They come in a variety of forms, including personal registered retirement savings plans (RRSPs) and employer-sponsored plans.

These plans don't all offer the same advantages and are not necessarily suited to all types of work situations. Let's take a look at their individual features.

Private employer-sponsored Pension Plans

Supplemental pension plan (SPP)

SPPs are also known as "pension funds," "employer pension plans," "registered pension plans", and "private pension plans." They are contracts under which the employer, alone or in conjunction with the employee, makes contributions to provide the employee with a retirement income and other benefits (death and sometimes disability). This income and these benefits are payable under very specific circumstances. As a general rule, funds accumulated by the employee are locked-in (or "frozen") until retirement and can only be used as retirement income.

SPPs are usually established by the employer, but may also be established by a union or other competent authority. Many workers do not have SPPs, particularly the self-employed and those who work for private sector companies that do not offer this benefit.

SPPs are governed by a spectrum of laws and administered by a variety of organizations and individuals, so the specific features vary from one SPP to another. For example, a private sector SPP subject to provincial jurisdiction and offered to employees in more than one province will be governed by the laws of each province.


The following are the main laws that apply to SPPs:

All SPPs

Applicable Law



Body



Web site


Income Tax Act Canada Revenue
Agency
www.cra.gc.ca This link will open in a new window. under the heading "Representatives—Registered plans administrators—Registered Pension Plans (RPPs)"

 


SPPs under provincial jurisdiction, mainly in the private sector
Applicable Law
Body
Website

Supplemental Pension Plans Act (R.S.Q.)

Retraite Québec,
            Direction des régimes complémentaires de retraite
www.retraitequebec.gouv.qc.ca  This link will open in a new window.under the heading "Our programs - Supplemental pension plans"
Employment Pension Plans Act (S.A.) Alberta Treasury Board and Finance – Office of the Alberta Superintendent of Pension www.finance.alberta.ca This link will open in a new window. under the heading "Our Business - Pensions"
Pension Benefits Standards Act (R.S.B.C.) British Columbia - Financial Institutions Commission – Superintendent of Pensions www.fic.gov.bc.ca This link will open in a new window. under the heading "Pensions plans"
Pension Benefit
Act
(R.S.M.)
Manitoba Labour and Immigration – Office of the Superintendent – Pension Commission www.gov.mb.ca/labour/pension/index.html This link will open in a new window.
Pension Benefits
Act
(L.N.B.)
New Brunswick – Financial and Consumer Services Commission – Pension Division www.fcnb.ca/PensionsIndustryThis link will open in a new window.
Pension Benefits
Act, 1997
(S.N.L.)
Newfoundland and Labrador - Financial Services Regulation Division – Pension Regulation www.servicenl.gov.nl.ca/pensions This link will open in a new window.
Pension
Benefits Act
(R.S.N.S.)
Nova Scotia – Labour and Advanced Education – Nova Scotia Office of the Superintendent of Pensions

http://novascotia.ca/lae/pensions This link will open in a new window.

Pension Benefits
Act
(R.S.O.)
Financial Services Commission of Ontario www.fsco.gov.on.ca/en/Pages/default.aspx This link will open in a new window. under the heading "Pensions"
Pension Benefits
Act
, 1992 (S.S.)

Saskatchewan Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority

www.fcaa.gov.sk.ca/sfsc-pension-plan-administrators This link will open in a new window.
www.fcaa.gov.sk.ca/sfsc-pension-plan-members This link will open in a new window.

SPPs in the private sector under federal jurisdiction (included employmen private sectort): telecommunications; banking; air, maritime, and rail transport; etc.

SPPs for local or private activities in the Yukon, the Northwest Territories, and Nunavut
Applicable Law
Body
Web site
Pension Benefits Standards Act, 19851 Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut - Office of the Superintendent
of Financial Institutions
www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/Eng/Pages/default.aspThis link will open in a new window. under the heading "Private Pension Plans"


1 This law applies to pension plans offered by employers in the private sector whose activities fall under federal jurisdiction (banks, interprovincial transport and telecommunications companies, etc.).

SPPs in the federal public sector for employees of the public service, the Canadian Forces, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, etc.

Applicable Law


Body


Webs ite

Canadian Forces Superannuation Act

Department of National Defence http://www.laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/c-17/ This link will open in a new window.

 

Public Service Superannuation Act Public Works and Government Services Canada www.tpsgc.gc.ca This link will open in a new window. under the heading "PWGSC Services - Your Public Service Pension and Benefits"
Royal Canadian Mounted Police Superannuation
Act
Royal Canadian
Mounted Police

www.pbs-sra.ca This link will open in a new window.





SPPs in the Québec public sector, including public service employees, teachers, Sûreté du Québec staff, peace officers, municipal elected officials, judges of the Court of Québec, etc.
Applicable Law
Body
Website

Act respecting the Government and Public
Employees Retirement plan

Act respecting the
Pension Plan of Management Personnel

Act
respecting the Teachers Pension Plan

Etc.

Retraite Québec www.retraitquebec.gouv.qc.ca


There are 2 main categories of SPPs: defined contribution pension plans and defined benefit pension plans. The 2 categories can be combined in a single SPP.

Defined Contribution Pension Plans

This type of plan sets the employer's and, if applicable, the employee's contribution in advance. The amount of the pension or retirement income is not predetermined; it is calculated according to factors such as the total funds accumulated plus interest, the interest rate in effect at the time of purchase of a life annuity, or the rates for a life income fund (LIF).

Defined Benefit Pension Plans

With this type of plan, the amount of the retirement pension is determined in advance according to a specific formula. The contribution amounts are reassessed periodically (typically each year) by an actuary. As a general rule, the employee's contribution is set in advance, and the employer is responsible for the balance of the cost of the retirement pension and other benefits.

This type of plan can be divided into 2 categories: "unit benefit plans" and "flat benefit plans". For unit benefit plans, pension payments are calculated as a percentage of the employee's salary or as the average salary for the employee's recognized years of service (e.g., 2% of the employee's average salary for the 3 consecutive highest-earning years of service). For flat benefit plans, the pension is set at a fixed rate according to the number of years of service (e.g., $480 per year of service).

Excess Benefit Plan

This type of plan is also known as a "top hat plan". As its name indicates, an excess benefit plan is meant to supplement SPP retirement income without regard to the tax limits that apply to the SPP. It is generally suited to high-income and key employees. It can come in the form of a retirement compensation arrangement, a letter of credit other than a retirement compensation arrangement, an employer resolution, or any other promise (written or not) of retirement income by the employer.

Excess benefit plans can be funded (contributions are paid in advance and set aside), usually through a retirement compensation arrangement. They can also be non-funded, which entails a risk of non-payment if, for example, the employer faces financial difficulties or sells the company's assets.

Group Registered Retirement Savings Plan (group RRSP)

A group RRSP is a contract usually established by the employer or union to help employees contribute to individual RRSPs. It has set conditions regarding the opening of accounts, eligible employees, contribution amounts, available investments, terms and conditions, and the withdrawal of invested funds. For example, employees may not be permitted to withdraw funds from their group RRSPs while they are still working for the employer.

From a tax perspective, employers do not contribute to group RRSPs. Only the employee may do so. However, the employer may increase the employee's salary by a percentage or set figure, then deduct the increase for payment into the employee's group RRSP account. This usually entails an increase in the employer's salary taxes, meaning higher contributions to the Québec Pension Plan (or the Canada Pension Plan), Employment Insurance (EI), the health service fund, the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), the Workforce Skills Development and Recognition Fund (WSDRF), the Commission des normes du travail (CNT), etc., depending on the programs that apply.

Deferred Profit Sharing Plan (DPSP)

DPSPs are contracts under which employers share a portion of their profits with their employees. The employees cannot be major company shareholders. Only employers contribute to DPSPs, and the contribution is determined according to the company's profits.

Only in rare occasions does a DPSP allow employees to withdraw funds while still working for their employers. Funds accumulated in a DPSP may be paid out either in a lump sum or in multiple payments over a period not exceeding 10 years, used to purchase an annuity from an insurer, or transferred directly into an RRSP or SPP.

Employees Profit Sharing Plan (EPSP)

EPSPs are agreements under which employers share a portion of their profits with their employees. Employees can contribute to the plan and must pay tax on contributions made on their behalf during the year, even if they do not withdraw benefits.

Retirement Compensation Arrangement

Retirement compensation arrangements are agreements under which the employer and sometimes the employee pay into a trust (or other fund) to provide the employee with an income after retirement or in the event that they lose their position or job or their job duties change radically.

Compensation payments and the income they generate are subject to a 50% refundable tax. The employer's contribution is allocated 50% to the trust and 50% to tax. The trust (or other fund) remits for tax 50% of the employee's contribution and 50% of the income generated by the contributions made under the arrangement.

The tax is refundable to the trust without interest when compensation is paid ($0.50 tax refunded for $1 benefit paid). This means that half of the promised benefits are financed by the trust (or other fund) and the other half by tax refund.

If a retirement compensation arrangement is set up for an employee whose income exceeds the SPP contribution limit set out in the Income Tax Act, the agreement is deemed to be a funded excess benefit plan.

Tax Treatment of Private Pension plans

Different tax rules apply to the various private pension plans

Private, employer-sponsored pension plan Employee contribution tax deductible
Ceiling on employee contribution Investment income tax exempt Ceiling on retirement income Retirement income payable by age 71
Defined contribution pension plan Yes Yes Yes No Yes
Defined benefit pension plan Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Excess benefit plan No No No No No
Group RRSP Yes Yes Yes No Yes
DPSP N/A N/A Yes No Yes
EPSP No No No No No
Retirement compensation agreement No* No No No No

* In rare cases, the employee's contribution may be deductible.


Employers can generally deduct private pension plan contributions from their business income, except in the case of excess benefit plans that are not retirement compensation agreements. For retirement compensation agreements, this deduction applies to the total amount paid to the trust and in tax by the employer.

The Income Tax Act puts a ceiling on combined annual contributions to RRSPs (group and personal), SPPs, and DPSPs. It also puts specific ceilings on SPP and DPSP contributions. The allowable contribution in an SPP or a DPSP increases a worker's pension adjustment (PA)The pension adjustment (PA) applies to SPPs. It is calculated based on the contributions made to an employer's pension plan during the year or the benefits earned. It determines how much an individual can contribute to an RRSP after contributing to an SPP. and lowers his or her RRSP contribution ceiling. Contributions made to an excess benefit plan, EPSP, or retirement compensation agreement do not affect pension adjustments or maximum RRSP contributions.

All benefits from private pension plans are taxable in the year they are received. However, when benefits are transferred directly into another plan or eligible investment vehicle, they may be taxable in the year they are withdrawn rather than the year they are transferred. Some restrictions apply. Likewise, for excess benefit plans, a lump sum payment may qualify as a retirement allowance that can be transferred to an RRSP, providing tax savings. Again, some restrictions apply.

More Information About Your Private Pension plan

You can contact your plan's administrator, your employer, your union, or any of the government bodies listed in the table above. General information on private pension plans is also available at www.cra.gc.ca under "Representatives—Registered plans administrators—Registered Pension Plans (RPPs)."

Worth knowing about...

  • Other investment vehicles can be used to save for retirement, notably stock bonus plans and stock option plans. Specific tax rules may apply.
  • SPPs cannot be financed exclusively by employee contributions. The employer must contribute. However, in some cases the employer's contribution may not be as much as to the employee's contribution.
  • Simplified pension plans (SIPPs) are defined contribution SPPs established and administered by a financial institution. Employees decide where to invest the funds in their account from among the choices offered by the financial institution, in accordance with applicable legislation.
  • A member-funded pension plan (MFPP) is a defined benefit plan. The employer's contribution is set in advance. The balance of the contributions needed to cover benefits is an obligation of the plan members
  • An "individual pension plan" is a defined benefit pension plan generally set up for one specific person, such as a key employee or major shareholder. Like all SPPs, it is registered with the Canada Revenue Agency and subject to the Income Tax Act. Most are also registered with Retraite Québec and subject to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act if they are offered by employers in Québec's private sector. There is one exception: if the plan holder is a major shareholder, the parties may decide not to register it with Retraite Québec. Plans that are registered with Retraite Québec are subject to all provisions of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. Those that are not registered with Retraite Québec are only subject to certain provisions of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, notably those concerning the designation of beneficiaries, prudence in selecting investments, and partition of earnings and contributions after a conjugal breakdown.
  • Be careful about investing too much of your private pension plan funds in securities issued by your employer (stocks, bonds, or other). Of course, you are free to invest in your employer's business, but beware of the risk of putting all your investments in one basket and make sure you abide by the limits set out in the applicable legislation (10% in Québec). If your employer faces financial difficulties, imagine the impact it could have on your job and your retirement savings. Consider diversifying your investments.

This text is intended exclusively to provide general information on financial security at retirement. This information may not be appropriate to the reader who wishes to obtain particular information on one of the treated subjects and cannot be a guarantee for results. It is up to the reader to make pertinent expert advice requests. This information capsule does not bind partner providers of these information.

© All rights reserved, flash Retirement

Accessibility

Flash RetraiteQuébec - Le libre-service de l'information financière
ImprimerFermer

Les régimes privés de retraite

Les régimes privés de retraite procurent au travailleur un revenu qui complète celui des régimes publics à la retraite. Il en existe différents types, dont le régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) parrainé par le travailleur et les régimes parrainés par l'employeur :

Ces régimes n'offrent pas tous les mêmes avantages. Ils ne conviennent pas nécessairement à tous les types de travailleurs. Voyons leurs caractéristiques spécifiques.

Les régimes privés de retraite parrainés par l'employeur

Régime complémentaire de retraite (RCR)

Le RCR est aussi appelé « fonds de pension », « régime de retraite de l'employeur », « régime de pension agréé » ou « régime privé de retraite ». C'est un contrat en vertu duquel l'employeur seul, ou l'employeur et le travailleur, cotisent pour financer un revenu de retraite au travailleur et d'autres prestations (décès et parfois invalidité). Ce revenu et ces prestations sont payables selon des conditions bien précises. Règle générale: les droits accumulés par le travailleur sont « immobilisés » jusqu'à sa retraite, c'est-à-dire qu'ils ne peuvent être utilisés que pour lui procurer un revenu à la retraite.

Un RCR est généralement établi par l'employeur, mais il pourrait aussi être établi par un syndicat ou une autorité compétente. Plusieurs travailleurs ne participent pas à un RCR, notamment les travailleurs autonomes et les travailleurs du secteur privé pour lesquels aucun RCR n'a été établi.

Les RCR sont régis par différentes lois et administrés par divers organismes ou personnes, de sorte que leurs caractéristiques varient d'un RCR à l'autre. Par exemple, un RCR du secteur privé relatif à des activités de compétence provinciale qui compte des travailleurs dans plus d'une province sera notamment assujetti aux lois de chacune de ces provinces.

Voici les principales lois applicables à un RCR

Tous les RCR
Loi pertinente applicable Organisme Site Internet
Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu Agence du revenu du Canada www.arc.gc.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique « Administrateurs de régimes enregistrés - RPA »


RCR principalement du secteur privé relatif à des activités de compétence provinciale
Loi pertinente applicable Organisme Site Internet
Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (L.R.Q.) Régie des rentes du Québec, Direction des régimes de retraite

www.rrq.gouv.qc.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique « Programmes - Régimes complémentaires de retraite »

Employment Pension Plans Act (S.A.) Alberta Finance www.finance.alberta.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique « Our Business – Pensions »
Pension Benefits Standards Act (R.S.B.C.) Colombie-Britannique - Financial Institutions Commission www.fic.gov.bc.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique
« Pensions Plans »
Loi sur les prestations de pension (L.R.M.) Manitoba - Services à la famille et Travail - Bureau du surintendant - Commission manitobaine des pensions

www.gov.mb.ca/labour/pension/index.fr Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Loi sur les prestations de pension (L.N.B.) Nouveau-Brunswick, Justice et procureur général - Bureau du surintendant des pensions www.gnb.ca/0307/index-f.asp Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
The Pension Benefits Act (R.S.N.S.) Nouvelle-Écosse, Labour and Advanced Education

www.gov.ns.ca/lae/pensions Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Loi sur les régimes de retraite (L.R.O.) Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario

www.fsco.gov.on.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique « Les régimes de retraite »

The Pension Benefits Act, 1992 (S.S.) Saskatchewan, Financial Services Commission

www.sfsc.gov.sk.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique « Financial Consumer » ou « Financial Service Provider & Compagnies »

Pension Benefits Act, 1997
Terre-Neuve et Labrador

www.servicenl.gov.nl.ca/pensions Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.



RCR du secteur privé relatif à des activités de compétence fédérale (emploi inclus): télécommunications, banque, transport aérien, maritime et ferroviaire, etc.
RCR du secteur privé relatif à des activités locales ou privées du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut
Loi pertinente applicable Organisme Site Internet
Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestations de pension1 Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique « Régimes de retraite »


1 Cette loi s'applique aussi aux régimes de retraite d'employeurs du secteur privé dont les activités sont de compétence fédérale (banques, entreprises de transport interprovincial et de télécommunications, etc.).

 

RCR du secteur public fédéral: employés de la fonction publique, Forces canadiennes, Gendarmerie royale du Canada, etc.
Loi pertinente applicable

Organisme

Site Internet

Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique Travaux publics
et Services gouvernementaux Canada

www.tpsgc.gc.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique « Paiements et pensions - Régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique fédérale »

Loi sur la pension de retraite des Forces canadiennes Ministère de la défense Nationale

www.laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/c-17/ Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

 


Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Etc.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

www.pbs-sra.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

 



RCR du secteur public québécois: employés de la fonction publique, enseignants, Sûreté du Québec, agents de la paix, élus municipaux, juges de la Cour du Québec, etc.
Loi pertinente applicable Organisme Site Internet

Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics

Loi sur le régime de retraite du personnel d'encadrement

Loi sur le régime de retraite des enseignants

Etc.

Commission administrative des régimes de retraite et d'assurances (CARRA) www.carra.gouv.qc.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.


Il existe 2 grandes catégories de RCR: les régimes à cotisation déterminée et les régimes à prestations déterminées. Une combinaison des 2 catégories est possible dans le même RCR.

Régimes à cotisation déterminée

Ce régime fixe à l'avance la cotisation que l'employeur et, le cas échéant, le travailleur doivent payer. Le montant de la rente ou du revenu de retraite n'est pas connu à l'avance car il est fonction, entre autres, des sommes accumulées avec intérêt, du taux d'intérêt en vigueur au moment de l'achat d'une rente viagère ou des taux relatifs au fonds de revenu viager (FRV).

Régimes à prestations déterminées

Ce régime fixe à l'avance le montant de la rente de retraite qui sera payable selon une formule précise. Quant aux cotisations à payer, c'est un actuaire qui les évalue annuellement, sauf exceptions. Règle générale: un tel régime fixe à l'avance la cotisation du travailleur et précise que l'employeur assume le solde du coût de la rente de retraite et des autres prestations prévues.

Ce type de régime se divise en 2 catégories: les « régimes pourcentage-salaire » et les « régimes à rentes forfaitaires ». Un régime pourcentage-salaire prévoit un montant de rente établi en fonction d'un pourcentage du salaire ou d'une moyenne de salaires pour les années de service reconnues (par exemple 2 % de la moyenne des 3 meilleurs salaires consécutifs pour chacune des années de service). Un régime à rentes forfaitaires est établi en fonction d'un montant fixe de rente pour les années de service reconnues (par exemple 480 $ par année de service).

Régime surcomplémentaire de retraite

Ce régime est aussi appelé « régime de retraite supplémentaire », « régime excédentaire », « régime d'appoint », « top hat plan », « excess benefit plan ». Comme son nom l'indique, il a pour but de compléter le revenu de retraite du RCR sans égard aux limites fiscales applicables au RCR. Il convient généralement à des travailleurs à revenu élevé ou à des travailleurs clés. Il peut s'agir d'une convention de retraite, d'une lettre de crédit (qui n'est pas une convention de retraite), d'une résolution de l'employeur ou de toute autre promesse d'un revenu de retraite (écrite ou non) émanant de l'employeur.

Le régime surcomplémentaire de retraite peut être capitalisé (les cotisations sont payées d'avance et mises en réserve), généralement par une convention de retraite. Il peut aussi être non-capitalisé. Dans ce dernier cas, il peut y avoir un risque de non-paiement des prestations promises si, par exemple, l'employeur est en difficulté financière ou vend les actifs de son entreprise.

Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) collectif

Le REER collectif est un contrat généralement établi par l'employeur ou le syndicat pour faciliter le versement de cotisations à des REER individuels de travailleurs. Il édicte les conditions d'ouverture des comptes, les travailleurs visés, le montant des cotisations, les placements disponibles, les conditions d'admissibilité et de retrait des sommes investies. Un REER collectif pourrait par exemple ne pas permettre au travailleur de retirer des sommes tant qu'il est au service de l'employeur.

Sur le plan fiscal, l'employeur ne cotise pas à un REER collectif; seul le travailleur peut y cotiser. Cependant, l'employeur peut augmenter le salaire du travailleur d'un pourcentage ou d'un montant fixe pour ensuite le prélever et le verser au REER collectif pour le compte du travailleur. En faisant cela, l'employeur augmente normalement ses taxes salariales, c'est-à-dire qu'il paiera plus cher, selon le cas, pour ses cotisations au Régime de rentes du Québec (ou au Régime de pensions du Canada), à l'assurance-emploi, au Fonds des services de santé du Québec, à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'oeuvre, à la Commission des normes du travail, etc., selon le programme applicable.

Régime de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB)

Le RPDB (au fédéral) ou Régime d'intéressement différé (au Québec) est un contrat en vertu duquel l'employeur partage une partie de ses bénéfices avec des travailleurs. Ces travailleurs ne peuvent cependant pas être actionnaires importants de l'entreprise. L'employeur seul cotise à un RPDB et sa cotisation est établie en fonction des bénéfices de l'entreprise.

Rares sont les RPDB qui permettent au travailleur le retrait de ses sommes tant qu'il est au service de l'employeur, mais c'est possible. Le montant accumulé dans un RPDB peut être soit payé en un seul versement unique, soit en plusieurs versements au cours d'une période n'excédant pas 10 ans, soit utilisé pour l'achat d'une rente auprès d'un assureur, soit transféré directement dans un REER ou un RCR.

Régime de participation des employés aux bénéfices (RPEB)

Le RPEB (au fédéral) ou Régime d'intéressement des employés (au Québec) est une entente en vertu de laquelle l'employeur partage une partie de ses bénéfices avec des travailleurs. Le travailleur peut cotiser et il doit payer de l'impôt sur les sommes qui lui sont attribuées dans l'année, même si elles ne lui sont pas versées.

Convention de retraite

Une convention de retraite est une entente en vertu de laquelle l'employeur et, s'il y a lieu, le travailleur cotisent à une fiducie (ou autre dépositaire) pour financer un revenu au travailleur lorsqu'il prend sa retraite, lorsqu'il perd sa charge ou son emploi ou lorsque survient un changement important dans ses fonctions. Les cotisations versées et les revenus qu'elles génèrent sont assujettis à un impôt remboursable de 50 %. En fait, l'employeur verse 50 % de sa cotisation à la fiducie et l'autre 50 % à l'impôt. La fiducie (ou autre dépositaire) remet à titre d'impôt, 50 % de la cotisation du travailleur et 50 % des revenus générés par les cotisations versées. L'impôt est remboursable, sans intérêt, à la fiducie lors du paiement des prestations (0,50 $ d'impôt remboursé pour 1 $ de prestation payée). Ainsi, la moitié des prestations promises est financée par la fiducie (ou autre dépositaire) et l'autre moitié par l'impôt remboursé.

Lorsque la convention de retraite est établie par exemple pour un travailleur dont le revenu dépasse la limite établie par la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu des prestations admissibles du RCR, il s'agit alors d'un régime surcomplémentaire de retraite capitalisé.

Fiscalité et régimes privés de retraite

Des règles fiscales particulières s'appliquent selon le régime privé de retraite

Régime privé de retraite parrainé par l'employeur Cotisation du travailleur déductible d'impôt Cotisation du travailleur limitée à un maximum Revenus sur les cotisations exempts d'impôt Revenu de retraite limité à un maximum Revenu de retraite payable au plus tard à 71 ans
RCR à cotisation déterminée Oui Oui Oui Non Oui
RCR à prestations déterminées Oui
Oui Oui Oui Oui
Régime surcomplé-mentaire Non Non Non Non Non
REER collectif Oui Oui Oui Non Oui
RPDB N/A N/A Oui Non Oui
RPEB Non Non Non Non Non
Convention de retraite Non (*) Non Non Non Non

(*) Dans de rares cas, il peut arriver que la cotisation du travailleur soit déductible.

L'employeur peut généralement déduire de ses revenus d'entreprise la cotisation qu'il paie à un régime privé de retraite, à l'exception du régime surcomplémentaire de retraite qui n'est pas une convention de retraite. À propos de la convention de retraite, cette déduction porte sur le montant total payé à la fiducie et à l'impôt par l'employeur.

La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu fixe un plafond aux cotisations annuelles qu'il est possible de verser à la fois dans un REER (collectif et individuel), dans un RCR et dans un RPDB. Elle fixe aussi le plafond propre au RCR ainsi qu'au RPDB. La cotisation admissible dans un RCR ou un RPDB augmente le facteur d'équivalence (FE) Le facteur d'équivalence concerne les RCR. Il s'agit du montant total des crédits de pension d'un participant calculé en fonction des cotisations versées ou des prestations acquises pendant l'année. Il permet au particulier de calculer la somme qu'il peut verser dans un REER en plus de ses cotisations à un RCR. pour le travailleur et réduit sa cotisation maximale permise à un REER. La cotisation versée dans un régime surcomplémentaire de retraite, un RPEB ou une convention de retraite n'affecte ni le FE ni la cotisation maximale permise à un REER.

Toute prestation d'un régime privé de retraite est imposable l'année où elle est payée. Toutefois, une prestation transférée directement dans un autre régime ou instrument admissible peut ne pas être imposable l'année du transfert mais être imposable l'année où elle sera retirée de cet autre régime ou véhicule. Certaines conditions s'appliquent. De plus, un paiement forfaitaire d'un régime surcomplémentaire de retraite peut entraîner de l'épargne fiscale s'il peut se qualifier de transfert d'allocation de retraite à un REER. Là encore, certaines conditions s'appliquent.

Pour obtenir de l'information sur votre régime privé de retraite

Vous pouvez communiquer avec l'administrateur du régime, votre employeur, votre syndicat ou avec les organismes gouvernementaux indiqués dans le tableau de cette capsule. Vous pouvez également trouver des informations générales sur des régimes privés de retraite à www.arc.gc.ca Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. sous la rubrique « Administrateurs de régimes enregistrés ».

À savoir...

  • Il existe d'autres véhicules qui peuvent être utilisés pour cumuler de l'épargne-retraite. Il y a notamment les régimes de primes d'actionnariat et les régimes d'options d'achat d'actions. Des règles particulières peuvent s'appliquer sur le plan fiscal.
  • Un RCR ne peut pas être financé exclusivement par les cotisations des travailleurs. L'employeur doit cotiser. Toutefois, la cotisation que paie l'employeur peut, dans certains cas, ne pas être au moins égale à celle du travailleur.
  • Le régime de retraite simplifié (RRS) est un RCR à cotisation déterminée établi et administré par un établissement financier. Le travailleur décide des placements à faire avec les sommes qui sont portées à son compte parmi les choix offerts par l'établissement financier et en conformité avec les lois applicables.
  • Le régime de retraite par financement salarial (RRFS) est un RCR à prestations déterminées. La cotisation de l'employeur est fixée à l'avance. Le solde des cotisations à verser est assumé par les travailleurs.
  • L'appellation « régime de retraite individuel » réfère à un RCR à prestations déterminées destiné généralement à une seule personne, par exemple un travailleur clé ou un actionnaire important. Comme tout RCR, il est enregistré auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada et assujetti à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Règle générale, il est aussi enregistré auprès de la Régie des rentes du Québec et assujetti à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite s'il relève du secteur privé québécois. Il y a une exception : si la personne à qui est destiné le régime est un actionnaire important, il peut être, ou non, enregistré auprès de la Régie, selon l'intention des parties. S'il est enregistré auprès de la Régie, le régime est assujetti à toutes les dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. S'il n'est pas enregistré auprès de la Régie, le régime est assujetti à une partie seulement des dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, notamment celles qui concernent la désignation des bénéficiaires, la prudence en matière de placements, et le partage de droits entre conjoints à la suite d'une rupture.
  • Une mise en garde s'impose si, à l'intérieur des régimes privés de retraite auxquels vous participez, vous investissez massivement dans les titres émis par votre employeur (actions, obligations ou autres). Vous pouvez évidemment détenir des titres de votre employeur, mais faites attention aux risques de concentration tout en tenant compte des limites imposées par les lois applicables (limite de 10 % au Québec). Imaginez si votre employeur est en difficulté financière, l'impact que cela pourrait avoir sur votre emploi et votre pécule retraite. Pensez à diversifier vos placements.

Ce texte vise exclusivement fournir de l'information générale sur la sécurité financière à la retraite. Cette information peut ne pas être appropriée au lecteur qui désire obtenir une information particulière sur l'un des sujets traités et ne peut pas être une garantie de résultat. Il appartient au lecteur de faire les consultations pertinentes. Cette capsule d'information n'engage pas les partenaires fournisseurs de ces informations.

© Tous droits réservés, flash RetraiteQuébec

Accessibilité