Determine your sources of retirement income

Objective: 70% - Private pension plans and other personal savings - Québec Pension Plan  - Old Age Security program

To maintain your standard of living in retirement, you will need to replace roughly 70% of your annual gross employment income. Why only 70%? Because your expenses will generally be lower in retirement. However, the bigger your plans, the more you'll need to save.

Sources of retirement income include:

A clear example
Frank is 35 years old and earns 50 000 $ a year. Below are the annual amounts he will receive from public plans if he retires at age 60, 65 or 70, as well as the amounts he will need to save starting now to replace 70% of his income.


How much does Frank need to save each week?
Age of retirement
Annual amount payable under the Québec Pension Plan Annual amount payable under the Old Age Security program at age 67 Amount to save each week to replace 70% of his income with a rate of return of 5%
Age 60 7 705 $ 0 $ 299 $
Age 65 11 990 $ 6 880 $ 133 $
Age 70 16 955 $ 9 357 $ 48 $
  •  Share
  • Top of the page 
SimulR - Simplified retirement income simulator tool

Déterminez vos sources de revenus à la retraite

Objectif: 70% - Régimes privés de retraite ou les épargnes personnelles  - Régime de rentes du Québec - Programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse

Pour maintenir votre niveau de vie à la retraite, vous aurez besoin d'environ 70 % de vos revenus annuels bruts de travail. Pourquoi seulement 70 %? Parce que vos dépenses seront généralement moins élevées une fois à la retraite. Par contre, si vous voulez réaliser de grands projets, prévoyez plus.

Voici les sources de revenus à la retraite :

Un exemple qui parle!
Francis a 35 ans et a un revenu annuel de 50 000 $. Voici les sommes annuelles qu'il recevra des régimes publics s'il prend sa retraite à 60, à 65 ou à 70 ans ainsi que l'épargne qu'il devra verser à partir de maintenant s'il veut remplacer 70 % de ses revenus.

Combien Francis devrait-il épargner par semaine?
Âge de la retraite
Somme annuelle provenant de la rente du Régime de rentes du Québec Somme annuelle provenant du programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse à 67 ans Somme à épargner par semaine pour remplacer 70 % de ses revenus avec 5 % rendement
60 ans 7 705 $ 0 $ 299 $
65 ans 11 990 $ 6 880 $ 133 $
70 ans 16 955 $ 9 357 $ 48 $
  •  Partager
  • Haut de page