Régie des rentes du Québec

Applicable laws for LIRAs and LIFs

Locked-in retirement accounts (LIRAs) and life income funds (LIFs) are subject to a specific law and the Income Tax Act.

Specific law

The specific law that applies to LIRAs or LIFs is the law that governed the benefits of members when they ceased active plan membership or the law provided for in that law (see Example 5).

If you do not know which law applies, you can find out by

  • asking the plan administrator
  • following the steps below, which take into account the activities of the member's employer.

Steps for determining the law

The law that governed the benefits of members when they ceased active plan membership and that determines the specific law applicable to LIRAs or LIFs is either a federal or provincial law.

To determine whether a federal or provincial law applies, you must establish whether the employer's activities fall under federal or provincial jurisdiction.


Important...

Do not rely on the following to determine whether a provincial or federal law applies to LIRAs or LIFs:

  • the company's charter (federal or provincial)
  • the location of the company's head office
  • the member's place of residence
  • the province in which the pension plan is registered.

Employers whose activities are under federal jurisdiction

Where an employer's activities are under federal jurisdiction, the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 This link will open in a new window. applies to LIRAs (called locked-in registered retirement savings plans (RRSP) under that law) or to LIFs. The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada This link will open in a new window. is responsible for this federal law.


Note that...

Employers whose activities fall under federal jurisdiction include, for example, banks, interprovincial transport and telecommunications companies, federal public departments or agencies, etc.


Employers whose activities are under provincial jurisdiction

Where an employer's activities are not under federal jurisdiction, they are under provincial jurisdiction. The relevant province must then be determined.

The applicable law is the law of the province in which the member worked when he or she ceased active plan membership.

If the province is Québec, the applicable law for LIRAs or LIFs is the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, which is administered by the Régie.   

For the other provinces or territories in Canada, consult the applicable laws and monitoring agencies responsible for those laws.

 
Note that...

Employers whose activities are under provincial jurisdiction include, for example, caisses populaires, trust companies, construction companies, wholesale or retail companies, companies providing lodging or food services, municipalities, universities, early childhood centres (CPEs), public provincial departments or agencies, etc.


Examples

Example 1: A mistake was made regarding the applicable law

Louise worked at a grocery store in Montréal and participated in its pension plan. When the plan was terminated because of the company's bankruptcy, Louise transferred her benefits under the plan to an LIRA. When she retired, she transferred the amounts in her LIRA to an LIF with another financial institution. Since that institution did not have information regarding the applicable legislation, it indicated that the LIF was under federal jurisdiction, which was incorrect. The financial institution should have corrected the information it provided and indicated that a Québec law, the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, applies to Louise's LIF. This is because grocery stores are under provincial jurisdiction and Louise worked in Québec when she ceased active plan membership.


Example 2: The employer is a retailer, the employee worked in Québec but the employee's place of residence and the plan's place of registration is outside Québec

Michael lives in Ottawa. He worked at a large retailer in Gatineau and participated in its pension plan. The plan is registered in Ontario. Since the store's activities are under provincial jurisdiction and Michael worked in Québec, his benefits under the plan are subject to Québec law, specifically the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. When his employment ended, Michael transferred his benefits to an LIF, which is also subject to Québec law. The fact that Michael lives in Ontario and the plan is registered in Ontario has no impact on the law that applies to his LIF.


Example 3: The employer is a bank and the employee worked in Québec

Justine worked for a bank in Gatineau. When her employment ended, she transferred her benefits under the bank's pension plan to an LIRA (a locked-in RRSP). The LIRA is subject to federal law because banks are under federal jurisdiction. The law that applies to the LIRA is therefore the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985. This law governs Justine's benefits under the plan when her employment ends.


Example 4: The employer is a caisse populaire, the plan's place of registration is in Québec but the employee works and lives outside Québec

Jean lives in Caraquet and worked for a caisse populaire there. She participated in its pension plan, which is registered in Québec. Since caisse activities are under provincial jurisdiction and Jean worked in New Brunswick, her benefits under the plan are subject to New Brunswick law, specifically the Pension Benefits Act. When her employment ended, she transferred her benefits to an LIRA, which is subject to the same New Brunswick law. The fact that Jean lives in New Brunswick and the plan is registered in Québec has no impact on the law that applies to her LIRA.


Example 5: The employer is in the Québec public sector

Alan worked for the Québec public service and participated in the Régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (RREGOP). He ended his employment and transferred his benefits under the RREGOP to an LIRA, which is subject to Québec law, specifically the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. The law that applies to Alan's benefits when he ceases active plan membership is the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan. Under that Act, the authorized LIRA corresponds to the one set out in the Supplemental Pension Plans Act.


Income Tax Act

LIRAs and LIFs are also subject to the Income Tax Act This link will open in a new window.. The agency responsible for applying the Act is the Canada Revenue Agency This link will open in a new window..

For the purposes of the Income Tax Act, an LIRA is an RRSP and an LIF is a registered retirement income fund (RRIF) with the following special characteristics:  

  • The amounts in an LIRA or LIF come initially from a pension plan.
  • Unlike an RRSP, the amounts in an LIRA are locked-in because they are intended to provide a retirement income. The amounts cannot be withdrawn, except in certain situations where a refund is allowed.
  • Unlike an RRIF, which has no withdrawal ceiling, an LIF does not let you withdraw more than the maximum authorized amount each year.

These special characteristics are governed by the specific law in question.

  •  Share
  • Top of the page 
The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.

Régie des rentes du Québec

Lois applicables au CRI ou au FRV

Le compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) ou le fonds de revenu viager (FRV) sont assujettis à une loi particulière et à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Loi particulière

La loi particulière applicable au CRI ou au FRV est la loi qui régissait les droits du participant au moment où il a mis fin à sa participation active au régime ou la loi qui est précisée dans celle-ci (voir l'exemple 5).

Si vous ne connaissez pas cette loi, vous pouvez remédier à la situation de 2 façons :

  • en demandant l'information à l'administrateur du régime
  • en effectuant la démarche suivante, qui tient compte des activités de l'employeur du participant.

Démarche pour déterminer la loi

La loi qui régissait les droits du participant au moment où il a cessé sa participation active au régime et qui détermine la loi particulière applicable au CRI ou au FRV est une loi fédérale ou provinciale.

Pour savoir si c'est la loi fédérale ou provinciale qui s'applique, il faut voir si les activités de l'employeur sont de compétence fédérale ou provinciale.


Important...

Il ne faut pas se fier :

  • à la charte de l'entreprise (fédérale ou provinciale)
  • à l'endroit où se situe le siège social de l'entreprise
  • au domicile du participant
  • au lieu d'enregistrement du régime de retraite

pour déterminer la loi fédérale ou provinciale applicable au CRI ou au FRV.


Employeur dont les activités sont de compétence fédérale

Lorsque les activités de l'employeur sont de compétence fédérale, la loi particulière applicable au CRI (régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) immobilisé) ou au FRV est la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.. L'application de cette loi fédérale est sous la responsabilité du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..


Notez que...

Les employeurs dont les activités sont de compétence fédérale sont, par exemple, les banques, les entreprises de transport interprovincial et de télécommunications, les ministères ou organismes publics fédéraux, etc.


Employeur dont les activités sont de compétence provinciale

Lorsque les activités de l'employeur ne sont pas de compétence fédérale, elles sont de compétence provinciale. Une fois ce constat établi, il faut déterminer de quelle province il s'agit.

La loi applicable est celle de la province du lieu de travail du participant au moment où il a cessé sa participation active au régime de retraite.

Si cette province est le Québec, la loi particulière applicable au CRI ou au FRV est la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, dont l'application est sous la responsabilité de la Régie.

Pour les autres provinces ou territoires au Canada, il faut voir les lois applicables et les organismes de surveillance responsables de leur application.


Notez que...

Les employeurs dont les activités sont de compétence provinciale sont, par exemple, les caisses populaires, les sociétés de fiducie, les entreprises en construction, les commerces de gros ou de détail, les services d'hébergement ou de restauration, les municipalités, les universités, les centres de la petite enfance, les ministères ou organismes publics provinciaux, etc.


Exemples

Exemple 1 : une erreur sur la loi particulière applicable

Louise travaillait dans une épicerie de Montréal et participait au régime de retraite de celle-ci. Quand le régime s'est terminé en raison de la faillite de l'entreprise, Louise a transféré ses droits au titre du régime dans un CRI. À sa retraite, elle a transféré son CRI dans un FRV à un autre établissement financier. Comme celui-ci ne possédait pas l'information sur la loi particulière applicable, il a indiqué que le FRV est de compétence fédérale. Or, cette information est erronée. L'établissement financier a dû corriger l'information et préciser que la loi applicable au FRV de Louise est la loi québécoise, soit la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. En effet, les activités d'une épicerie sont de compétence provinciale et Louise travaillait au Québec au moment où elle a cessé sa participation active au régime de retraite.


Exemple 2 : l'employeur est un commerce de détail, l'employé travaille au Québec, mais sa résidence et le lieu d'enregistrement du régime sont à l'extérieur du Québec

Antoine réside à Ottawa. Il travaillait à Gatineau dans un grand magasin et participait au régime de retraite. Ce régime est enregistré en Ontario. Étant donné que les activités du magasin sont de compétence provinciale et qu'Antoine travaillait au Québec, ses droits au titre du régime étaient assujettis à la loi québécoise, qui est la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. À la fin de son emploi, Antoine a transféré ses droits dans un FRV. Ce FRV est lui aussi assujetti à cette loi québécoise. Le fait qu'Antoine réside en Ontario ou que le régime soit enregistré en Ontario n'a aucune incidence sur la loi applicable à son FRV.


Exemple 3 : l'employeur est une banque et l'employé travaille au Québec

Justine travaillait pour une banque à Gatineau. À la fin de son emploi, elle a transféré ses droits au titre du régime de la banque dans un CRI (ou REER immobilisé). Ce CRI est assujetti à la loi fédérale parce qu'une banque est une entreprise de compétence fédérale. La loi applicable au CRI est donc la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestations de pension. Cette loi régissait les droits de Justine au titre du régime à la fin de son emploi.


Exemple 4 : l'employeur est une caisse populaire, le lieu d'enregistrement du régime est au Québec, mais l'employé travaille et réside en dehors du Québec

Jeanne réside à Caraquet et a travaillé pour la caisse populaire de cette ville. Elle participait donc au régime de retraite des caisses, lequel est enregistré au Québec. Étant donné que les activités de la caisse sont de compétence provinciale et que Jeanne travaillait au Nouveau-Brunswick, ses droits au titre du régime étaient assujettis à la loi néo-brunswickoise, qui est la Loi sur les prestations de pension. À la fin de son emploi, elle a transféré ses droits dans un CRI. Son CRI est assujetti à la même loi néo-brunswickoise. Le fait que Jeanne réside au Nouveau-Brunswick ou que le régime soit enregistré au Québec n'a aucune incidence sur la loi applicable à son CRI.


Exemple 5 : l'employeur appartient au secteur public québécois

Alain travaillait pour la fonction publique québécoise et participait au Régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (RREGOP). Il a mis fin à son emploi et transféré ses droits au titre du RREGOP dans un CRI. Le CRI est assujetti à la loi québécoise, soit la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. En effet, la loi applicable aux droits d'Alain à la fin de sa participation active au régime est la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics et, en vertu de cette loi, le CRI autorisé correspond à celui qui est prévu à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.


Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu

Le CRI ou le FRV sont assujettis à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.. L'organisme responsable de l'application de cette loi est l'Agence du revenu du Canada Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..
Aux fins de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, le CRI est un REER et le FRV est un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR) avec les particularités suivantes :

  • Les sommes contenues dans le CRI ou le FRV proviennent initialement d'un régime de retraite.
  • À la différence d'un REER, les sommes contenues dans un CRI sont immobilisées, car elles doivent servir à procurer un revenu à la retraite. Ces sommes ne peuvent pas être retirées, sauf dans certaines circonstances où un remboursement est permis.
  • À la différence d'un FERR où il n'existe aucun plafond, le FRV ne permet pas de retirer plus que le maximum autorisé chaque année.

Ces particularités sont régies par la loi particulière.

  •  Partager
  • Haut de page