Régie des rentes du Québec

Important considerations when terminating a defined contribution or a defined benefit pension plan

This section presents only the main points to consider. The Supplemental Pension Plans Act remains the best tool in guiding your actions and decisions.

Important points to consider

The termination report

The termination report must reflect the same order of payment of benefits as that provided for under section 218 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act so as to ensure that the payment of benefits to members and beneficiaries is in conformity with the Act.

Pensions in payment on the termination date

The pension fund must insure the payment of pensions with an insurer and have them valuated in the termination report in conformity with section 212.1 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act.
In the case of a pension in payment on the termination date that is not insured on the date on which the termination report was prepared, its value must be established using the market conditions according to an insurer's rating.

Retirement pensions that would have been payable after the termination date

Pension funds cannot insure payments with an insurer for retirement pensions that would have been payable by the plan after the termination date.

Payment of benefits must be carried out by transferring the value of the pension into a locked-in retirement account (LIRA), a life income fund (LIF), another pension plan or to an insurer to purchase a life annuity, as the plan member chooses. In the last case, the amount of pension payable by the insurer may differ from the amount of the pension that normally would have been payable by the plan, since the amount depends on the annuity purchase rate, among other things.

Cash advances

Where a plan is insolvent and the employer is bankrupt, there is a risk in making cash advances (to plan members and beneficiaries) other than the payment of pensions authorized by the Régie des rentes du Québec.  
Taking into account the amounts available in the pension fund and the order in which payments must be made under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, if overpayments are made to some plan members and beneficiaries, the administrator must take the necessary steps in order not to penalize the other plan members and beneficiaries.

Reduction of benefits in the event of employer bankruptcy where a plan is insolvent

If the employer is bankrupt and the plan is insolvent, all members and beneficiaries affected by the termination may have their benefits reduced, including both active and non-active members, whether retired or not, as well as the beneficiaries. 

Surplus assets and their allocation by the employer

If the plan has surplus assets and the employer has not dealt with their allocation within the 150 days provided, the consequences of such inaction depend on whether or not the plan was established by collective agreement. 

In the case of a plan not established by collective agreement, the employer is considered to have renounced all right to the surplus assets. The surplus assets are therefore allocated to plan members and beneficiaries and distributed in proportion to the value of their respective benefits.

In the case of a plan established by a collective agreement, arbitration will be used to determine the allocation of surplus assets between members and beneficiaries, including those who are not covered by the collective agreement.

The 150-day time limit starts on the date on which the administrator receives the written notice of termination from the employer or the Régie's decision to terminate the plan, as the case may be.

Surplus assets and members and beneficiaries who cannot be reached

If the administrator does not know all of the members and beneficiaries for the purposes of allocation of surplus assets or is not able to contact them all, it must publish a notice in a daily newspaper inviting them to make a claim for benefits, whether there is a draft agreement or not.

Among those concerned, there may be former plan members as well as members and beneficiaries affected by the termination and mentioned in the termination report.

Get more information about allocation of surplus assets following plan termination, including recording the proposal for the allocation of surplus assets in a draft agreement.

Other points to be aware of

To find out more...

  •  Share
  • Top of the page 
The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.

Régie des rentes du Québec

Mises en garde relatives à la terminaison d'un régime à cotisation déterminée ou à prestations déterminées

Cette section ne présente que les principales mises en garde. La Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite demeure le principal outil devant guider vos gestes et vos décisions.

Points importants à considérer

Le rapport de terminaison

Le rapport de terminaison doit bien refléter l'ordre de collocation prévu à l'article 218 de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite de façon à s'assurer que l'acquittement des droits des participants et des bénéficiaires est conforme à cette loi.  

Rentes en cours de paiement à la date de terminaison

Ces rentes doivent être garanties auprès d'un assureur (par la caisse de retraite) et être évaluées dans le rapport de terminaison conformément à l'article 212.1 de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.

Dans le cas d'une rente en cours de paiement à la date de terminaison qui n'a pas été garantie par un assureur à la date de préparation du rapport de terminaison, sa valeur doit être établie suivant les conditions du marché selon une cotation d'un assureur.  

Rente de retraite qui aurait été payable après la date de terminaison

Une rente de retraite qui aurait été payable par le régime après la date de terminaison ne peut pas être garantie auprès d'un assureur par la caisse de retraite de ce régime.

L'acquittement doit se faire par le transfert de la valeur de la rente dans un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI), un fonds de revenu viager (FRV), un autre régime de retraite, ou encore chez un assureur pour l'achat d'une rente viagère, selon le choix du participant. Dans le dernier cas, le montant de rente payable par l'assureur peut différer du montant de rente qui aurait été payable normalement par le régime, car il dépend, entre autres, du taux d'achat de rente.  

Avances de fonds

Lorsque le régime n'est pas solvable et que l'employeur est en faillite, il peut être risqué de faire des avances de fonds (aux participants et aux bénéficiaires) autres que les paiements de rentes autorisés par la Régie des rentes du Québec.  

Si des sommes ont été versées en trop à certains participants et bénéficiaires compte tenu des sommes disponibles dans la caisse de retraite et de l'ordre de collocation prévu à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, l'administrateur devra alors prendre les mesures nécessaires pour ne pas pénaliser les autres participants et bénéficiaires.

Réduction des droits en cas de faillite de l'employeur lorsque le régime n'est pas solvable

Si l'employeur est en faillite et que le régime n'est pas solvable, tous les participants et bénéficiaires visés par la terminaison peuvent voir leurs droits réduits, ce qui inclut autant les participants actifs que les participants non actifs, retraités ou non, ainsi que les bénéficiaires.  

Excédent d'actif et traitement de cet excédent par l'employeur

Si le régime comporte un excédent d'actif et que l'employeur n'a pas traité de la question de son attribution dans les 150 jours prévus, les conséquences varient si le régime est établi ou non par convention collective.  

Dans le cas d'un régime qui n'est pas établi par convention, l'employeur est réputé avoir renoncé à tout droit dans l'excédent d'actif. L'excédent d'actif sera alors attribué aux participants et aux bénéficiaires et il sera réparti au prorata de la valeur de leurs droits respectifs.  

Dans le cas d'un régime établi par convention collective, il y aura alors recours à l'arbitrage pour déterminer l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif entre l'employeur et les participants et bénéficiaires, y compris ceux qui ne sont pas couverts par la convention collective.  

Le délai de 150 jours commence à la date de réception par l'administrateur de l'avis écrit de terminaison transmis par l'employeur ou de la décision de la Régie de terminer le régime, selon le cas.

Excédent d'actif et impossibilité de joindre tous les participants et bénéficiaires

Si l'administrateur ne connaît pas tous les participants et bénéficiaires aux fins de l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif et s'il n'est pas en mesure de tous les joindre, il doit faire publier un avis dans un quotidien les invitant à se manifester et faire valoir leurs droits, qu'il y ait projet d'entente ou non.

Parmi les personnes concernées, il peut y avoir d'anciens participants en plus des participants et bénéficiaires visés par la terminaison et mentionnés dans le rapport de terminaison.

Renseignez-vous aussi sur l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif lors de la terminaison d'un régime, y compris la consignation de la proposition d'attribution de l'excédent d'actif dans un projet d'entente.

Autres mises en garde

Pour en savoir plus...

  •  Partager
  • Haut de page