Régie des rentes du Québec

Variable employer contributions

In a defined contribution plan or in a simplified pension plan (SIPP), the employer contributions can vary depending on the number of years of employment or credited service if the Régie gives its approval. The plan must, however, specify whether it is the number of years of employment or the credited service that will be taken into consideration.

To obtain the Régie's approval, the variable employer contributions must allow a gradual and relatively constant accumulation of employer contributions to be credited to the member. If it respects the criteria in this section, it will be approved by the Régie. Examples of how the criteria are applied are provided to facilitate your comprehension.


Important

A formula for variable employer contributions that has already been approved by the Régie will not be called into question. However, if the formula is changed, the Régie will approve it provided it respects the criteria in this section.



Note that...

The rules for variable employer contributions also apply to the defined contribution component of a defined benefit plan.

Employer contributions that vary based on parameters other than the numbers of years of employment or credited service do not require the Régie's approval. However, employer contributions cannot contravene laws such as the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms, the Act respecting labour standards, the Civil Code of Québec, etc.



Legal reference

Supplemental Pension Plans Act (section 57)

See also

  •  Share
  • Top of the page 
The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.

Régie des rentes du Québec

Cotisation patronale variable

Dans un régime à cotisation déterminée ou dans un régime de retraite simplifié (RRS), la cotisation patronale peut varier en fonction des années de travail ou de services reconnus à condition d'être approuvée par la Régie. Le régime doit toutefois préciser si ce sont les années de travail ou les années de services reconnus qui sont prises en compte.

Pour être approuvée par la Régie, la cotisation patronale variable doit permettre une accumulation graduelle et relativement constante des cotisations patronales inscrites au compte du participant. Si elle respecte les critères énoncés dans cette section, elle sera approuvée par la Régie. L'application de ces critères est illustrée par des exemples pour que la compréhension en soit facilitée.


Important

Une formule de cotisation patronale variable qui a déjà été approuvée par la Régie n'est pas remise en question. Cependant, lorsqu'une modification est apportée à cette formule, elle sera approuvée par la Régie si elle respecte les critères de cette section.



Notez que...

Ces règles sur la cotisation patronale variable s'appliquent également au volet à cotisation déterminée d'un régime à prestations déterminées.

Une cotisation patronale qui varie en fonction de paramètres autres que les années de travail ou de services reconnus ne requiert pas l'approbation de la Régie. Toutefois, aucune cotisation patronale ne doit aller à l'encontre de lois comme la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne, la Loi sur les normes du travail, le Code civil du Québec, etc.



Référence légale

Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (article 57)

Voir aussi

  •  Partager
  • Haut de page