Notices, statements and access to plan documents

This section details the applicable conditions and time periods regarding notices and statements that financial institutions must send to employers and members of simplified pension plans (SIPPs). You will also find information about the right of the employer (or retirement information committee) and plan members to access various documents related to the plan. 

Information for members

Member enrolment

Within 90 days of enrolment, the financial institution must provide new members with a written summary of the plan and a brief description of their rights and obligations under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act as well as the main benefits resulting from their membership in the plan.

Members can obtain a complete plan text from the employer (or the retirement information committee).

Annual statement

Within 9 months of the end of a plan's fiscal year, the financial institution must send an annual statement to each member that indicates:

  • the amount of contributions made to the member's locked-in and not locked-in accounts during the last fiscal year, as well as those accumulated with interest since enrolment in the plan (see paragraphs 10 to 14 of section 57 of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans)
  • the amount of additional contributions paid by the employer, if applicable
  • whether all or part of the administration expenses will be paid by the members or the pension fund, as well as the amount of those expenses or the formula for determining it, for each member, by itemizing the part of those expenses assumed by the member, the pension fund or the employer.

Important - If amendments were made to the plan, statements must be accompanied with a summary of the amendments affecting the member in question.

Statement of cessation of active membership

Within 60 days of the date on which a financial institution is informed that a member has left the plan, it must send him or her a statement of benefits.

It must, without charge, provide members with the information used to produce the statement, within 30 days following a written request therefor.

Statement of benefits following the breakdown of a conjugal union

Upon written request from the spouses (or their legal representatives), the financial institution must send them a statement of benefits.

Statement in the event of a pension plan division

Within 30 days of the division, the administrator must provide affected members with a statement which updates to the date of the division the information contained in the annual statement (or in any other statement later than the date of the division.)

Notice of plan amendment

If the financial statement proposes to amend the plan, it must inform the members affected by the amendment. See the conditions applicable to amending an SIPP.

Notice of plan termination

The financial institution that terminates a plan or proceeds with the withdrawal of an employer must inform the employers concerned in writing as well as the plan members and the union, if any. See the conditions applicable to terminating an SIPP.

Investments

The financial institution must provide the members with the information provided for in the Supplemental Pension Plans Act with respect to investments. The financial institution should also give them the information and aid provided for in the Guidelines for Capital Accumulation Plans of the Joint Forum of Financial Market regulators. To find out more on the application of the Guidelines This link will open in a new window. to pension plans subject to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, refer to Newsletter number 20.

Access to documents related to a plan

The retirement information committee, or failing that, the employer, must make available to members, upon request and free of charge, any document or information required from the financial institution that administers the plan (for example, the annual information return or the SIPP text). It must also send members' requests for information to the financial institution and the corresponding replies to the members.

The financial institution must provide, free of charge, the following documents to the employer (or to the retirement information committee, provided that committee previously informed the administrator and the employer of the committee's existence):

  • a copy of the part of the plan giving the provisions applicable to all the employers and a copy of the part stating the provisions specific to the affected employer
  • the financial report
  • the annual information return
  • upon request, any document concerning the plan's administration, including deeds of delegation of power granted by the plan administrator, as well as correspondence between our agency and the financial institution during the previous 60 months (excluding personal information concerning members or the other employers party to the plan).
  • Top of page
The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.

Régie des rentes du Québec

Avis, relevés et accès aux documents du régime

Cette section présente les modalités et délais applicables concernant les avis et relevés que l'établissement financier doit faire parvenir aux employeurs et aux participants à un régime de retraite simplifié (RRS). Elle présente aussi les droits d'accès de l'employeur (ou du comité d'information sur la retraite) et des participants aux différents documents relatifs au régime.

Informations aux participants

Adhésion d'un participant

Dans les 90 jours suivant l'adhésion, l'établissement financier doit fournir au nouveau participant un sommaire écrit du régime, accompagné d'une brève description des droits et obligations qui en découlent et de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite ainsi que d'un énoncé des principaux avantages que procure la participation au régime.


Le participant peut obtenir le texte complet du régime en s'adressant à son employeur (ou au comité d'information sur la retraite).

 

Relevé annuel

Dans les 9 mois suivant la fin de chaque exercice financier du régime, l'établissement financier doit envoyer à chaque participant un relevé annuel qui indique:

  • la somme des cotisations portées à ses comptes immobilisé et non immobilisé, au cours du dernier exercice financier, de même que celles accumulées avec intérêts depuis son adhésion au régime (voir paragraphes 10° à 14° de l'article 57 du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite)
  • le montant de la cotisation supplémentaire que l'employeur a versée, le cas échéant 
  • si les dépenses d'administration sont à la charge (en tout ou en partie) des participants ou de la caisse de retraite, le montant de ces dépenses ou la formule pour le déterminer, et ce, par participant, en ventilant la part de ces dépenses assumée par le participant, la caisse de retraite ou l'employeur

Important - Si des modifications ont été apportées au régime, le relevé doit être accompagné d'un sommaire des modifications qui concernent le participant.

Relevé de cessation de participation

Dans les 60 jours suivant la date où l'établissement est informé qu'un participant quitte le régime, il doit lui envoyer un relevé faisant état de ses droits.

Dans les 30 jours suivant une demande écrite à cet effet, l'administrateur doit fournir sans frais les données qui ont servi à établir ce relevé.

Relevé de droits à la suite de la rupture des conjoints

Sur demande écrite des conjoints (ou de leurs représentants légaux), l'établissement financier doit leur envoyer un relevé faisant état de leurs droits.

Relevé en cas de scission du régime

Dans les 30 jours suivant la scission, l'établissement financier doit faire parvenir aux participants visés un relevé mettant à jour à la date de la scission les renseignements contenus dans le relevé annuel (ou dans tout autre relevé ultérieur à la date de la scission).

Avis de modification du régime

Si l'établissement financier projette de modifier le régime, il doit informer les participants visés par cette modification. Voir les modalités applicables à la modification d'un RRS.

Avis de terminaison du régime

L'établissement financier qui termine le régime ou procède au retrait d'un employeur doit en aviser par écrit les employeurs concernés ainsi que les participants et les syndicats, le cas échéant. Voir les modalités applicables à la terminaison d'un RRS.

Placements

L'établissement financier doit fournir aux participants l'information prévue à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite en matière de placement. Il devrait aussi leur donner l'information et l'aide prévues par les Lignes directrices pour les régimes de capitalisation du Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier. Pour en savoir plus sur l'application des Lignes directrices Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. aux régimes assujettis à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, dont le RRS, consultez La Lettre no 20.

Accès aux documents relatifs au régime

Le comité d'information sur la retraite, ou à défaut l'employeur, doit rendre accessible aux participants, sur demande et sans frais, tout document ou renseignement exigible de l'établissement financier (par exemple la déclaration annuelle de renseignements ou le texte du RRS). Il doit aussi transmettre les demandes d'information des participants à l'établissement financier et les réponses de ce dernier aux participants.

L'établissement financier doit fournir, sans frais, les documents suivants à l'employeur (ou au comité d'information sur la retraite si ce comité a préalablement informé l'employeur et l'établissement financier de son existence):

  • un exemplaire de la partie du régime énonçant les dispositions applicables à tous les employeurs et un exemplaire de la partie énonçant les dispositions particulières à l'employeur visé
  • le rapport financier
  • la déclaration annuelle de renseignements
  • sur demande, tout document relatif à l'administration du régime, notamment les actes de délégation de pouvoirs consentis par l'établissement financier et la correspondance échangée entre la Régie des rentes du Québec et l'établissement financier au cours des 60 derniers mois (sauf les renseignements personnels concernant les participants ou les autres employeurs parties au régime)
  •  Partager
  • Haut de page