Advantages of a pension plan

To maintain the same standard of living after retirement

Whether a plan is a defined contribution plan, a defined benefit plan or a simplified pension plan (SIPP), it will nicely complement public plans. The main objective of supplemental pension plans is to provide retirement income over and above that paid by the public plans.

Concrete advantages for employees and employers

A supplemental pension plan is part of the fringe benefits that an employer can offer his employees. Besides the financial security it offers after retirement, it is a form of deferred pay appreciated by employees. For the employer, having a plan can make it easier to attract and keep competent employees.

For retirement and much more...

  • Contributions made to a pension plan are tax deductible.
  • Employer contributions do not result in any payroll taxes because they are not included in the calculation to determine contributions to other programs, such as employment insurance, the Fonds des services de santé, etc.
  • Investment income generated by the pension fund in which contributions accumulate are tax exempt.
  • The employer contributions are vested to the plan member as soon as his or her membership begins.
  • In the event of a member's death, his or her spouse receive a pension or other benefit. If there is no surviving spouse, a benefit can be paid to a designated beneficiary or to the member's heirs.
  • The benefits accumulated in a plan cannot be seized, except in a few cases, such as a seizure to alimony or child support or for the purpose of partition of family patrimony.
  • The pension fund does not belong to the employer; it cannot be seized if the business goes bankrupt.
Worth knowing about...

In addition to the preceding advantages, an SIPP has some of the advantages of a group RRSP and a defined profit sharing plan (DPSP). An SIPP is a plan type adapted to the needs of small businesses and their workers.


  • Top of page

Régie des rentes du Québec

Les avantages des régimes de retraite

Pour aider à maintenir son niveau de vie à la retraite

Le régime complémentaire de retraite est un complément naturel des régimes publics, qu'il soit à cotisation déterminée, à prestations déterminées ou qu'il s'agisse d'un régime de retraite simplifié (RRS). Son objectif premier est de fournir un revenu de retraite qui s'ajoute à celui versé par les régimes publics.

Des avantages concrets pour les employés et les employeurs

Le régime complémentaire de retraite fait partie des avantages sociaux qu'un employeur peut offrir à ses employés. Outre la sécurité financière qu'il procure à la retraite, il constitue une forme de rémunération appréciée par les travailleurs. Du côté de l'employeur, l'instauration d'un régime peut faciliter le recrutement et le maintien d'une main-d'oeuvre de qualité.

Pour la retraite et plus encore...

  • Les cotisations versées à un régime de retraite sont déductibles d'impôt
  • Les cotisations de l'employeur n'entraînent pas de taxes salariales, c'est-à-dire qu'elles sont exclues du calcul servant à déterminer les cotisations à d'autres programmes comme l'assurance-emploi, le Fonds des services de santé, etc.
  • Les revenus de placement de la caisse de retraite, où s'accumulent les sommes versées, sont exempts d'impôt.
  • La part de l'employeur est acquise dès le début de la participation au régime de retraite.
  • En cas de décès du participant, son conjoint peut obtenir le versement d'une rente ou d'une prestation. À défaut de conjoint, une prestation pourrait être versée au bénéficiaire désigné ou aux héritiers.
  • Les droits accumulés dans un régime ne peuvent être saisis. Certaines exceptions s'appliquent toutefois, notamment pour le paiement d'une dette alimentaire ou pour le partage du patrimoine familial.
  • La caisse de retraite n'appartient pas à l'employeur. Elle ne peut donc être saisie en cas de faillite de l'entreprise.

À savoir ...

En plus des avantages précédents, le RRS présente certains avantages du régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite collectif (REER collectif) et du régime de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB). Le RRS est un régime adapté aux PME et à leurs employés.



  •  Partager
  • Haut de page