Régie des rentes du Québec

Administering a defined contribution plan

A defined contribution plan is generally administered by a pension committee, which is the first responder for the plan and must ensure that the plan is in conformity with the relevant laws.

The pension committee is responsible for the administration of the plan and the management of the pension fund. Furthermore, it has an important role to plan in providing information to plan members. It must act with prudence, diligence and competence, like any reasonable person.

Sometimes the administrator is not a pension committee

A plan with less than 26 members and beneficiaries can be administered by the employer. In that case, the employer has the same obligations and responsibilities as a pension committee.

Who can provide information about a plan?

Generally, the documentation given to plan members indicates the name and contact details of a contact person. Those details can also be obtained from the employer our by using the Régie's online consultation service for supervised pension plans.

How can someone become a pension committee member?

Any person who wants to be a committee member, whether or not he or she is a plan member, can express an interest in becoming a member to the persons who have the power to designate committee members (for example, the employer or the union). An interested person can also run as a candidate for election by the plan members and beneficiaries at the plan's annual meeting.

To find out more...

See the Régie's section for plan administrators.

  •  Share
  • Top of the page

Régie des rentes du Québec

Administration d'un régime à cotisation déterminée

Le régime est généralement administré par un comité de retraite. Il est le premier répondant du régime et doit veiller à ce que celui-ci soit conforme aux lois.

Le comité de retraite est responsable de l'administration du régime et de la gestion de la caisse de retraite. Il a de plus un rôle important à jouer, notamment en ce qui a trait à l'information aux participants. Il est tenu d'agir avec prudence, diligence et compétence, comme le ferait une personne raisonnable.

Administré par un comité de retraite? Pas toujours...

Un régime qui compte moins de 26 participants et bénéficiaires peut être administré par l'employeur. Dans un tel cas, l'employeur est soumis aux mêmes obligations et assume les mêmes responsabilités qu'un comité de retraite.

Qui consulter pour obtenir de l'information sur le régime?

En règle générale, la documentation remise aux participants indique le nom et les coordonnées d'une personne-ressource. Ces renseignements peuvent aussi être obtenus auprès de l'employeur ou à l'aide du service en ligne de consultation des régimes de retraite supervisés par la Régie.

Comment devenir membre d'un comité de retraite?

Toute personne qui le désire, participante ou non au régime, peut faire connaître son intérêt à devenir membre aux personnes qui ont le pouvoir de désigner les membres du comité (par exemple, l'employeur ou le syndicat). Elle peut aussi poser sa candidature pour être nommée membre par les participants et les bénéficiaires du régime lors de leur assemblée annuelle.

Pour en savoir plus...

La Régie propose une section dédiée aux administrateurs de régime.

  •  Partager
  • Haut de page