Characteristics of a simplified pension plan

How a simplified pension plan (SIPP) works can be compared to the workings of a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP). Income at retirement depends on the amounts accumulated in the member's locked-in and not locked-in accounts. It also depends, among other factors, on the interest rates in effect when a life annuity is purchased or the rates applicable to a life income fund (LIF).

A high return on account investments combined with high interest rates at the time an annuity is purchased or high rates on an LIF results in a higher pension during retirement.

Each member of the plan selects from the options offered the investments to be made with the amounts credited to his or her accounts.

Locked-in and not locked-in accounts

Each plan member has two accounts: one is locked-in and the other is not locked-in.

Locked-in and not locked-in account
Type of contribution or transfer Locked-in account Not locked-in account
Employer contribution Yes No
Additional employer contribution Yes No
Member contribution Employer's choice Employer's choice
Additional voluntary member contribution No Yes
Transfer from a deferred profit-sharing plan (DPSP) Employer's choice Employer's choice
Transfer from a not locked-in source No Yes
Transfer from a locked-in source Yes No

Who assumes the risk?

The return on investments, good or bad, is reflected directly in the value of a member's accounts. The risk related to poor investment yields is assumed by the member. The employer's obligation is limited to making the contribution required under the plan's provisions.

What happens at retirement?

An SIPP is not used to "pay a retirement pension". Instead, the amount credited to the member's locked-in account is used to purchase a life annuity from an insurer or is transferred to a life income fund (LIF), from which a retirement income can be drawn. The amount credited to the not locked-in account can be withdrawn as cash, used to purchase an annuity or transferred to a registered retirement income plan (RRIF).

If the member does not retire immediately, the amount in the locked-in account must be transferred to a locked-in retirement account (LIRA) or another supplemental pension plan that allows transfers so that it can be used to provide a retirement income later. The amount in the not-locked-in account can be withdrawn as cash or transferred to an RRSP.

  • Top of page

Caractéristiques du régime de retraite simplifié

Le fonctionnement d'un régime de retraite simplifié (RRS) se compare à celui d'un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER). Le revenu à la retraite dépend des sommes accumulées dans les comptes immobilisé et non immobilisé du participant. Il dépend aussi, entre autres, des taux d'intérêt en vigueur au moment de l'achat d'une rente ou des taux applicables au fonds de revenu viager (FRV).

Ainsi, un rendement élevé sur les placements des comptes, ainsi que des taux d'intérêt élevés au moment de l'achat d'une rente ou des taux élevés applicables au FRV, permettent d'obtenir un revenu de retraite plus élevé.

Chaque participant décide, parmi les options offertes, des placements à faire avec les sommes portées à ses comptes.

Les comptes immobilisé et non immobilisé

Deux comptes sont créés pour chaque participant : l'un est immobilisé et l'autre non.

Composition des comptes immobilisé et non immobilisé
Type de cotisation ou de transfert Compte immobilisé Compte non immobilisé
Cotisation patronale Oui Non
Cotisation supplémentaire de l'employeur Oui Non
Cotisation salariale Au choix de l'employeur Au choix de l'employeur
Cotisation volontaire du participant Non Oui
Transfert provenant d'un régime de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB) Au choix de l'employeur Au choix de l'employeur
Transfert de source non immobilisée Non Oui
Transfert de source immobilisée Oui Non

La part du risque

Le rendement des placements, bon ou mauvais, se reflète directement sur la valeur des comptes des participants. Les risques liés aux mauvais rendements sont donc assumés par les participants. L'engagement de l'employeur est limité à la cotisation qu'il est tenu de verser selon les dispositions du régime.

Que se passe-t-il à la retraite?

Le RRS ne sert pas à « payer une rente à la retraite ». On se sert plutôt du solde inscrit au compte immobilisé pour acheter une rente viagère chez un assureur ou on transfère le solde dans un fonds de revenu viager (FRV) pour en tirer un revenu viager. Le solde inscrit au compte non immobilisé peut être retiré au comptant, servir à acheter une rente ou être transféré dans un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR).

Si le participant ne prend pas sa retraite immédiatement, le solde de son compte immobilisé doit être transféré dans un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) ou un autre régime de retraite qui le permet afin d'être utilisé plus tard comme revenu de retraite. Le solde inscrit au compte non immobilisé peut être retiré au comptant ou être transféré dans un REER.

  • Haut de la page