Régie des rentes du Québec

Certificate of coverage

An employer who temporarily assigns a worker to one of the countries that has signed an agreement can obtain a certificate of coverage from the Bureau des ententes de sécurité sociale. The certificate allows the employer and the employee to make certain contributions only to Québec. A self-employed worker can also obtain a certificate of coverage.

What procedure must an employer follow when assigning an employee to temporarily work in a foreign country?

Request a certificate of coverage from the BESS. The employer and the employees will save money since this certificate will allow social security contributions subject to the agreement to be made only to Québec. Of course, employees must meet certain requirements.

The services of the BESS are free of charge.

How to obtain a certificate of coverage

An employer or a self-employed worker can obtain a certificate of coverage by following these simple steps:

  • Check whether the foreign country in question has signed a social security agreement with Québec by consulting the table of signatory countries.
  • Fill out the forms for the employee who is being temporarily assigned. The forms are different from one country to another so be sure you have the correct forms! The agreements with the various countries are different as well. The BESS will supply you with all the information and documents you need.
  • Once you have received the certificate of coverage, give it to your employee. If the social security agreement covers health insurance, it is important that he or she carefully read the accompanying information. It will indicate to which government agency the employee must present the certificate of coverage.

Note...

It takes about 3 weeks to obtain a certificate of coverage.

The certificate is valid for a limited period, which can be extended upon request. However, the BESS must first obtain the authorization of the country in question.


  •  Share
  • Top of the page

Certificat d'assujettissement

Un employeur qui détache temporairement un employé dans un pays visé par une entente peut obtenir un certificat d'assujettissement auprès du Bureau des ententes de sécurité sociale. Ce certificat permettra à l'employeur et à son employé de payer certaines cotisations de sécurité sociale au Québec seulement. Un travailleur autonome peut également demander un certificat d'assujettissement.

Que doit faire l'employeur qui veut détacher temporairement des employés dans un pays étranger?

Dans un tel cas, une demande de certificat d'assujettissement doit être adressée au BESS. L'employeur et ses employés feront des économies, car ce certificat leur permettra de payer au Québec seulement les cotisations de sécurité sociale visées par l'entente. Bien sûr, les employés doivent satisfaire à certaines conditions.

Les services du BESS sont gratuits, tant pour le travailleur que pour l'employeur.

Comment obtenir un certificat d'assujettissement

L'employeur ou le travailleur autonome peuvent obtenir le certificat d'assujettissement en suivant cette procédure simple :

  • Vérifier si le pays destinataire a signé une entente de sécurité sociale avec le Québec en consultant le tableau des pays signataires.
  • Remplir les formulaires du pays destinataire pour l'employé détaché. Attention! Les formulaires diffèrent d'un pays à l'autre et les ententes aussi. Le BESS fournira tous les documents et renseignements nécessaires à ce sujet.
  • À la réception du certificat d'assujettissement, remettre celui-ci à l'employé. Si l'entente de sécurité sociale concernée couvre le volet de l'assurance santé, des renseignements additionnels indiqueront à quelle instance gouvernementale du pays le certificat doit être présenté, le cas échéant.
Notez que...

Il faut compter environ 3 semaines pour obtenir le certificat d'assujettissement.

Le certificat a une durée limitée, qui peut être prolongée sur demande. Le BESS doit toutefois obtenir au préalable l'accord du pays concerné.


  • Haut de la page