If you separate

Whether you are married or de facto (common law) spouses, the benefits accumulated in your defined benefit pension plan can be partitioned between you and your former spouse. The following information explains the process.


What is partitioned...

You can partition money accumulated under your pension plan but not the actual pension that will be paid to you upon retirement. Your former spouse will receive entitlement to a sum of money that he or she can use only during retirement. The amount will be deducted from the benefits accumulated in your pension plan.


The steps in partition

  1. Application for a statement of benefits
  2. The sums accumulated in a pension plan during the marriage are part of the family patrimony.

    Whether you are married or de facto (common law) spouses, there is a limit to the amount that can be taken from your plan and given to your former spouse.

    To make an informed decision, request a statement of benefits from the plan administrator (your spouse can also make the request). The administrator has 60 days following the date of your request to send both you and your spouse the statement.

    You are married

    If you are in family mediation or if you have initiated divorce proceedings, legal separation or civil annulment of marriage, you or your spouse can request a statement of benefits. The statement will indicate the total value of the benefits accumulated in the pension plan as at the date of the conjugal breakdown, as well as the portion of those benefits accumulated during your marriage.

    You are de facto spouses

    You and your former spouse can request a statement of benefits once you are no longer living together. The statement will indicate the total value of the benefits accumulated in the pension plan as at the date of the conjugal breakdown.

    To be recognized as de facto spouses...

    You must have lived together for at least 3 years, or 1 year if a child was born or will be born of your union or if you adopted a child. In addition, the pension plan member must not be married or in a civil union with another person.



    Forms to complete

    To make the task easier, Retraite Québec provides forms that you can use to request a statement of benefits.

    If you are married:
    Forms 1 to 3

    If you are de facto spouses:
    Form 4


  3. Application for partition
  4. The partition of pension plan benefits is not carried out automatically as in the case of the Québec Pension Plan. You or your former spouse must file an application for partition with the plan administrator.

    The application for partition should be filed as soon as possible after the breakdown of the relationship. Your former spouse will be paid the amount indicated in your judgment or agreement. In addition, even if not specified in the judgment or agreement, interest will be added for the period between the date of the breakdown and the date of partition.


    The 50% rule
    If you were married and your family patrimony is partitioned, the judgment or agreement cannot award your former spouse more than half of the total value of the benefits accumulated in your supplemental pension plans as at the date of the breakdown of your relationship.

    If you were de facto spouses, your former spouse cannot receive more than half of the total value of the benefits accumulated in your pension plan as at the date on which your conjugal relationship ended.



    When to file an application for partition?

    If you were married

    You must have obtained a judgment of divorce, legal separation or civil annulment of marriage. If this is not the case, partition of your benefits cannot be carried out, even if you have an agreement with your former spouse.

    If you were de facto spouses

    Your former spouse cannot demand partition of your benefits. Partition is possible only if you conclude a written agreement to that effect in the 12 months following the breakdown of your relationship.


    Forms to complete

    To make the task easier, Retraite Québec provides forms that you can use to request partition.

    If you are married: 
    Form 5

    If you are de facto spouses:
    Form 6


Your former spouse will not receive cash

In most cases, once partition has been carried out, your former spouse will have to transfer the amount received to a locked-in retirement account (LIRA) or a life income fund (LIF), depending on his or her choice.



Advice from Retraite Québec...

If you separate, we suggest that you consult the section on our website dealing with conjugal breakdown. This will lead you to some of Retraite Québec's programs and services that could be very useful to you.



Other useful link

Practical corner

Top of page

Régie des rentes du Québec

Vous vous séparez

Régime à prestations déterminées

Que vous soyez marié ou conjoint de fait, vous pouvez partager avec votre ex-conjoint les droits que vous avez accumulés dans votre régime de retraite à prestations déterminées. Voici comment procéder selon les règles...



Ce que vous partagez...

Vous partagez l'argent accumulé dans votre régime de retraite et non la rente qui vous sera versée à la retraite. Votre ex-conjoint recevra une somme d'argent qu'il pourra encaisser lors de sa retraite. Cette somme sera déduite des droits accumulés dans votre régime.


Les étapes du partage



  1. La demande de relevé de droits

Les droits accumulés dans le régime de retraite pendant le mariage font partie du patrimoine familial.

Que vous soyez marié ou conjoint de fait, il y a une limite au montant que vous pouvez prendre dans votre régime pour remettre à votre ex-conjoint.

Pour prendre une décision éclairée, demandez un relevé à l'administrateur du régime (votre conjoint peut aussi en faire la demande). À la suite de votre demande, l'administrateur dispose d'un délai de 60 jours pour vous envoyer ce relevé ainsi qu'à votre conjoint.


Vous êtes marié

Si vous êtes en médiation familiale ou si vous avez entamé des procédures de divorce, de séparation légale ou d'annulation civile de mariage, vous ou votre conjoint pouvez demander un relevé de droits. Ce relevé vous donnera la valeur totale des droits accumulés au moment de votre rupture et la valeur de la partie de ces droits qui a été accumulée pendant votre mariage.


Vous êtes conjoint de fait

Vous et votre ex-conjoint pouvez demander un relevé de droits dès que vous cessez de vivre ensemble. Ce relevé vous donnera la valeur totale des droits accumulés au moment de votre rupture.

Pour être reconnus comme conjoints de fait...

Vous devez avoir vécu ensemble pendant au moins 3 ans, ou 1 an si un enfant est né ou à naître de votre union, ou si vous avez adopté un enfant. De plus, celui qui participe au régime ne doit pas être marié ni uni civilement à une autre personne.


Les formulaires à remplir

Pour vous faciliter la vie, la Régie des rentes du Québec a conçu des formulaires que vous pouvez utiliser pour obtenir un relevé de droits.

Si vous êtes marié:
Formulaires 1 à 3

Si vous êtes conjoint de fait:
Formulaire 4



  1. La demande de partage

Le partage d'un régime de retraite ne se fait pas automatiquement comme dans le cas du Régime de rentes du Québec. Vous ou votre ex-conjoint devez présenter une demande de partage à l'administrateur du régime.

La demande de partage devrait être transmise le plus tôt possible après la rupture. L'administrateur versera alors à votre ex-conjoint la somme indiquée dans votre jugement ou votre entente. De plus, même si le jugement ou l'entente ne le prévoit pas, des intérêts seront ajoutés pour la période entre la date de la rupture et celle du partage.

La règle du 50 %
Si vous étiez marié et que vous partagez votre patrimoine familial, le jugement ou l'entente ne peut prévoir la remise à votre ex-conjoint de plus de la moitié de la valeur totale des droits accumulés dans l'ensemble de vos régimes complémentaires de retraite au moment de la rupture.

Si vous étiez conjoint de fait, vous ne pouvez remettre à votre ex-conjoint plus de la moitié de la valeur totale des droits accumulés dans votre régime le jour où vous vous êtes.


Quand faire une demande de partage?

Si vous étiez marié

Vous devez avoir obtenu un jugement de divorce, de séparation légale ou d'annulation civile de mariage. Si ce n'est pas le cas, vous ne pourrez pas partager vos droits, même s'il y a entente avec votre conjoint.

Si vous étiez conjoint de fait

Votre ex-conjoint de fait ne peut exiger le partage de vos droits. Pour que le partage soit possible, vous devez conclure une entente écrite à cet effet dans les 12 mois suivant votre rupture.

Les formulaires à remplir

Pour vous faciliter la vie, la Régie a conçu des formulaires que vous pouvez utiliser pour demander le partage.

Si vous étiez marié:
Formulaire 5

Si vous étiez conjoint de fait:
Formulaire 6


Votre ex-conjoint ne recevra pas d'argent comptant

Dans la plupart des cas, une fois les démarches relatives au partage effectuées, votre ex-conjoint devra faire transférer l'argent reçu dans un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) ou un fonds de revenu viager (FRV), selon son choix.


Conseils de la Régie ...

Si vous vous séparez, nous vous invitons à consulter notre rubrique traitant de la rupture. Celle-ci vous conduira vers certains programmes et services de la Régie qui pourraient vous être très utiles.



Autre lien utile...

  •  Partager
  • Haut de page