Information on the annual information return (AIR)

Changes to the 2020  Annual Information Return

  • The maximum amount of required fees increases to $157 000.
  • The required fees per member or beneficiary (line 15) are now $11.
  • Further to the coming into force, on 1 July 2020, of the 2020 Agreement Respecting Multi-Jurisdictional Pension Plans, active members, non-active members and beneficiaries whose work conditions are under federal jurisdiction are counted to calculate the required fees.
  • A line has been added in the Statement of changes in the plan's net assets section so that a distinction can be made between the variation in the fair value of annuity contracts guaranteed by an insurance company and the variation in the fair value of other investments.

Plans subject to a financial report audit

If the plan is subject to a financial report audit, the questions in section 3.3, Determining the requirement of a financial audit, will not be available. The auditor must provide the explanations requested on lines 387 through 389 in the Consult, verify and submit the AIR section of the annual information return.

Under certain conditions This link will open in a new window.,  a plan can be exempted from the financial report audit for the fiscal year covered by the annual return. The plan administrator must however have informed the members and beneficiaries, in the notice calling the annual meeting and during the meeting, of its intention not to have the financial report audited and of their right to decide otherwise. The audit can be waived if, during the meeting, less than one-third of the members and beneficiaries are opposed to it. In that case, section 3.3, Determining the requirement of a financial audit , must be completed by the plan's representative or by the persons authorized to complete the AIR.

Context-sensitive help and validation of data

The help boxes (context-sensitive help) are positioned on each line or section that requires explanation; they serve to guide users in correctly completing the online return.

A validation function makes it possible to verify the information and correct any errors before submitting the AIR.

If needed, you can consult the Guide to the Annual Information Return, which contains all the help boxes for each section of the SPP Portal, including those of the most recent AIR.

Declaration by the plan administrator's representative

The administrator's representative must confirm, before submitting the AIR, that the plan administrator has considered and can attest to the accuracy and veracity of the information contained therein.

Note that

The declaration replaces the signatures in the old form in the section entitled Certificate of the signatories.

Submit the AIR and the documents required to complete the return online

The AIR and related documents, including the independent auditor's report and the report on supplementary matters, must be submitted online through the SPP Portal.

With the exception of pension committee members, every person having an authentication code can, at any time, add documents to the AIR in the Attach or consult a document section.

Pension committee members can consult all those documents.

Important

Only the administrator's representative is authorized to submit the AIR.

Contact information of pension committee members

Information concerning the plan administrator, including the contact information of pension committee members, can be updated at any time through the SPP Portal. Only the administrator's representative and persons authorized to complete the annual information return have access to the information and are able to update it.

To ensure that written communication is received by pension committee members, Retraite Québec now requests their residential address. Addresses are not visible on the AIR once it has been saved or printed.

Note that

In order for Retraite Québec to ensure that the makeup of the pension committee complies with the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, the type of designation must be selected for each member. For more information, consult the Pension committee section of the Guide to the Annual Information Return; an example has been added to help you choose the appropriate type of designation.

Contacting Retraite Québec

If you have access to the SPP Portal, please use the electronic messaging service to contact the Direction des régimes complémentaires de retraite de Retraite Québec. Otherwise, you can contact us

Important

Letters that were previously sent by mail will now be filed in the SPP Portal in PDF format in the Documents section, not in the Inbox section. Retraite Québec no longer sends letters by mail, except to recipients who do not have access to the SPP Portal.

Useful links:

The SPP Portal simplifies the steps you take with us. Use it!
Top of page

Information sur la déclaration annuelle de renseignements (DAR) 

Principaux changements apportés à la DAR 2020

  • Le montant maximal des droits exigibles augmente à 157 000 $.
  • Les droits exigibles par participant, participante ou bénéficiaire (ligne 15) sont maintenant de 11 $.
  • À la suite de l'entrée en vigueur, le 1er juillet 2020, de l'Entente de 2020 sur les régimes de retraite relevant de plus d'une autorité gouvernementale, les participantes et les participants actifs, non actifs et les bénéficiaires dont les conditions de travail sont de compétence fédérale sont comptés dans le calcul des droits exigibles.
  • Une ligne a été ajoutée dans la section « État de l'évolution de l'actif net du régime » afin qu'une distinction soit faite entre la variation de la juste valeur des contrats de rentes garanties par une compagnie d'assurance et la variation de la juste valeur des autres placements.

Régimes soumis à l'audit du rapport financier

Si le régime est soumis à l'audit du rapport financier, les questions de la section 3.3 « Détermination de l'exigence de l'audit financier » ne seront pas disponibles. Les réponses aux lignes 387 à 389 devront plutôt être fournies par l'auditeur dans la section « Consulter, valider et transmettre la DAR » de la DAR.

Sous certaines conditions Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre., un régime peut être dispensé de l'audit du rapport financier pour l'exercice financier visé par la déclaration annuelle. L'administrateur du régime doit toutefois avoir informé les participants, les participantes et les bénéficiaires, dans l'avis de convocation de l'assemblée annuelle et lors de cette dernière, de son intention de ne pas faire auditer le rapport financier et de leur droit d'en décider autrement. La dispense d'audit est possible si, lors de cette assemblée, moins du tiers des participants, participantes et bénéficiaires présents s'y opposent. Dans ce cas, la section 3.3 « Détermination de l'exigence de l'audit financier » devra être remplie par le représentant ou la représentante de l'administrateur ou par les personnes qu'il ou elle aura autorisées à remplir la DAR.

Aide contextuelle et validation des données

Des zones d'aide à la saisie (aide contextuelle) sont positionnées sur chaque ligne ou section qui nécessite des explications; cela permet de s'assurer qu'elles sont remplies adéquatement.

Une fonction de validation permet de vérifier les renseignements saisis et de corriger les erreurs avant la transmission de la DAR.

Au besoin, vous pouvez consulter le Guide de la déclaration annuelle de renseignements, qui comprend l'ensemble des zones d'aide à la saisie de chaque section du Portail RCR, dont celles de la DAR la plus récente.

Déclaration du représentant ou de la représentante  de l'administrateur du régime

Le représentant ou la représentante de l'administrateur doit confirmer, avant la transmission de la DAR, que l'administrateur du régime en a pris connaissance et qu'il atteste l'exactitude et la véracité des renseignements qui y sont contenus.

Notez que...

Cette déclaration remplace les signatures de la section « Attestation des signataires » de l'ancien formulaire.

Transmission électronique de la DAR et des documents exigibles

La DAR, de même que les documents qui y sont liés, dont le rapport de l'auditeur indépendant et le rapport sur les autres éléments, doivent être transmis électroniquement au moyen du Portail RCR.

À l'exception des membres des comité de retraite, toute personne détenant un code d'authentification peut, en tout temps, joindre des documents à la DAR dans la section « Joindre ou consulter un document ».

Les membres du comité de retraite, quant à eux, peuvent consulter tous ces documents.

Important

La seule personne qui peut transmettre la DAR est le représentant ou la représentante de l'administrateur.

Coordonnées des membres du comité de retraite

Les informations concernant l'administrateur du régime, dont les coordonnées des membres du comité de retraite, peuvent être mises à jour en tout temps par le Portail RCR. Seuls le représentant ou la représentante de l'administrateur et les personnes qu'il aura autorisées pourront accéder à ces coordonnées et les mettre à jour.

Pour s'assurer que ses communications écrites sont reçues par les membres du comité de retraite, Retraite Québec demande maintenant leur adresse de résidence. Ces adresses ne sont pas visibles sur la DAR une fois qu'elle est enregistrée ou imprimée.

Notez que...

Pour que Retraite Québec s'assure que la composition du comité de retraite est conforme à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, le type de désignation doit être sélectionné pour chacun des membres. Pour plus d'information à ce sujet, consultez la section « Comité de retraite » du Guide de la déclaration annuelle de renseignements; un exemple y a été ajouté afin de vous aider à choisir le type de désignation approprié.

Communication avec Retraite Québec

Si vous avez accès au Portail RCR, l'utilisation de la messagerie est privilégiée pour que vous communiquiez avec la Direction des régimes complémentaires de retraite de Retraite Québec. Sinon, vous pouvez communiquer avec nous :

Important

Les lettres auparavant envoyées par la poste sont désormais déposées dans le Portail RCR en version PDF dans la section « Documents » et non dans la section « Messagerie ». Retraite Québec n'envoie plus de lettres par la poste, sauf aux destinataires n'ayant pas accès au Portail RCR.

Liens utiles

Le Portail RCR simplifie vos démarches. Utilisez-le!
Haut de la page