Pension plan governance

Pension plan governance is a set of rules governing the relationship between the plan administrator, employer, plan members and beneficiaries and service providers. The rules set out the rights and responsibilities of each of the above. They define the objectives to attain and the means for attaining them that must be implemented.

To facilitate sound pension plan administration, the administrator must set up governance rules that will guide it in carrying out its duties and allow it to prove it has met its obligations. They will assist the administrator in taking appropriate action in various situations.

The rules can be found in the internal by-laws. When the plan is administered by a pension committee, they also cover the committee's operating rules. Rules governing the makeup of the pension committee are provided for in the plan text.

The funding policy applies to defined benefit pension plans. The policy must be established by the person or body empowered to amend the plan. The policy helps the administrator manage the risks related to the funding of the plan.

For certain defined benefit pension plans, the person or body empowered to amend a plan can adopt an annuity purchasing policy that allows the plan administrator to begin paying benefits to members and beneficiaries through the purchase of annuities from an insurance company.

To find out more...

Instalment 1 of the collection Administering a pension plan well

Top of page

Gouvernance du régime de retraite

La gouvernance d'un régime de retraite est un ensemble de règles qui régissent les relations entre l'administrateur du régime, l'employeur, les participants et bénéficiaires ainsi que les fournisseurs de services. Ces règles traitent également des droits et responsabilités de chacun. Elles définissent les objectifs à poursuivre et les moyens à mettre en œuvre pour les atteindre.

Pour favoriser la saine gestion du régime de retraite, l'administrateur doit mettre en place des règles de gouvernance, qui le guideront dans l'exercice de ses fonctions et lui permettront de démontrer qu'il a rempli ses obligations. Elles l'aideront à agir de façon appropriée dans différentes situations.

Ces règles se trouvent dans le règlement intérieur. Lorsque le régime est administré par un comité de retraite, elles traitent également du fonctionnement du comité. Pour ce qui est des règles sur la composition du comité, elles sont prévues dans le régime de retraite.

La politique de financement s'applique à un régime à prestations déterminées. Elle doit être établie par celui qui a le pouvoir de modifier le régime. Elle a pour but d'aider l'administrateur à gérer les risques liés au financement du régime.

Pour certains régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées, celui qui a le pouvoir de modifier le régime peut le doter d'une politique d'achat de rentes. Cette politique permet à l'administrateur du régime de procéder à l'acquittement des droits des personnes participantes et bénéficiaires par l'achat de rentes à une compagnie d'assurance.

Pour en savoir plus...

Fascicule no 1 du recueil Bien administrer un régime de retraite...

  • Haut de la page