Applicable fees

Important Notice

Please consult Newsletter number 32, Amendments to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans effective 4 January 2018, as well as division V – Transfer of benefits between spouses This link will open in a new window. of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, to find out the rules for partition applicable to spouses in a civil union, the changes to the payment methods applicable to the former spouse, and the calculation of member benefits after partition.

General rules

The cost of partition and issuance of the statement of benefits

The cost of partition and issuance of the statement of benefits are administration costs. They are assumed by the pension fund, unless the plan text provides otherwise. These costs cannot be charged to the spouses in the absence of a provision in the plan text.

This rule applies even where the administrator issues a statement that he is not required to issue under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window..

 

Fees must be paid by both spouses

The administrator cannot charge fees to the member only or to the former spouse only. Fees must be charged to both spouses and must be the same for each. However, the spouses may agree to pay unequal portions of the total fees charged.


Fee schedule maximums

Issuance of the statement of benefits
Defined contribution plan Maximum
Defined contribution plan 150 $
Combination plan 325 $
Defined benefit plan250 $
Fixed benefit-fixed contribution plan250 $

Carrying out partition
Pension plan Maximum
Defined contribution plan100 $
Combination plan200 $
Defined benefit plan150 $
Fixed benefit-fixed contribution plan150 $

These fees are the maximum aggregate fees that can be charged to the spouses. They do not apply to fees charged to the administrator by an actuary. For example, the fees for a statement of benefits in a defined benefit plan limited to a maximum of $250, that is, 125 $ for each spouse.

If married spouses apply for a first statement showing the value of benefits at the end of the conjugal relationship, in the course of mediation and a second statement showing the value of benefits as at the date of institution of an action, the limit applies separately to both applications. Even where the two dates are shown on a single statement, the maximum fees can be charged twice.


Collection of fees by means of an offset

Fees payable by the spouses can be paid by reducing the benefits of the person who owes them by a corresponding amount. However, the spouses must always be asked first to pay the fees in some other manner.
The administrator can collect fees by means of an offset only if the spouse has received benefits as a result of partition.


Refusal to pay

The Supplemental Pension Plans Act provides for obtaining a statement of benefits or partition of benefits in certain circumstances. The payment of fees is not a condition that must be met to obtain a statement or partition. Therefore, an administrator may not in any case refuse to act for the sole reason that the applicable fees have not been paid.


Application of the rules

Where an administrator issues a statement that does not have to be issued under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, for example in the case of married spouses who are not in family mediation and who have not instituted an action in divorce, separation from bed and board or civil annulment of marriage, higher fees can be charges and they can be charged to only one of the spouses.

  • In the event of a refusal to pay, the administrator cannot collect fees by reducing the benefits of the member or the spouse by means by an offset, but the administrator can refuse to issue the statement.

With respect to partition, where the Act does not give the spouses the right to partition, the administrator cannot decide to carry out partition since the member's benefits are not in that case transferable.

For more information

Top of page

Frais applicables

Avis important

Consultez La Lettre no° 32, Modifications au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite en vigueur le 4 janvier 2018 ainsi que la section V — Cession de droits entre conjoints Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, pour connaître les règles de partage applicables aux conjoints unis civilement, les modifications aux modalités d'acquittement applicables à l'ex-conjoint ou à l'ex-conjointe ainsi qu'au calcul des droits du participant ou de la participante après le partage.

Règles générales

Frais de partage et de production du relevé de droits

Les frais de partage et de production du relevé de droits sont des frais d'administration. Ils sont à la charge de la caisse, à moins de dispositions contraires dans le texte du régime. Pour pouvoir en exiger le paiement auprès des conjoints, le texte du régime doit le prévoir.

Ceci s'applique même lorsque l'administrateur émet un relevé qu'il n'est pas obligé d'émettre en vertu de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Répartition des frais entre les conjoints

L'administrateur ne peut exiger de frais du participant seulement ou du conjoint seulement. Les frais doivent être à la charge des 2 conjoints, en parts égales. Les conjoints peuvent toutefois s'entendre sur une proportion différente.

Tarifs maximaux

Production du relevé de droits
Régime de retraite Plafond
Régime à cotisation déterminée 150 $
Régime à double volet325 $
Régime à prestations déterminées250 $
Régime à cotisation et à prestations déterminées250 $

Exécution du partage
Régime de retraite Plafond
Régime à cotisation déterminée100 $
Régime à double volet200 $
Régime à prestations déterminées150 $
Régime à cotisation et à prestations déterminées150 $

Ces tarifs représentent la somme maximale qui peut être réclamée aux conjoints (et non cellequi peut être réclamée par l'actuaire à l'administrateur). Par exemple, pour un relevé relatif à un régime à prestations déterminées, on ne peut réclamer plus de 125 $ par conjoint.

Si des conjoints mariés demandent un premier relevé établissant la valeur des droits à la fin de la vie commune lorsqu'ils sont en médiation et un second établissant la valeur des droits à la date de l'introduction d'instance, la limite s'applique à nouveau pour le second relevé. Il en va de même si les valeurs à ces 2 dates sont indiquées dans le même relevé.

Compensation

Les frais payables par les conjoints peuvent être acquittés en réduisant d'une somme équivalente les droits de celui qui les doit. Cependant, il faut toujours préalablement proposer aux conjoints de payer autrement.

L'administrateur peut procéder à une compensation pour les frais payables par le conjoint seulement si des droits lui sont attribués au moment du partage.

Refus de paiement

La Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite permet, dans certaines circonstances, d'obtenir un relevé de droits ou le partage des droits. Le paiement des frais ne fait pas partie des conditions à remplir pour pouvoir les obtenir. Ainsi, en aucun cas l'administrateur ne peut refuser de procéder pour le seul motif que ces frais n'ont pas été acquittés.

Application des règles

Lorsque l'administrateur émet un relevé qu'il n'est pas tenu d'émettre en vertu de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, par exemple dans le cas de conjoints mariés qui ne sont pas en médiation familiale et qui n'ont pas introduit d'instance en divorce, en séparation de corps ou en annulation civile de mariage, des frais plus élevés peuvent être exigés; ils peuvent être exigés d'un seul des conjoints.

  • En cas de refus de paiement, l'administrateur ne peut se rémunérer en diminuant les droits du participant ou du conjoint (compensation), mais il peut refuser d'émettre le relevé.

Pour ce qui est du partage, lorsque cette loi ne donne pas aux conjoints le droit au partage, l'administrateur ne peut décider de procéder quand même, puisque les droits sont alors incessibles.

Pour en savoir plus...

Haut de la page