Total benefits

Important Notice

Please consult Newsletter number 32, Amendments to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans effective 4 January 2018, as well as division V – Transfer of benefits between spouses This link will open in a new window. of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, to find out the rules for partition applicable to spouses in a civil union, the changes to the payment methods applicable to the former spouse, and the calculation of member benefits after partition.

Capital benefits and pension benefits

Capital benefits are benefits that accumulate in the form of capital

Generally, this means benefits in a defined contribution plan, including simplified pension plans.

Pension benefits are benefits that accumulate in the form of a pension

Generally, this means benefits in a defined benefit plan.

Excess member contributions and an additional pension benefit are considered to be pension benefits, even if they were not converted into an additional pension.

Pensions in payment are always pension benefits, even if the benefits were accumulated in a defined contribution plan. 


 

Valuation of vested and non-vested benefits

The value of any vested benefits must be determined. If not, the value of the deferred pension must be determined (and not the early pension, even if the member is over age 55).

Within the meaning of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window., benefits are vested when all the conditions were met, including the triggering event.

  • To be entitled to a deferred pension, the member must have ceased to be an active member.
  • To be entitled to an early pension, the member must not only be the age required, but also must have ended his or her period of continuous employment.

Example
On the date of the valuation, the member is 59 years old and is still employed. The value of the deferred pension to which he would be entitled if his active participation ended and he continued to work must be determined, and not the value of the early pension to which he would be entitled if he stopped working.

The value of other benefits or refunds to which the member is entitled or would be entitled if the member's active participation ended must also be determined. The value of any excess member contributions, additional voluntary contributions, an additional pension benefit or optional ancillary contributions (flex plan) must also be determined.

If the date of the valuation is before 2001 and at that time the member did not meet the conditions of participation necessary to be entitled to a pension, then the amount of the refund is determined instead.

Example
The date of institution of the action is 10 October 2000. At that time, the member had accumulated only 1 year of participation. According to the provisions of the plan, if the member's active membership had ended at that date, he or she would have been entitled to a refund of his or her member contributions. The value of benefits is thus the amount of member contributions, with interest, as at 10 October 2000.

The value of benefits must be determined on the basis of the situation as at the valuation date

Service credited after the valuation date must not be taken into account, even if it took place before that date. In addition, an amendment to the plan made after the valuation date must not be taken into account, even if the amendment takes effect before that date.

In a defined contribution plan, the value of benefits will be equal to the balance of the account as at the valuation date. However, if the valuation date is before 2001, it can be equal to the amount of the refund. 


Approximation of the total value of benefits when the exact value is not known

The plan administrator must sometimes determine the value of benefits when the date of the end of the conjugal relationship is in the distant past. Therefore the administrator may not have the information necessary to make the valuation. The Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window. provides an approximation method to determine the value of benefits, which varies depending on the 2 following situations: 

  1. The spouses are in family mediation and are applying for a statement of benefits to determine the value of benefits as at the date of the end of the conjugal relationship. In this case, the calculation will be the following:

    Value* at the date of
    the application
    ×Total participation up to the end of the conjugal relationship
    Total participation up to the date of the application

    *In a defined contribution plan: balance of the account at that date.

  2. The administrator receives an application for partition. The judgment requires that a certain portion of the value of the member's benefits estimated as at the end of the conjugal relationship be transferred to the other spouse. In this case, the calculation will be the following:

    Value at the date of
    institution of the action*
    ×Total participation up to the end of the conjugal relationship
    Total participation up to the date of the institution of the action

    * In a defined contribution plan: balance of the account at that date.

    The administrator must make an approximation only when it is impossible to obtain the necessary information after having taken all reasonable steps to do so.

For more information...

Top of page

Droits totaux

Avis important

Consultez La Lettre no° 32, Modifications au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite en vigueur le 4 janvier 2018 ainsi que la section V — Cession de droits entre conjoints Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, pour connaître les règles de partage applicables aux conjoints unis civilement, les modifications aux modalités d'acquittement applicables à l'ex-conjoint ou à l'ex-conjointe ainsi qu'au calcul des droits du participant ou de la participante après le partage.

Droits en capital et droits en rente

Les droits en capital sont des droits qui s'accumulent sous forme de capital

Généralement, il s'agit de droits dans un régime à cotisation déterminée, y compris un régime de retraite simplifié.

Les droits en rente sont des droits qui s'accumulent sous forme de rente

Généralement, il s'agit de droits dans un régime à prestations déterminées.

Les cotisations salariales excédentaires et la prestation additionnelle sont considérées comme des droits en rente, même si elles n'ont pas été converties en rente additionnelle.

Les rentes en cours de paiement sont toujours des droits en rente, même si les droits ont été accumulés dans un régime à cotisation déterminée.

Évaluation des droits acquis et non acquis

On doit évaluer les droits acquis, s'il y en a. Sinon, on doit évaluer la rente différée (et non la rente anticipée, même si le participant a plus de 55 ans).

Au sens de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre., un droit est acquis quand toutes les conditions ont été remplies, y compris l'événement déclencheur.

  • Pour avoir acquis droit à une rente différée, il faut avoir cessé sa participation active.
  • Pour avoir acquis droit à une rente anticipée, il faut non seulement avoir l'âge requis, mais il faut également avoir cessé sa période de travail continue.

Exemple

À la date d'évaluation, le participant a 59 ans et est toujours au service de l'employeur. On doit évaluer la rente différée à laquelle il aurait droit s'il cessait sa participation active tout en continuant de travailler, et non la rente anticipée à laquelle il aurait droit s'il cessait de travailler.

On doit également évaluer les autres prestations ou remboursements auxquels le participant a droit ou aurait droit s'il cessait sa participation active. S'il y a lieu, on doit donc notamment évaluer ses cotisations salariales excédentaires, ses cotisations volontaires, sa prestation additionnelle et ses cotisations accessoires optionnelles (régime flexible).

Si la date d'évaluation se situe avant 2001 et qu'à cette date le participant n'a pas rempli les conditions de participation pour avoir droit à une rente, on évalue plutôt le montant de son remboursement.

Exemple

La date d'introduction d'instance est le 10 octobre 2000. À cette date, le participant n'a accumulé qu'une année de participation. Selon les dispositions de son régime, s'il avait cessé sa participation active à cette date, il aurait eu droit au remboursement de ses cotisations salariales. La valeur de ses droits correspond au montant de ses cotisations salariales avec intérêts au 10 octobre 2000.

Les droits doivent être évalués en fonction de la situation qui existe à la date d'évaluation

On ne doit pas tenir compte des services reconnus après la date d'évaluation, même s'ils ont été accomplis avant. On ne doit pas non plus tenir compte d'une modification apportée au régime après la date d'évaluation, même si la modification prend effet avant.

Dans un régime à cotisation déterminée, la valeur des droits correspondra au solde du compte à la date d'évaluation. Toutefois, si la date d'évaluation se situe avant 2001, elle peut correspondre au montant du remboursement.

Estimation de la valeur totale des droits lorsque la valeur exacte n'est pas connue

L'administrateur du régime est parfois tenu d'évaluer les droits à une date de fin de vie commune très éloignée. Il est donc possible qu'il ne dispose pas des données nécessaires pour faire cette évaluation. Le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. prévoit alors une méthode approximative pour évaluer ces droits, qui varie selon les 2 situations suivantes :


  1. Les conjoints sont en médiation familiale et demandent un relevé établissant la valeur de leurs droits à la fin de la vie commune. Dans un tel cas, le calcul sera le suivant :

    Valeur* à la date de la demande ×Participation totale jusqu'à la fin de la vie commune
    Participation totale jusqu'à la date de la demande

    *Dans un régime à cotisation déterminée : solde du compte à cette date.

  2. L'administrateur reçoit une demande de partage. Le jugement exige de remettre une certaine portion de la valeur des droits estimée à la fin de la vie commune. Dans un tel cas, le calcul sera le suivant :

    Valeur à l'introduction d'instance*×Participation totale jusqu'à la fin de la vie
    commune
    Participation totale jusqu'à l'introduction

    *Dans un régime à cotisation déterminée : solde du compte à cette date.

    L'administrateur doit faire ce calcul approximatif uniquement lorsqu'il ne peut obtenir les données nécessaires après avoir fait des démarches raisonnables à cette fin.

Pour en savoir plus...

Haut de la page