Contents of the statement of benefits for the purposes of partition

Important Notice

Please consult Newsletter number 32, Amendments to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans effective 4 January 2018, as well as division V – Transfer of benefits between spouses This link will open in a new window. of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, to find out the rules for partition applicable to spouses in a civil union, the changes to the payment methods applicable to the former spouse, and the calculation of member benefits after partition.

General information

The plan administrator has 60 days to issue a statement of benefits. Each spouse must receive a copy.

Contents

For married spouses, the contents of the statement of benefits are the same, whether or not they are in mediation; only the valuation date is different. The contents will be similar for de facto (common law) spouses, except for the value of the portion of benefits accumulated during the conjugal relationship, since the administrator does not have to indicate it.

First part of the statement

The first part shows the result of various calculations. The information used to make the calculations is shown, thus validating the values indicated in the statement, unless the information used is not accurate or the calculation methods do not conform to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window..

The nature and total value of the benefits

The total value of the benefits is used to ensure that the 50% limit provided for by the Civil Code (for married spouses) and by the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window. (for de facto spouses) is respected.

If the member's benefits include both capital benefits and pension benefits, the nature and value of the benefits must be indicated separately.

Value of the benefits accumulated during the marriage

The value accumulated during the marriage is usually the portion used in the mass for partition. For example, for spouses subject to the rules of family patrimony, the value of the benefits accumulated during the marriage is considered part of the family patrimony.

For de facto spouses, the statement of benefits does not have to indicate the value of benefits accumulated during the conjugal relationship.

If the member's benefits include both capital benefits and pension benefits, the value of the benefits accumulated during the marriage must be indicated separately for each of the types of benefits.

Information about membership

Information about membership is not required for de facto spouses, nor is it required for certain methods of calculating the value of capital benefits accumulated during the marriage, if such method do not involve that information.

The statement of benefits must indicate the total period of membership (in months or days, depending on the provisions of the plan) as well as the period of membership during the marriage.

If the member's benefits include amounts transferred from another plan and the period of membership for those benefits is known, the statement of benefits must also indicate, for those benefits, the total period of membership as well as the period of membership during the marriage.

Value of residual benefits

Where the member's benefits have been previously partitioned, the administrator must indicate the value of the member's residual benefits after partition in the statement of benefits, if he knows it.

Signature

This part of the statement must be signed by the person who issued it.

Second part of the statement

The statement must contain:

Information used in the calculations

The statement must indicate the following information:

  • the date the member joined the plan
  • for married spouses:
    • the date of marriage
    • the date of institution of the action or the end of the conjugal relationship, whichever was used for the calculation of the value of the benefits
  • for de facto spouses: the dates of the beginning and end of the conjugal relationship
  • the personal information used for the calculations, noting any errors

The personal information used for the calculations concern only pension benefits. This information includes the member's age and, depending on the form of the pension, the spouse's age, credited service and pensionable salary.

Since the personal information is essential to determining the value of the benefits, the statement must indicate that if the member or spouse note an error in the information, they must inform the contact person; any error in the personal information could create inaccuracies in the values in the statement.

Although not required by the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window., this precaution may be applied to other information, such as the date of institution of the action or the date the member joined the plan, since an error in these dates can also affect the calculated values.

General information about the rules for partition

The statement of benefits must also contain general information about the principal rules for partition, to ensure that these rules will be taken into account in the agreement or judgment. The text should not be specific to the member, but rather more general in nature.

Modalities and time limits related to payment

The statement must indicate that the application for partition can be made as soon as the time limits for appeal have expired, and that partition is carried out by the transfer of the appropriate amount, generally to a locked-in transfer instrument. The statement must also specify conditions in which the amounts will be or will not be locked-in.

In the case of a defined benefit plan, the statement should indicate that if the plan is insolvent when the application for partition is filed, the spouse's benefits should be paid in proportion to the degree of solvency, with the balance of benefits being paid within 5 years.

Rules relating to interest

The statement must mention that interest will be added to the amount indicated in the agreement or judgment. It must also specify the period during which the interest will be credited and how the interest rates will be determined.

Rules relating to reinstatement of the pension

If the member is receiving a joint and survivor's pension and the breakdown occurs after retirement, the member can obtain the pension amount that he or she would have received if he or she had not had a spouse at retirement. In this case, the full pension is reinstated.

If partition is not carried out on the member's benefits following a breakdown, the member may have his or her full pension reinstated by contacting the plan administrator.

If partition has been carried out, the administrator will reinstate the member's full pension at the same time the pension is calculated to take into account the amount transferred to the former spouse.

Of course, the pension will not be reinstated if the member asks the administrator to maintain the joint and survivor's pension in spite of the breakdown of the conjugal union.

This rule must be mentioned in the statement of benefits. However, it need not be mentioned in the case of a plan in which this rule can never be applied, for example, where a plan provides that the spousal status is established at death and not at retirement.

Note that the administrator does not have relevant information about the amounts transferred and the consequences of this fact

Where a married member's benefits include benefits transferred from another pension plan and the administrator does not have the information necessary to make an accurate calculation of the value of the benefits accumulated during the marriage (for example, the administrator does not have information about the membership period of the transferred benefits), this fact must be mentioned in the statement of benefits. The administrator must also note that an approximation was made and that if the necessary information were provided, a more accurate calculation method could be applied.

Additional information that must appear in the statement

The statement must also include the following information:

  • the name of the plan and its registration number
  • the name and address of the plan's contact person
    • This is the person that the member or spouse must contact for additional information regarding the statement of benefits or to point out an error in the information contained in the statement. 
    • The contact person does not have to be a member of the pension committee. Ideally, the contact person should be the person best able to respond to the spouses' requests.

Precaution

Some administrators add a note concerning the 50% limit. This is good practice, insofar as the information provided is accurate.

The note should not indicate, for example, that the member cannot give more than 50% of the total value as indicated in the statement. For more information about the rule, see the section on the 50% limit.

For more information

Top of page

Contenu du relevé de droits en vue du partage

Avis important

Consultez La Lettre no° 32, Modifications au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite en vigueur le 4 janvier 2018 ainsi que la section V — Cession de droits entre conjoints Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, pour connaître les règles de partage applicables aux conjoints unis civilement, les modifications aux modalités d'acquittement applicables à l'ex-conjoint ou à l'ex-conjointe ainsi qu'au calcul des droits du participant ou de la participante après le partage.

Généralités

L'administrateur du régime a 60 jours pour produire le relevé de droits. Il doit en remettre une copie à chacun des conjoints.

Contenu

Pour les conjoints mariés, le contenu du relevé est le même, qu'ils soient en médiation ou non. Seule la date d'évaluation est différente. Le contenu sera également généralement le même pour les conjoints de fait, sauf en ce qui concerne la valeur accumulée durant la vie maritale, un élément que l'administrateur n'est pas tenu d'indiquer.

Première partie du relevé

La première partie présente le résultat des différents calculs. Elle fait preuve de son contenu, c'est-à-dire qu'elle constitue une preuve des valeurs qu'elle indique, à moins que les données utilisées ne soient pas exactes ou que la méthode de calcul ne soit pas conforme au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Nature et valeur des droits totaux

La valeur totale des droits vise à vérifier le respect de la limite de 50 % prévue par le Code civil (pour les conjoints mariés) et par la Loi sur les régimes complémentaire de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (pour les conjoints de fait).

Si les droits du participant comprennent à la fois des droits en capital et des droits en rente, la nature et la valeur de ces droits doivent être indiquées séparément.

Valeur des droits accumulés pendant le mariage

La valeur accumulée pendant le mariage est généralement celle qui fait partie de la masse partageable. Par exemple, pour les conjoints soumis aux règles du patrimoine familial, elle représente la valeur des droits qui fait partie de ce patrimoine.

Pour des conjoints de fait, le relevé n'a pas à indiquer la valeur des droits accumulés pendant la vie maritale.

Si les droits du participant comprennent à la fois des droits en capital et des droits en rente, la valeur qui a été accumulée durant le mariage doit être indiquée séparément pour chacun de ces droits.

Renseignements concernant la participation

Les renseignements concernant la participation  ne sont pas requis pour les conjoints de fait. Ils ne le sont pas non plus lorsqu'il s'agit de droits en capital et que la méthode utilisée pour le calcul de la valeur accumulée durant le mariage ne nécessite pas ces renseignements. 

Le relevé doit indiquer la durée de la participation totale (en mois ou en jours, selon le cas) ainsi que la durée de la participation pendant le mariage.

Si les droits du participant comprennent des sommes transférées d'un autre régime et que la période de participation relative à ces droits est connue, le relevé doit également indiquer, pour ces droits, la durée de la participation totale ainsi que la durée de la participation pendant le mariage.

Valeur résiduelle des droits

Lorsque les droits du participant ont déjà fait l'objet d'un partage, si l'administrateur connaît la valeur résiduelle des droits du participant après ce partage, il doit l'indiquer dans le relevé.

Signature

Cette partie du relevé doit être signée par celui qui l'a établie.

Deuxième partie du relevé

Le relevé doit contenir :

Données utilisées pour faire les calculs

Le relevé doit indiquer les renseignements suivants :

  • la date d'adhésion du participant
  • pour les conjoints mariés :
    • la date du mariage
    • la date de l'introduction de l'instance ou de la fin de la vie commune, selon celle qui a été utilisée pour le calcul de la valeur des droits.
  • pour les conjoints de fait: les dates de début et de fin de vie maritale
  • les renseignements personnels utilisés pour les calculs avec mention concernant les erreurs

Les renseignements personnels utilisés pour les calculs ne concernent que les droits en rente. Il s'agit notamment de l'âge du participant et, selon la forme de la rente, l'âge de son conjoint, les services reconnus et le salaire admissible.

Étant donné que ces renseignements personnels sont cruciales pour établir la valeur des droits, il est nécessaire d'indiquer que si le participant ou son conjoint constate une erreur dans ces données, il devrait en informer la personne-ressource puisque cela peut faire en sorte que les valeurs indiquées dans le relevé ne sont pas exactes.

Bien que le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. ne l'exige pas, cette mise en garde peut s'étendre à d'autres informations, telles que la date d'introduction d'instance ou la date d'adhésion du participant, puisqu'une erreur dans ces données peut avoir les mêmes conséquences.

Renseignements généraux concernant les règles de partage

Le relevé doit de plus contenir des informations générales concernant les principales règles de partage, de manière à s'assurer que ces règles seront prises en compte dans l'entente ou le jugement. Il ne s'agit pas d'un texte personnalisé, mais plutôt d'un texte général.

Modalités et délais applicables à l'acquittement

Le relevé doit indiquer qu'une demande de partage peut être faite dès l'expiration des délais d'appel, et que le partage se fait par le transfert de la somme prévue, généralement dans un instrument de transfert immobilisé. Il doit également préciser dans quelles conditions les sommes seront ou ne seront pas immobilisées.

Dans le cas d'un régime à prestations déterminées, le relevé devra indiquer que si le régime n'est pas solvable au moment de la demande de partage, les droits du conjoint devront être acquittés en proportion du degré de solvabilité, le solde de ses droits étant alors acquitté dans un délai pouvant aller jusqu'à 5 ans.

Règles concernant les intérêts

Le relevé doit mentionner que des intérêts seront ajoutés à la somme indiquée dans l'entente ou dans le jugement. Il doit également préciser pendant quelle période ces intérêts seront crédités et comment sera établi le taux d'intérêts.


Règles concernant le rétablissement de la rente

Lorsque le participant reçoit une rente réversible à celui qui est son conjoint au moment où il prend sa retraite et qu'il y a rupture pendant sa retraite, le participant peut obtenir la rente qu'il aurait reçue s'il n'avait pas eu de conjoint au moment de sa retraite. C'est ce qu'on appelle le rétablissement de la rente.

Si les droits du participant ne sont pas partagés à la suite de la rupture, il pourra obtenir le rétablissement en s'adressant à l'administrateur du régime.

S'il y a partage, l'administrateur rétablira la rente du participant en même temps qu'il en recalculera le montant pour tenir compte de la somme remise à son ex-conjoint.

Évidemment, il n'y aura pas rétablissement si le participant demande à l'administrateur de maintenir la réversibilité de sa rente malgré la rupture.

Cette règle doit être mentionnée dans le relevé. Cela n'est cependant pas nécessaire dans le cas d'un régime où cette règle ne peut jamais s'appliquer, par exemple lorsque le régime prévoit que la qualité de conjoint s'établit au décès et non à la retraite.

Mention que l'administrateur ne détient pas les données pertinentes sur les sommes transférées et conséquence

Lorsque les droits du participant marié comprennent ceux qui ont été transférés d'un autre régime de retraite et que l'administrateur n'a pas les données requises pour faire un calcul exact de la valeur des droits accumulés durant le mariage (par exemple, il manque la période de participation relative à ces droits transférés), il doit le mentionner dans le relevé. Il doit aussi y expliquer qu'il a dû utiliser une méthode approximative et que si ces données pouvaient lui être fournies, une méthode plus exacte pourrait être appliquée.

Renseignements additionnels devant figurer dans le relevé

Le relevé doit également indiquer les renseignements suivants :

  • les nom du régime et numéro d'enregistrement
  • les nom et adresse de la personne-ressource 
    • Il s'agit de la personne que le participant ou conjoint doit joindre, soit pour avoir de l'information additionnelle concernant le contenu du relevé, soit pour signaler une erreur dans les données qui s'y trouvent. 
    • Il n'est pas nécessaire que cette personne soit un membre du comité de retraite. Idéalement, il s'agira de la personne la plus en mesure de donner suite à la demande des conjoints.

Mise en garde

Certains administrateurs ajoutent une mention concernant la limite de 50 %. Il s'agit d'une bonne pratique, dans la mesure où l'information donnée est exacte.

On ne doit pas indiquer, par exemple, que le participant ne peut remettre plus de 50 % de la valeur totale telle qu'indiquée dans le relevé. Pour plus de détails sur cette règle, voir la section sur la limite de 50 %.

Pour en savoir plus...

Haut de la page