Calculation of residual benefits

Important Notice

Please consult Newsletter number 32, Amendments to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans effective 4 January 2018, as well as division V – Transfer of benefits between spouses This link will open in a new window. of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, to find out the rules for partition applicable to spouses in a civil union, the changes to the payment methods applicable to the former spouse, and the calculation of member benefits after partition.

The plan may provide a more advantageous method for the member

With respect to valuation of benefits, the administrator has no discretionary power. Any value other than that determined in the manner provided for in the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window. will necessarily be prejudicial to one or the other of the spouses.

However, in determining the residual benefits, if the plan does not reduce the member's benefits to the extent provided for in this regulation, the former spouse's benefits will not be affected. The additional advantage to the member is assumed by the pension fund.

The calculation method for residual benefits depends on the type of the benefits from which the amount transferred to the former spouse is taken

If the member's benefits as at the date of institution of the action includes both locked-in and not locked-in benefits, the sums transferred to the former spouse must be locked-in and not locked-in in the same proportions. The member's benefits will be reduced similarly.

However, if the member's benefits include both capital benefits and pension benefits, each of them does not have to be reduced proportionally. The administrator can exercise discretion in this area.

The method to use depends on the benefits type at the time partition is carried out and not at the valuation date.

Capital benefits

The member's account is simply debited for the sum transferred to the former spouse.

The Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window. does not specify whether such sums must be debited first from the member contributions or the employer contributions or both contributions at the same time. The administrator may therefore exercise discretion in this regard.

Pension benefits, pension not in payment, negative pension (examples)

The sum transferred to the former spouse is converted into a negative pension amount, using the assumptions in effect at the valuation date. That amount is noted and will serve to calculate the retirement pension.

Valuation date

  • for former married spouses: the date of institution of the action, unless the judgment orders that the former spouses' property is valued at the end of the conjugal relationship
  • for former de facto (common law) spouses: the date of the end of the end of the conjugal relationship.

The negative pension does not represent a portion of the deferred pension or the excess member contributions transferred to the former spouse. There is no relationship between the negative pension and the calculation method for the deferred pension for the purposes of partition. Therefore, one must ignore, for example, the rule under which only half the value of the early pension benefit is included in the deferred pension.


The negative pension is simply the representation of the amount transferred to the former spouse (in capital and interest) in the form of the pension amount payable upon retirement. It must therefore be calculated on the basis of the member's normal pension.

The negative pension is fixed even if the member's deferred pension is indexed.

If the member retires at the normal retirement age under the plan, the amount of his or her pension is first calculated without taking partition into account and then is reduced by the amount of the negative pension.

If the pension is an early pension, the negative pension must be reduced on the basis of actuarial equivalence, even if the early pension is not reduced on that basis.

Example 1

A sum of 4 000 $ is transferred to the former spouse, which corresponds to a pension of 1 000 $ a year, payable as of age 65.

The member retires at age 65. His or her pension is then calculated, without taking partition into account, to be 2% × 30 years of service x a salary of 30 000 $ = 18 000 $ a year.

The member will receive 18 000 $ - 1 000 $ = 17 000 $

Example 2

The normal retirement age under the plan is 65, but the member is entitled to an unreduced early pension at age 60.

Upon retirement at age 60, the member is entitled to a normal pension (at age 65) of 18 000 $, without taking a negative pension of 1 000 $ into account. Since he or she is entitled to an unreduced early pension, he or she will receive:

18 000 $ - (actuarial equivalent of 1 000 $)
18 000 $ - 682 $ = 17 318 $

Pension benefits, pension in payment

The pension must be reduced in proportion to the sum transferred by the value of the pension as at the date of partition.

In the case of partition of a joint and survivor pension whose amount was reduced at retirement to take survivorship in to account and which must be reinstated following the application for partition, the proportional reduction is applied to the amount of the reinstated pension. See more information on this point.

The value of the member's pension must in this case be determined as a function of the following 2 rules:

  1. The value must be calculated by using the actuarial assumptions in effect as at the date of the valuation that applies to the spouses:
    • married spouses: institution of the action, unless the judgement provides that the effects of the marriage are determined as at the end of the conjugal relationship
    • de facto spouses: end of the conjugal
  2. If the pension was a joint and survivor pension as at the valuation date, its value must be calculated by supposing that the pension is still a joint and survivor pension, even if it is not by reason of the application of section 89 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act.

Example 3

The member was entitled to a pension of 20 000 $ upon retirement. However, since his or her spouse had not renounced entitlement to a joint and survivor pension, he instead would receive a pension of 18 000 $ that would become a surviving spouse's pension in the event of the member's death.

As at the date of institution of the action, the pension's value was 200 000 $.

The judgment gives the former spouse entitlement to half that value, that is, 100 000 $.

Taking the accrued interest into account, 125 000 $ have been transferred to the former spouse.

As at the date of partition, the member's pension, calculated using the assumptions in effect as at the date of institution of the action and supposing that the pension is still a joint and survivor pension, is determined to be 180 000 $.

The member's residual pension is calculated in the following manner:

Amount of the reinstated pension - (amount of the reinstated pension × amount transferred to the former spouse in capital + interest / value of the member's pension at partition) = residual pension

Thus, 20 000 $ - (20 000 $ × 125 000 $ / 180 000 $) = 6 111 $ 

For more information 

Top of page

Calcul des droits résiduels

Avis important

Consultez La Lettre no° 32, Modifications au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite en vigueur le 4 janvier 2018 ainsi que la section V — Cession de droits entre conjoints Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, pour connaître les règles de partage applicables aux conjoints unis civilement, les modifications aux modalités d'acquittement applicables à l'ex-conjoint ou à l'ex-conjointe ainsi qu'au calcul des droits du participant ou de la participante après le partage.

Le régime peut prévoir une méthode plus avantageuse pour le participant.

À l'étape de l'évaluation, l'administrateur du régime ne dispose d'aucun pouvoir discrétionnaire. Une valeur différente de celle calculée de la manière prévue par le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. porte nécessairement préjudice à l'un des conjoints.

Par contre, à l'étape de l'établissement des droits résiduels, si le régime ne diminue pas les droits du participant autant que le prévoit ce règlement, cela n'a aucune incidence sur les droits du conjoint. Cet avantage est à la charge de la caisse de retraite.  

La méthode de calcul des droits résiduels dépend du type de droits sur lesquels la somme remise au conjoint est débitée.

Si les droits du participant à la date d'introduction de l'instance comprennent à la fois des droits immobilisés et non immobilisés, la somme remise au conjoint devra être immobilisée et non immobilisée dans les mêmes proportions. Les droits du participant seront normalement débités de la même manière.

Par contre, si les droits du participant comprennent à la fois des droits en capital et des droits en rente, il n'est pas requis de débiter chacun de ces droits proportionnellement. L'administrateur a discrétion sur ce point.

La méthode à utiliser dépend du type de droits au moment du partage, et non à la date d'évaluation.

Droits en capital

On doit simplement débiter le compte du participant de la somme remise au conjoint.

Le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite ne précise pas si ces sommes doivent être débitées d'abord des cotisations salariales ou patronales, ou de ces 2 cotisations en même temps. L'administrateur a donc un pouvoir discrétionnaire sur cette question.

Droits en rente, rente non servie

La somme remise au conjoint est convertie en montant de rente négative, avec les hypothèses en vigueur à la date d'évaluation. Ce montant est pris en note et il servira à calculer la rente à la retraite.  

La date d'évaluation est :

  • pour les ex-conjoints mariés: la date d'introduction de l'instance, à moins que le jugement ne prévoie que les biens des ex-conjoints sont évalués à la fin de la vie commune
  • pour les ex-conjoints de fait : la date de fin de la vie maritale

La rente négative ne représente pas une partie de la rente différée ou des cotisations salariales excédentaires remises au conjoint. Il n'y a aucun lien entre cette rente négative et la méthode de calcul de la rente différée aux fins du partage. On doit donc ignorer, par exemple, la règle selon laquelle on ne retient que la moitié de la valeur du bénéfice d'anticipation incluse dans la rente différée.

La rente négative est simplement la représentation de la somme remise au conjoint (en capital et intérêts) sous forme de montant de rente payable à la retraite. Elle doit donc être calculée en fonction de la rente normale du participant.

Cette rente négative est fixe (non indexée) même si la rente différée du participant est indexée.

Si le participant prend sa retraite à l'âge normal prévu au régime, le montant de sa rente est d'abord calculé en faisant abstraction du partage, puis il est réduit du montant de la rente négative.

Si la rente est anticipée, la rente négative doit être réduite sur une base d'équivalence actuarielle, même si la rente anticipée n'est pas réduite sur cette base.

Exemple no 1

Une somme de 4 000 $ est remise au conjoint. Elle équivaut à une rente de 1 000 $ par année, payable à 65 ans.

Le participant prend sa retraite à 65 ans. Sa rente est alors calculée sans tenir compte du partage, soit, dans son cas, 2 % × 30 années de service × salaire de 30 000 $ = 18 000 $.

Le participant recevra 18 000 $ − 1 000 $ = 17 000 $

Exemple no 2

L'âge normal de la retraite est de 65 ans, mais le participant a droit à une rente anticipée non réduite à 60 ans.

À sa retraite à 60 ans, le participant a droit à une rente normale (à 65 ans) de 18 000 $, sans tenir compte d'une rente négative de 1 000 $. Étant donné qu'il a droit à une rente anticipée sans réduction, il recevra:

18 000 $ − (équivalence actuarielle de 1 000 $)

18 000 $ − 682 $ = 17 318 $

Droits en rente, rente servie

La rente doit être réduite en proportion de la somme remise sur la valeur de la rente à la date du partage.

Dans le cas du partage d'une rente qui était réversible, dont le montant a été diminué à la retraite pour tenir compte de cette réversibilité et qui doit être rétabli à la suite de la demande de partage, la diminution au prorata se fait à partir du montant de la rente rétablie. Voir les précisions sur cette question.

La valeur de la rente du participant doit dans ce cas être établie en fonction des 2 consignes suivantes :


  1. Elle doit être calculée en utilisant les hypothèses actuarielles en vigueur à la date d'évaluation qui s'applique aux conjoints, soit:

    • conjoints mariés: introduction de l'instance, à moins que le jugement ne prévoie que les effets du mariage sont établis à la fin de la vie commune
    • conjoints de fait: fin de vie maritale
  2. Si la rente était réversible au moment de l'évaluation, la valeur doit être calculée en supposant que la rente est toujours réversible, même si elle ne l'est plus en raison de l'application de l'article 89 de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.

Exemple no 3

Le participant avait droit à une rente de 20 000 $ à sa retraite. Cependant, comme il avait un conjoint qui n'a pas renoncé à la réversibilité, il a plutôt reçu une rente de 18 000 $ réversible à ce conjoint.

À la date d'introduction d'instance, cette rente avait une valeur de 200 000 $.

Le jugement prévoit la remise au conjoint de la moitié de cette valeur, soit 100 000 $.

Compte tenu des intérêts, une somme de 125 000 $ est remise au conjoint.

À la date du partage, la rente du participant, calculée avec les hypothèses en vigueur à la date de l'introduction de l'instance et en supposant qu'elle est toujours réversible, est établie à 180 000 $.

Sa rente résiduelle sera calculée ainsi :

Montant de la rente rétablie − (montant de la rente rétablie × somme remise au conjoint en capital + intérêts ÷ valeur au partage de la rente du participant) = montant résiduel de la rente

Donc, 20 000 $ − (20 000 $ × 125 000 $ ÷ 180 000 $) = 6 111 $ 

Pour en savoir plus...  

Haut de la page