Amounts to transfer

Important Notice

Please consult Newsletter number 32, Amendments to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans effective 4 January 2018, as well as division V – Transfer of benefits between spouses This link will open in a new window. of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, to find out the rules for partition applicable to spouses in a civil union, the changes to the payment methods applicable to the former spouse, and the calculation of member benefits after partition.

General rules

Normally, the amount provided for in the judgment or agreement must be transferred. The amount can be either a proportion or a fixed amount, to which interest is added.

Former married spouses

If the judgment or agreement confirmed by judgment does not specify the amount to be remitted, half of the value accumulated during the marriage is granted, plus interest.

Former de facto (common law) spouses

The agreement cannot provide for the transfer of more than 50% of the total value of the benefits as at the end of the conjugal relationship, before interest.

Interest

Interest must be added even if not provided for in the judgment or agreement.

Former married spouses

Interest always accrues starting from the institution of the action, unless the judgment provides for the value of the former spouses' property to be determined when the couple stopped living together, in which case interest accrues as of that date. In all cases, interest accrues until the date of the transfer to the former spouse.

Former de facto spouses

Interest accrues starting from the date of the end of the conjugal relationship until the date of the transfer to the former spouse.

Pension benefits

The interest rate applied to pension benefits is the rate used to calculate the value of the member's benefits. For former married spouses, this is the rate in effect on the date of the institution of the action, unless the judgment provides that the value of the former spouses' property be determined as at the date of the end of their conjugal relationship, in which case it will be the rate in effect on that date. For former de facto spouses, the interest rate will be the one in effect on the date of the end of the conjugal relationship.

Where a pension is indexed, the rate applicable to the calculation of a nonindexed pension must be used.

Capital benefits

The interest rate applied to capital benefits is the same as the rate credited to the member contributions during the same period. Generally, this will be the rate of return on the pension fund or on the investments chosen by the member.

When the return is negative, a negative interest is also applied to the amount transferred to the former spouse.

Special cases concerning judgments

The plan administrator may have to intervene in the following situations, with or without the cooperation of the former spouses.

A judgment that is subject to interpretation

Ideally, the former spouses should take steps to obtain a new, more precise judgment. If they do not, the administrator should obtain a written document signed by both they do former spouses expressing their shared interpretation of the judgment.

If the former spouses do not agree on the interpretation, the administrator should not take a position but rather wait for the former spouses to settle the problem.

A judgment considered not in conformity with applicable legislation

In most cases, a judgment is considered not in conformity with applicable legislation because the 50% limit is not respected. In addition, some judgments improperly order the administrator to transfer a pension amount to the former spouse.

The administrator should first notify the former spouses, so that they can obtain a new judgment or make other arrangements.

The administrator can also petition for a revocation of judgment (also called "opposition by third party"). The pertinence of such recourse depends on several factors, including the amount at issue and the effect of the judgment on the pension fund. The administrator is obliged to act in the best interests of all of the members and beneficiaries.

If the former spouses refuse to act (the administrator should always keep written evidence in the file) and the administrator does not petition to have the judgment amended, he must execute the entire judgment, even if it is considered not in conformity with applicable legislation. In no case can he, on his own initiative, refuse to execute the judgment.

A judgment dating back several years (prescription)

In theory, the administrator must carry out an application for partition based on a judgment rendered.

However, if after having been notified of his or her former spouse's application for partition, the member objects to the application before a court of law, for example, on the grounds of prescription, the administrator may not act on the application for partition. He must wait for the judgment and then take appropriate action.

For more information

Top of page

Sommes à remettre

Avis important

Consultez La Lettre no° 32, Modifications au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite en vigueur le 4 janvier 2018 ainsi que la section V — Cession de droits entre conjoints Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, pour connaître les règles de partage applicables aux conjoints unis civilement, les modifications aux modalités d'acquittement applicables à l'ex-conjoint ou à l'ex-conjointe ainsi qu'au calcul des droits du participant ou de la participante après le partage.

Règles générales

Normalement, on doit transférer à l'ex-conjoint la somme prévue dans le jugement ou dans l'entente, qui peut être une proportion ou un montant fixe, en y ajoutant des intérêts.

Ex-conjoints mariés

Si le jugement ou l'entente entérinée par jugement n'indique pas la somme à remettre, on accorde à l'ex-conjoint la moitié de la valeur accumulée pendant le mariage, en y ajoutant les intérêts.

Ex-conjoints de fait

L'entente ne peut pas prévoir la remise de plus de 50 % de la valeur des droits totaux à la fin de la vie maritale, avant les intérêts.

Intérêts

Des intérêts doivent être ajoutés même si le jugement ou l'entente ne le prévoit pas.

Ex-conjoints mariés

L'intérêt court toujours à compter de l'introduction de l'instance, à moins que le jugement ne prévoie que les biens des ex-conjoints sont évalués à la fin de la vie commune, auquel cas l'intérêt court à compter de cette date. Dans tous les cas, l'intérêt court jusqu'à la date du transfert à l'ex-conjoint.

Ex-conjoints de fait

L'intérêt court à compter de la date de fin de la vie maritale jusqu'à la date du transfert à l'ex-conjoint.

Droits en rente

Le taux d'intérêt à appliquer aux droits en rente est celui qui a été utilisé pour calculer la valeur des droits du participant. Ce sera donc, pour les ex-conjoints mariés, le taux en vigueur à la date d'introduction de l'instance, à moins que le jugement ne prévoie que les biens des ex-conjoints sont évalués à la date de fin de leur vie commune, auquel cas ce sera le taux en vigueur à cette date. Pour les ex-conjoints de fait, ce sera le taux en vigueur à la date de fin de la vie maritale.

Lorsque la rente est indexée, on devra cependant utiliser le taux applicable au calcul d'une rente non indexée.

Droits en capital

Le taux d'intérêt à appliquer aux droits en capital est le même que celui qui a été crédité sur les cotisations salariales pendant la même période. Ce sera donc normalement le rendement de la caisse de retraite ou celui produit par les placements choisis par le participant.

Lorsque le rendement est négatif, un intérêt négatif est également appliqué sur la somme qui revient à l'ex-conjoint.

Actions possibles de l'administrateur concernant un jugement

L'administrateur du régime peut être appelé à intervenir dans l'une ou l'autre des situations suivantes, avec ou sans la collaboration des ex-conjoints, selon le cas :

Jugement qui prête à interprétation

Idéalement, les ex-conjoints devraient faire des démarches pour obtenir un nouveau jugement plus précis. Si ce n'est pas le cas, l'administrateur devrait obtenir un document écrit signé par les 2 ex-conjoints énonçant leur interprétation commune du jugement.

Si les ex-conjoints ne s'entendent pas sur cette interprétation, l'administrateur devrait s'abstenir de prendre position et devrait attendre que les ex-conjoints règlent le problème.

Jugement considéré comme non conforme à la loi

Le plus souvent, la non-conformité à la loi provient du non-respect de la limite de 50 %. On observe également certains jugements qui ordonnent à l'administrateur de remettre un montant de rente à l'ex-conjoint.

L'administrateur devrait d'abord en aviser les ex-conjoints, pour que ceux-ci obtiennent un nouveau jugement ou prennent d'autres dispositions.

L'administrateur peut aussi présenter une requête en rétractation de jugement (aussi appelée « tierce opposition »). La pertinence de ce recours dépend de plusieurs facteurs, dont la somme en cause et l'effet du jugement sur la caisse de retraite. En effet, l'administrateur a le devoir d'agir dans le meilleur intérêt de l'ensemble des participants et des bénéficiaires.

Si les ex-conjoints refusent d'agir (l'administrateur devrait toujours conserver la documentation au dossier) et que l'administrateur ne présente pas de requête pour faire modifier le jugement, il doit exécuter le jugement dans son intégralité, même s'il l'estime non conforme à la loi. En aucun cas il ne peut, de son propre chef, refuser de l'exécuter.

Jugement rendu depuis plusieurs années (prescription)

En principe, l'administrateur doit toujours exécuter une demande de partage basée sur un jugement rendu.

Toutefois, si après avoir été avisé de la demande de son ex-conjoint, le participant s'oppose à cette demande devant les tribunaux, par exemple en invoquant la prescription, l'administrateur ne doit pas donner suite à la demande de partage. Il doit attendre le jugement et, par la suite, agir conformément à celui-ci.

Pour en savoir plus...

Haut de la page