Civil union spouses

Important Notice

Please consult Newsletter number 32, Amendments to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans effective 4 January 2018, as well as division V – Transfer of benefits between spouses This link will open in a new window. of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, to find out the rules for partition applicable to spouses in a civil union, the changes to the payment methods applicable to the former spouse, and the calculation of member benefits after partition.

Civil union (not to be confused with civil marriage) is a new institution, in existence since 24 June 2002. It is intended both for couples of the same sex or the opposite sex.

Civil union spouses have the same rights as married spouses (family patrimony, matrimonial regime). However, there are a few differences, particularly concerning the procedure for dissolution of a civil union.

The breakdown of a conjugal union

If the spouses do not have any dependent children and they agree on the consequences of the breakdown, particularly concerning the partition of their property, the breakdown may be recorded in 2 notarial acts (without a court judgment): the transaction contract and the declaration.

In such a case, the valuation of the property may be carried out on a date chosen by the spouses. That date must be between the date of joint procedure for the dissolution of the civil union or the date on which the spouses ceased living together, and the date of the notarized transaction contract.

Furthermore, if the spouses marry, the civil union will automatically be dissolved, but without partition of property.

For more information

Practical corner

Top of page

Conjoints unis civilement

Avis important

Consultez La Lettre no° 32, Modifications au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite en vigueur le 4 janvier 2018 ainsi que la section V — Cession de droits entre conjoints Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, pour connaître les règles de partage applicables aux conjoints unis civilement, les modifications aux modalités d'acquittement applicables à l'ex-conjoint ou à l'ex-conjointe ainsi qu'au calcul des droits du participant ou de la participante après le partage.

L'union civile (à ne pas confondre avec le mariage civil) est une nouvelle institution qui existe depuis le 24 juin 2002. Elle s'adresse aux couples formés de personnes de sexe différent ou de même sexe.

Les conjoints unis civilement ont les mêmes droits que les conjoints mariés (patrimoine familial, régime matrimonial). Cependant, il existe quelques différences, notamment en ce qui concerne le processus de dissolution de l'union civile.

La rupture

Si les conjoints n'ont pas d'enfant à charge et qu'ils s'entendent sur les conséquences de leur rupture, notamment sur le partage de leurs biens, la rupture peut être constatée par 2 actes notariés (sans jugement du tribunal) : le contrat de transaction et la déclaration.

Dans ce cas, les biens peuvent être évalués à la date choisie par les conjoints. Cette date doit se situer entre la date de la démarche commune de dissolution ou la date de cessation de la vie commune et la date du contrat de transaction notarié.

Par ailleurs, si les conjoints se marient, il y aura automatiquement dissolution de l'union civile, mais sans partage des biens.

Pour en savoir plus...

Coin pratique

Haut de la page