Basic principles of matrimonial law

Important Notice

Please consult Newsletter number 32, Amendments to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans effective 4 January 2018, as well as division V – Transfer of benefits between spouses This link will open in a new window. of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, to find out the rules for partition applicable to spouses in a civil union, the changes to the payment methods applicable to the former spouse, and the calculation of member benefits after partition.

A knowledge of the basic principles of matrimonial law is essential for administrators who must fulfil tasks related to the partition of benefits in a pension plan.

These basic principles relate to:

General information

The Civil Code provides that for the purposes of family patrimony, no one may contravene the rules of valuation and partition provided for in specific laws, such as the Supplemental Pension Plans Act.

When a marriage ends, the value of certain property belonging to the spouses must be determined and possibly shared. This is the case when there is a separation from bed and board, divorce, civil annulment of marriage or death.

The pension plan is part of the family patrimony, unless:

  • the dissolution of the marriage is caused by the death of one of the spouses and
  • the plan is subject to or created by a law which grants a death benefit to the surviving spouse.

Since the Supplemental Pension Plans Act grants a death benefit to the surviving spouse, there is no valuation or partition following the death of a member or his or her spouse.

For more information

Practical corner

Top of page

Principes de base en droit matrimonial

Avis important

Consultez La Lettre no° 32, Modifications au Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite en vigueur le 4 janvier 2018 ainsi que la section V — Cession de droits entre conjoints Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, pour connaître les règles de partage applicables aux conjoints unis civilement, les modifications aux modalités d'acquittement applicables à l'ex-conjoint ou à l'ex-conjointe ainsi qu'au calcul des droits du participant ou de la participante après le partage.

La connaissance des principes de base en droit matrimonial est essentielle pour les administrateurs qui sont appelés à remplir des tâches relatives au partage des droits dans un régime de retraite.

Ces principes de base portent sur :

Généralités

Le Code civil prévoit qu'aux fins du patrimoine familial on ne peut déroger aux règles d'évaluation et de partage prévues par les lois particulières, comme la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.

Lorsque le mariage prend fin, on doit évaluer certains biens des conjoints et éventuellement les partager. On procède ainsi lorsqu'il y a séparation de corps, divorce, annulation civile du mariage ou décès.

Le régime de retraite fait partie du patrimoine familial, sauf si :

  • la dissolution du mariage est causée par le décès de l'un des conjoints et si
  • le régime est régi ou établi par une loi qui accorde une prestation de décès au conjoint survivant.

Puisque la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite accorde une prestation de décès au conjoint survivant, il n'y a ni évaluation, ni partage au décès du participant ou de son conjoint.

Pour en savoir plus...

Coin pratique

Haut de la page