Régie des rentes du Québec

Duties of the plan administrator

Pension plan administration involves:

The financial duties include:

  • ensuring that employer contributions and member contributions (if any) are paid into the pension fund within the prescribed period and that the amounts received correspond to the amounts prescribed by the plan and, if applicable, actuarial valuation report
  • paying pensions and benefits, refunding or transferring accrued benefits
  • adopting an investment policy adapted to the plan's characteristics and financial obligations
  • monitoring investments and ensuring that they respect the plan's investment policy
  • in the case of a defined contribution plan in which members make the investment choices, ensuring that at least 3 investment options are offered by the pension plan.

    The options must have different degrees of risk and expected rates of return, which will allow the creation of portfolios that are generally well adapted to the members' needs

  • having the pension fund's financial statements audited by an accountant

    Insured plans and simplified pension plans are exempt from an audit. If the administrator so requests at the annual meeting, plans having less than 50 members and beneficiaries and net assets with a market value of less than 1 000 000 $ can also be exempted.

  • filing an annual information return with the Régie des rentes du Québec and the Canada Revenue Agency
  • for a defined benefit plan, having the required actuarial valuation prepared by an actuary and filing the actuarial valuation report with the Régie and the Canada Revenue Agency

    The purpose of the actuarial valuation is to determine the current service contributions to be paid into the pension fund and the amount of the benefits set forth in the plan on a funding basis (going concern) and on a solvency basis (termination of the plan).

The administrative duties include:

  • ensuring that eligible workers enroll in the plan. In order for the administrator to be able to perform this duty, the employer must provide the necessary information on the workers
  • ensuring that plan members and beneficiaries receive the statements and other information provided for under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act depending on whether it is a defined contribution plan, a defined benefit plan or a simplified pension plan
    Worth knowing about ...
    Information and documents can be sent electronically. As a precautionary measure, the administrator should follow the guidelines set out in Electronic Communication in the Pension IndustryThis link will open in a new window. from the Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA).
  • answering questions from plan members and beneficiaries about their rights and obligations.
  • for a defined contribution plan or a defined benefit plan, holding an annual meeting, to which the members, beneficiaries and the employer are called, to report on the pension plan's administration
    Worth knowing about ...
    The annual meeting may be held via videoconference or any other means of electronic communication. However, the plan's internal bylaws should indicate as such. Even if they do not, the meeting is considered official provided the members and beneficiaries give their consent.
  • having amendments to the plan registered with the Régie des rentes du Québec and the Canada Revenue Agency
  • selecting service providers (accountant and others) and monitoring their work.

The plan administrator can also recommend amendments to the plan, for example, if some provisions are unclear. It must make any such recommendations to the person empowered to amend the plan, generally the employer.

To find out more...

Instalments 4 and 5 of the collection Administering a pension plan well

  •  Share
  • Top of the page

Fonctions de l'administrateur du régime

L'administration d'un régime de retraite englobe :

Les fonctions financières consistent entre autres à :

  • s'assurer que les cotisations de l'employeur et celles des participants (s'il y a lieu) sont versées dans la caisse de retraite dans le délai requis et qu'elles correspondent à celles prévues au régime et, le cas échéant, au rapport d'évaluation actuarielle
  • payer les rentes et les prestations, effectuer les remboursements et procéder au transfert des droits
  • adopter une politique de placement adaptée aux caractéristiques du régime et à ses engagements financiers
  • surveiller les placements et s'assurer qu'ils sont conformes à la politique de placement
  • dans le cas d'un régime à cotisation déterminée où les participants décident des placements, s'assurer qu'au moins 3 choix de placement sont offerts par le régime de retraite.

    Ces choix doivent présenter des degrés de risque et des rendements espérés différents, qui permettent la création de portefeuilles généralement adaptés aux besoins des participants

  • faire vérifier par un comptable les états financiers de la caisse de retraite.

    Les régimes garantis et les régimes de retraite simplifiés sont exemptés de la vérification. Si l'administrateur en fait la demande à l'assemblée annuelle, les régimes de moins de 50 participants et bénéficiaires et dont la valeur marchande de l'actif est inférieure à 1 000 000 $ peuvent aussi en être exemptés.

  • fournir une déclaration annuelle de renseignements à Retraite Québec et à l'Agence du revenu du Canada
  • dans le cas d'un régime à prestations déterminées, faire préparer par un actuaire l'évaluation actuarielle requise et fournir le rapport d'évaluation à Retraite Québec et à l'Agence du revenu du Canada.

    L'évaluation actuarielle a pour but de déterminer la cotisation d'exercice à verser dans la caisse de retraite et le coût des prestations prévues au régime sur base de capitalisation (continuité) et sur base de solvabilité (terminaison) du régime.

Les fonctions administratives consistent entre autres à :

  • veiller à l'adhésion des travailleurs admissibles au régime. Pour que l'administrateur puisse exécuter cette fonction, l'employeur doit lui fournir l'information nécessaire sur ces travailleurs
  • fournir aux participants et aux bénéficiaires les relevés et toute autre information sur le régime et ses modifications prévus à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite selon qu'il s'agisse d'un régime à cotisation déterminée, d'un régime à prestations déterminées ou d'un régime de retraite simplifié
    À savoir...

    Ces communications peuvent se faire par voie électronique. Par prudence, l'administrateur devrait agir selon les exigences de la directive La communication électronique dans le secteur des pensions Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre., de l'Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR).


  • répondre aux questions des participants et des bénéficiaires sur le régime, leurs droits et leurs obligations
  • tenir une assemblée annuelle à laquelle sont conviés les participants, les bénéficiaires et l'employeur d'un régime à cotisation déterminée ou d'un régime à prestations déterminées, pour rendre compte de l'administration du régime de retraite

    À savoir...


    L'assemblée annuelle peut se tenir par visioconférence ou selon un autre moyen de communication électronique. Le règlement intérieur de l'administrateur devrait le prévoir. L'assemblée sera néanmoins valide si les participants et les bénéficiaires y consentent.


  • faire enregistrer les modifications au régime auprès de Retraite Québec et de l'Agence du revenu du Canada
  • choisir les fournisseurs de services (comptable et autres) et surveiller leur travail.

L'administrateur du régime peut aussi recommander des modifications au régime, par exemple lorsque certaines dispositions ne sont pas claires. Il doit faire ces recommandations à celui qui a le pouvoir de décider des modifications au régime, soit, généralement, l'employeur.

Pour en savoir plus...

Fascicules no 4 et no 5 du recueil Bien administrer un régime de retraite...

  • Haut de la page