Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Obligations of the plan administrator

In carrying out its duties, the administrator must respect the relevant laws and the pension plan's provisions. Like all those who manage other people's property, it has the legal obligation to exercise the prudence, diligence and skill that a reasonable individual would exercise in similar circumstances. It must also act with honesty and loyalty, and in the best interest of the members and beneficiaries.

The purpose of the obligations is to ensure sound pension plan governance. To do so, the administrator must adopt internal by-laws.

Note that...

The people to whom the administrator has delegated duties, as well as those having discretionary powers, assume the same legal obligations as the administrator.


Respect the relevant laws and the pension plan's provisions

The pension plan must be administered in conformity with all applicable laws, including the Supplemental Pension Plans Act and the Income Tax Act This link will open in a new window.. As a result, if the plan has members in other Canadian provinces, it must also be administered in conformity with the laws governing pension plans in those provinces.

The pension plan must be administered in accordance with the plan's provisions. Registration of the plan with Rétraite Québec does not mean that its provisions are in compliance with the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. If the text of the pension plan has provisions that do not respect the Act, the Act prevails.

A helpful example...

A worker is hired on 1 June 2019. On 1 January 2020, she has worked 700 hours. The administrator must now have the worker enrolled in the plan since she has reached the number of hours required by law, even though the plan text provides for her enrolment after a year's service, that is, on 1 June 2020.

The plan text can provide for provisions that are more advantageous than the minimum requirements of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. For example, a defined benefits plan can offer an indexed pension although there is no requirement to do so.

Act with prudence, diligence and skill

The administrator must act as a reasonable individual would, including the following:

  • If it does not have the knowledge required to make an informed decision, it must consult an expert; the more limited its knowledge, the more important it is to consult.

    In addition, under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, it is assumed that the administrator exercised prudence if it follows an expert's advice.

  • If it is unable to carry out certain duties, it must entrust those duties to competent people who are capable of carrying them out. It can do so by means of a mandate, a delegation or a service contract.
  • It must make decisions and take action at the appropriate time.

    For example, the administrator must respect the time limits set by law. Where no time limit is imposed, it must act within a reasonable time frame.

  • It must adequately supervise the plan.

    For example, the administrator must regularly monitor the pension fund's performance.

Note that...

Pension committee members who have particular knowledge because of their profession or business experience must use such knowledge or experience. For example, a member who knows something about investing must help the other members select a competent expert in the field of investment.


Act in the best interest of the plan members and beneficiaries

The pension plan administrator must consider the best interest of the plan's members and beneficiaries as a whole, not favouring one group over another, nor acting in his or her own self interest.

Avoid conflicts of interest

The administrator must avoid putting personal interests before those of the plan. It must avoid getting into any situation in which it has legitimate current or future interests that may be at odds with the interests of the pension fund.

If the administrator is a pension committee, it is each committee member's duty to inform the pension committee in writing and as soon as possible, of any conflict of interest. The pension committee must keep a register of any actual or potential conflict of interest. It must give the employer, plan members and beneficiaries the opportunity to make themselves aware of the register's contents at the annual meeting.

A helpful example...

One member of the pension committee is an accountant. The firm he works for has submitted a tender to verify the plan's financial statements. He informs the committee of the situation and abstains from voting on the selection of the accountant.

To find out more...

Instalment 2 of the collection Administering a pension plan well

  • Top of page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Obligations de l'administrateur du régime

Dans l'exercice de ses fonctions, l'administrateur doit respecter les lois et les dispositions du régime de retraite. Comme toute personne qui gère des biens pour d'autres, il a l'obligation légale d'agir avec prudence, diligence et compétence, comme le ferait en pareilles circonstances une personne raisonnable. Il doit également agir avec honnêteté et loyauté dans l'intérêt des participants et des bénéficiaires.

Ces obligations visent à favoriser la saine gestion du régime de retraite. Pour en assurer le respect, l'administrateur doit se doter d'un règlement intérieur.

Notez que...

Les personnes à qui l'administrateur a délégué des fonctions, de même que les personnes qui exercent des pouvoirs discrétionnaires, assument les mêmes obligations légales que l'administrateur.


Respecter les lois et les dispositions du régime

Le régime doit être administré dans le respect des différentes lois qui s'appliquent, dont la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite et la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.. Par conséquent, si le régime compte des participants dans d'autres provinces canadiennes, il doit aussi être administré dans le respect des lois sur les régimes de retraite de ces provinces.

Le régime doit également être administré dans le respect des dispositions qui y sont prévues. L'enregistrement du régime auprès de Retraite Québec ne signifie pas que ses dispositions sont conformes à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. Si le régime renferme des dispositions qui ne sont pas conformes à cette loi, cette dernière a priorité.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un travailleur est embauché le 1er juin 2019. Au 1er janvier 2020, il a effectué 700 heures de travail. L'administrateur doit alors le faire adhérer au régime parce qu'il a atteint le nombre d'heures de travail requis par la loi, même si le texte du régime prévoit son adhésion après un an de service, soit le 1er juin 2020.

Le régime peut prévoir des dispositions plus avantageuses que les exigences minimales de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. Par exemple, un régime à prestations déterminées peut offrir une rente indexée alors qu'il n'est pas tenu de le faire.

Agir avec prudence, diligence et compétence

L'administrateur doit agir comme le ferait une personne raisonnable. Entre autres :

  • S'il n'a pas les connaissances requises pour prendre une décision, il devrait consulter un expert. Plus ses connaissances sont limitées, plus le recours à des experts s'impose.

    D'ailleurs, la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite prévoit que l'administrateur est présumé agir avec prudence lorsqu'il suit les conseils d'un expert.
  • S'il n'est pas en mesure de remplir certaines fonctions, il devrait les confier à des personnes compétentes. Il peut le faire au moyen d'un mandat, d'un contrat de service ou d'une délégation.
  • Il doit prendre des décisions et poser des actions au bon moment.

    Par exemple, l'administrateur doit respecter les délais imposés par les lois. Lorsqu'aucun délai n'est prévu, il doit agir dans une période raisonnable.

  • Il doit exercer une surveillance adéquate du régime.

    Par exemple, l'administrateur doit faire un suivi régulier des rendements de la caisse de retraite.

Notez que...

Les membres d'un comité de retraite qui possèdent des connaissances particulières en raison de leur profession ou de leur entreprise doivent les utiliser. Par exemple, un membre qui a des connaissances en matière de placements doit aider les autres membres à choisir un expert compétent dans ce domaine.


Agir dans l'intérêt des participants et bénéficiaires

L'administrateur du régime doit considérer l'intérêt de l'ensemble des participants et bénéficiaires et ne pas privilégier un groupe au détriment d'un autre, ni agir dans son propre intérêt.

Éviter les conflits d'intérêts

L'administrateur doit éviter de faire prévaloir son intérêt personnel sur celui du régime. Il ne doit pas se placer dans une situation où il existe des intérêts légitimes, présents ou futurs, qui peuvent se concurrencer au détriment de ceux de la caisse de retraite.

Si l'administrateur est un comité de retraite, chaque membre a le devoir d'informer le comité par écrit, et dans les meilleurs délais, de toute situation susceptible de le placer en situation de conflit d'intérêts. Le comité de retraite doit tenir un registre dans lequel sont notées les situations réelles ou potentielles de conflits d'intérêts qui lui sont signalées. À l'assemblée annuelle, il doit permettre à l'employeur, aux participants et aux bénéficiaires de prendre connaissance de ce registre.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un membre de comité de retraite est comptable. La firme pour laquelle il travaille a soumissionné pour vérifier les états financiers du régime. Il informe le comité de la situation et s'abstient de voter sur le choix du comptable.

Pour en savoir plus...

Fascicule no 2 du recueil Bien administrer un régime de retraite...

  • Haut de la page