Régie des rentes du Québec

Liability of the pension plan administrator

Like all those who manage other people's property, the plan administrator must meet the obligations that arise while carrying out its duties.

Not respecting the obligations constitutes a breach that could justify a claim for damages against the administrator if a person can demonstrate that he or she suffered losses or damages.

The administrator has an obligation of means but not one of results. It must act as a reasonable person would in similar circumstances. If it does not, and losses are incurred, it could be sued.

A helpful example...

With the assistance of an expert, a pension committee establishes an investment policy that takes into account the characteristics of the pension plan and prudent practices concerning investments. And, with the expert, it monitors the investments and revises the policy on a regular basis. Unfortunately, the pension fund's performance is less than expected.

Since the committee's means for establishing the investment policy and ensuring it was monitored were adequate, it cannot be held liable for the fund's poor performance. The Supplemental Pension Plans Act does not require the committee to obtain pre-determined results, but does require that the committee act as a reasonable person would.

The same liability for all types of plans

Even though there is a difference between the duties carried out for a defined benefit plan and a defined contribution plan, the administrator has the same obligations and responsibilities.

In a defined contribution plan in which the plan members make the investment choices, the administrator must ensure that the pension plan gives them at least 3 investment choices, each having a different degree of risk and expected rate of return, thereby creating a portfolio that is generally well-adapted to the members' needs. In addition, it must provide them with the information provided for in the Supplemental Pension Plans Act and give them the other information and assistance provided for in the Guidelines for Capital Accumulation Plans This link will open in a new window. of the Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators.

Liability regarding investments that are not in conformity with the law

A pension plan administrator who approves an investment that is not in conformity with the law is, for that reason alone, and with no other proof of wrong doing, responsible for any resulting losses unless it acted in good faith and made the decision on the basis of advice from an expert.


Note that...

The administrator remains responsible for the actions of individuals to whom it has transferred duties. It must, therefore, ensure that they are competent, provide them with clear instructions and properly monitor their work.

However, its liability is mitigated when it delegates duties or grants a discretionary power to an individual. The administrator is not responsible for the person's actions if it has chosen a person who is competent, given him or her clear instructions and ensured adequate supervision of his or her work.



Liability of pension committee members

Where a pension committee administers the plan, the committee members having the right to vote are personally liable for the plan's administration.

Protecting the administrator and the pension fund

Considering the administrator's liability, there are several ways of protecting both the administrator and the pension fund.

To find out more...

Instalment 2 of the collection Administering a pension plan well

  •  Share
  • Top of the page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Responsabilité de l'administrateur du régime

Comme toute personne qui gère des biens pour d'autres, l'administrateur du régime doit respecter les obligations qui découlent de l'exercice de ses fonctions.

Le non-respect de ces obligations constitue une faute qui peut justifier la réclamation de dommages à l'administrateur si une personne peut démontrer qu'il y a eu préjudice à son égard.

L'administrateur a une obligation de moyen et non de résultat. Il doit agir comme une personne raisonnable le ferait en pareilles circonstances. S'il n'agit pas ainsi et que des dommages sont occasionnés, il pourrait être poursuivi en responsabilité.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Avec l'aide d'un expert, un comité de retraite établit une politique de placement qui tient compte des caractéristiques du régime et des règles de prudence en matière de placements. De plus, avec cet expert, il en assure le suivi et la révise régulièrement. Malheureusement, les rendements de la caisse de retraite ont été inférieurs à ceux espérés.

Comme le comité a pris les moyens adéquats pour établir la politique de placement et en assurer le suivi, il ne peut être tenu responsable des mauvais rendements de la caisse. La Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite n'exige pas qu'il obtienne des résultats préétablis, mais qu'il agisse en personne raisonnable.

La responsabilité est la même pour tous les types de régimes

Même si certaines fonctions à remplir sont différentes dans un régime à prestations déterminées et dans un régime à cotisation déterminée, l'administrateur assume les mêmes obligations et a la même responsabilité.

Dans un régime à cotisation déterminée dans lequel les participants font des choix de placements, l'administrateur doit s'assurer que le régime leur offre au moins 3 choix de placements qui présentent des degrés de risque et des rendements espérés différents, pour créer un portefeuille généralement adapté à leurs besoins. De plus, il doit leur fournir l'information prévue par la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite et il devrait leur donner les autres renseignements et l'aide prévus par les Lignes directrices pour les régimes de capitalisation Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier.

La responsabilité à l'égard des placements non conformes aux lois

L'administrateur du régime qui approuve un placement non conforme aux lois est, par ce seul fait et sans autre preuve de faute, responsable des pertes qui en résultent, sauf s'il a agi de bonne foi et a pris sa décision en se fondant sur l'avis d'un expert.

Notez que...

L'administrateur demeure responsable des actions des personnes à qui il confie des fonctions. Il doit donc s'assurer que ces personnes sont compétentes, leur donner des instructions claires et assurer un suivi adéquat de leur travail.

Toutefois, sa responsabilité est atténuée lorsqu'il confie des fonctions à une personne au moyen d'une délégation ou lui accorde un pouvoir discrétionnaire. Il n'est alors pas responsable des actions de cette personne s'il choisit une personne compétente, lui donne des instructions claires et assure un suivi adéquat de son travail.


La responsabilité des membres du comité de retraite

Lorsqu'un comité de retraite administre le régime, ses membres qui ont droit de vote sont personnellement responsables du respect des obligations du comité.

La protection de l'administrateur et de la caisse de retraite

Compte tenu de la responsabilité de l'administrateur, il existe différents moyens de protéger celui-ci de même que la caisse de retraite.

Pour en savoir plus...

Fascicule no 2 du recueil Bien administrer un régime de retraite...

 
  • Haut de la page