Draft agreement

The employer must record its proposal for the allocation of surplus assets in a draft agreement, the contents of which are prescribed in section 230.2 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window. and section 67.1 of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window.. The employer then submits the draft agreement to the plan administrator and Retraite Québec (still within the same 150-day time period).

Within 15 days of receiving the draft agreement

The administrator must send the following to members and beneficiaries affected:

  • a copy of the draft agreement
  • a copy of the plan provisions in effect regarding the allocation of surplus assets when the plan is terminated.
  • information identifying all the associations that represent the plan's active, non-unionized members and the plan's non-active members and beneficiaries (if the administrator has been informed that such associations exist).
Important

Since 15 November 1988, it has been prohibited to amend plan provisions regarding the allocation of surplus assets when the plan is terminated.

If such amendments have nevertheless been made, they are null and void even if they have been registered with Retraite Québec.

Therefore, only amendments registered with Retraite Québec before 15 November 1988 can be considered. For a new plan registered after that date, only the initial provisions are to be considered


Still within the same 15-day time period

The administrator must publish a notice inviting all persons who have not received a copy of the draft agreement and who believe that they are entitled to a share of the plan's surplus assets, to present a claim for benefits.

For more details about the notice, please see section 230.4 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window..

Exemption from publishing a notice

The administrator can be exempt from publishing a notice if it was able to contact all members and beneficiaries for the purposes of allocation of surplus assets and give them a copy of the draft agreement with the pertinent information.

  • Exemption is automatic if that condition is respected.
  • The administrator does not need to request Retraite Québec's authorization. However, the administrator must be able to prove that the terms mentioned above were respected if Retraite Québec requires it.
Important

The administrator must be able to show that all the persons affected for the purposes of allocation of surplus assets received a copy of the draft agreement and any other pertinent information. The fact that the documents were sent is not proof of receipt.

In many cases, former members are considered to be members and beneficiaries for the purposes of allocation of surplus assets. The administrator must be aware of this fact and be able to contact them to give them the pertinent documents


Rejection of a draft agreement

Although the draft agreement can make provisions for any method of allocating surplus assets, the method chosen will determine the amount of opposition required for the agreement to be rejected, either:

  • 30% or more of members and beneficiaries express opposition

or

  • a single member or beneficiary express opposition.

If the draft agreement is rejected, arbitration can be used to determine the allocation of surplus assets.

For more details, please see section 230.2 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window. and section 67.2 of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window..

The draft agreement is accepted

Surplus assets will be distributed in conformity with the agreement.

Top of page

Projet d'entente

L'employeur doit consigner sa proposition d'attribution de l'excédent d'actif dans un projet d'entente dont le contenu est prescrit à l'article 230.2 de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. et à l'article 67.1 du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.. Il soumet ensuite le projet d'entente à l'administrateur du régime et à Retraite Québec (toujours dans le même délai de 150 jours).

Dans les 15 jours suivant la réception du projet d'entente

L'administrateur doit envoyer aux participants et bénéficiaires concernés :

  • une copie du projet d'entente
  • une copie des dispositions du régime en vigueur relativement à l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif lors de la terminaison
  • les coordonnées de toutes les associations qui représentent des participants actifs non syndiqués, des participants non actifs et des bénéficiaires du régime, s'il a été informé de l'existence de telles associations.
Important

Depuis le 15 novembre 1988, il est interdit de modifier les dispositions d'un régime relativement à l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif lors de la terminaison.

Si de telles modifications ont tout de même été apportées, elles sont nulles et sans effet, même si elles ont été enregistrées auprès de Retraite Québec.

Il faut donc considérer les dispositions enregistrées auprès de Retraite Québec avant le 15 novembre 1988. Pour un nouveau régime enregistré depuis cette date, il faut considérer les dispositions initiales.



Toujours dans ce même délai de 15 jours

L'administrateur doit faire publier un avis invitant toute personne qui n'a pas reçu de copie du projet d'entente et qui croit avoir des droits dans l'excédent d'actif du régime, à faire valoir ces droits.

Pour plus de détails sur cet avis, voir l'article 230.4 de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Exemption de publication

L'administrateur peut s'exempter de publier cet avis s'il a pu joindre tous les participants et bénéficiaires aux fins de l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif et leur remettre une copie du projet d'entente avec les renseignements pertinents.

  • L'exemption est automatique si cette condition est respectée.
  • L'administrateur n'a pas à obtenir une autorisation de Retraite Québec. Par contre, il doit être en mesure de prouver que la condition est respectée si nous le lui demandons.
Important

L'administrateur doit être en mesure de démontrer que toutes les personnes visées aux fins de l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif ont reçu une copie du projet d'entente et des renseignements pertinents. Le simple fait que cette documentation leur ait été envoyée ne constitue pas une preuve.

Dans plusieurs cas, les participants et bénéficiaires aux fins de l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif incluent d'anciens participants. L'administrateur doit les connaître et être en mesure de les joindre et de leur remettre toute la documentation pertinente.


Refus du projet d'entente

Bien que le projet d'entente puisse prévoir n'importe quelle méthode d'attribution de l'excédent d'actif, la méthode choisie détermine le nombre d'oppositions requises pour que le projet d'entente soit refusé, c'est-à-dire :

  • 30 % ou plus d'oppositions

    ou

  • une seule opposition.

Si le projet d'entente est refusé, il y a alors ouverture du droit à l'arbitrage qui permettra de déterminer l'attribution de l'excédent d'actif.

Pour plus de détails, voir articles l'article 230.2 de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. et l'article 67.2 du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Acceptation du projet d'entente

L'excédent d'actif sera distribué conformément à cette entente.

Haut de la page