Pension plan termination date

The employer must respect the rules under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act when choosing the pension plan termination date.

General rules about termination dates

  • The termination date cannot be prior to the date on which collection of member contributions ceased

    and

  • the written notice of termination must be sent to active members no later than 30 days after the termination date.

Example - The employer stops collecting member contributions on 31 March and wishes to terminate the plan on that date. He must send the written notice of termination to the active members no later than 30 April. Non-active members and beneficiaries can be notified later without affecting the termination date.

Special rules about termination dates


Rule 1
- The employer can set a termination date that is prior to the one allowed by the general rule. To do so, all active members must consent in writing to the termination date.

Example - The employer stops collecting member contributions on 31 March, but sends the written notice to active members only on 30 May. According to the general rule, the termination date cannot be prior to 30 April (30 May less 30 days). However, the termination date can be set for an earlier date, that is, 31 March, if the employer obtains the written consent of all active members. If that consent is not obtained, the required employer and member contributions must be paid for the period from 31 March to the termination date.

Rule 2 - The plan must end before there are no more members or beneficiaries. The termination date must therefore be set, at the latest, on the day before the one on which benefits are paid to the last member or beneficiary.

This rule aims at ensuring (especially for small plans) that there is at least one person considered to be a participant or beneficiary on the termination date set by the employer.

This rule must be applied regardless of the date on which the member or beneficiary was notified of plan termination.

Example - The only remaining plan member died on 31 March. A death benefit was paid to the spouse on 30 April. The termination date must be no later than 29 April, regardless of the date on which the spouse received the written notice of termination.

Top of page

La date de terminaison du régime

L'employeur doit choisir la date de terminaison du régime de retraite en respectant les règles fixées par la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.

Règles générales relatives à la date de terminaison


  • La date de terminaison ne peut être antérieure à la date de cessation de la perception des cotisations salariales
    et
  • l'avis écrit de terminaison doit être envoyé aux participants actifs au plus tard 30 jours après la date de terminaison.

Exemple - L'employeur cesse de percevoir les cotisations salariales le 31 mars et désire terminer le régime à cette date. Il doit envoyer l'avis écrit aux participants actifs, au plus tard, le 30 avril. Les participants non actifs et les bénéficiaires peuvent être avisés par la suite sans que cela ne touche la date de terminaison.

Règles d'exception relatives à la date de terminaison


Règle 1 - L'employeur peut fixer une date de terminaison pouvant précéder celle qui est permise par la règle générale. Pour ce faire, il doit obtenir le consentement écrit de tous les participants actifs à la date de terminaison.

Exemple - L'employeur cesse de percevoir les cotisations salariales le 31 mars mais n'envoie l'avis écrit aux participants actifs que le 30 mai. Selon la règle générale, la date de terminaison ne peut être avant le 30 avril (30 mai moins 30 jours). Cependant, la date de terminaison pourra être fixée avant, soit le 31 mars, si l'employeur obtient le consentement écrit de tous les participants actifs. Si ce consentement n'est pas obtenu, les cotisations patronales et salariales requises entre le 31 mars et la date de terminaison devront être versées.

Règle 2 - Le régime doit se terminer avant qu'il ne compte plus aucun participant ou bénéficiaire. La date de terminaison doit donc être fixée au plus tard le jour qui précède celui où les droits du dernier participant ou bénéficiaire sont payés.

Cette règle vise essentiellement à s'assurer (surtout dans les régimes de petite taille), qu'il y ait au moins une personne qui soit considérée comme participant ou bénéficiaire à la date de terminaison fixée par l'employeur.

Cette règle doit être appliquée peu importe la date à laquelle le participant ou bénéficiaire a été avisé de la terminaison du régime.

Exemple - Le seul participant du régime décède le 31 mars. La prestation de décès est versée au conjoint le 30 avril. La date de terminaison doit être au plus tard le 29 avril, et ce, peu importe la date à laquelle le conjoint a reçu l'avis écrit de terminaison.

Haut de la page