Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Amendments reducing benefits

As the employer, you can decided on the amendments to be made to the plan text, provided the plan text empowers you to do so. You can then decide to no longer offer certain rights, privileges or benefits to the members and beneficiaries. However, certain rules apply and the amendments cannot have retroactive effect except in certain specific situations.

Amendments concerned

The amendments reducing benefits concerned are those that:

  • eliminate a refund or a benefit
  • limit eligibility for a refund or a benefit
      For example: restricting entitlement to a disability pension for members hired before 1 January 2012.
  • reduce the amount or value of the benefits of members and beneficiaries.
      For example:
      • reducing a pension from 2% of earnings to 1,5% of earnings per year of service
      • ceasing to index pensions
      • reducing the employer contribution from 5% to 4% of earnings for a defined contribution plan.

The reductions are determined on an individual basis.

Effective date of the amendments concerned

The amendments reducing benefits concerned cannot take effect:

  • prior to the effective date of the collective agreement (or the arbitration award or decree) establishing the amendment, with respect to the members affected by the collective agreement
  • in other cases, before the date the written notice setting out the objective of the amendment is sent to the members.

Amendments pertaining to the normal pension

Amendments pertaining to the normal pension, the method used for calculating such a pension or any other benefit established on the basis of that pension or method may apply only to service that is subsequent to the effective date.

Two helpful examples...

Example 1: You amend the plan for the union members so that it limits eligibility for an unreduced early pension. The collective agreement establishing the amendment for the affected members takes effect on 30 June 2012. The amendment to the plan can only apply to service after 30 June 2012.

Example 2: You want to amend the text of your employees' pension plan, which is a defined benefit plan where pensions are determined by a final pay formula, by reducing the normal pension from 2% to 1,5% of earnings. The notice of change was sent to the members on 30 September 2012. The amendment can only apply to service after that date. Therefore, a member who is active from 2006 to 2020 and whose average final pay is 56 000 $ would be entitled to a deferred pension of 14 490 $ (2% × 56 000 $ × 6,75 + 1,5% × 56 000 $ × 8,25).

Exceptions – allowable retroactive period

An amendment reducing benefits can have effect before the date on which the notice is sent or the effective date of the collective agreement, as the case may be, in the following three situations:

  • Its purpose is to bring the plan into conformity with tax rules.
  • Its purpose is the withdrawal of an employer that has declared bankruptcy, and we have given our authorization.
    • In this case, the withdrawal must take effect on the date of the bankruptcy even if it reduces the benefits of the members before the date on which the notice informing them of the withdrawal is sent.
  • All affected members and beneficiaries have consented to the amendment, and we have given our authorization.
Worth knowing about...
These three exceptions do not apply, however, if payment of the pension has already begun. Thus, it is never possible to amend a plan to reduce the amount or value of a pension that is already in payment on the date the notice is sent or the date on which the collective agreement takes effect, as the case may be.

Reductions and plan funding (defined benefit plans)

Only contributions that become due after the actuarial valuation report has been submitted can be reduced to take into account an amendment (authorized and registered) that reduces benefits retroactively. Even if the amendment is authorized and registered, thereby reducing the plan's costs, any outstanding contributions that had not been paid into the pension fund at the time the report was submitted must, nevertheless, be paid in full with interest. If the plan is terminated, the contributions must be taken into account when the employer's debt is calculated, even if the plan is solvent at the time it is terminated.

Legal references

Supplemental Pension Plans Act (sections 19, 20, 21, 198, 199, 228 and 229)

See also

  • Top of page

Modification réductrice

À titre d'employeur, vous pouvez décider des modifications à apporter au régime de retraite, si le régime vous en donne le pouvoir. Vous pouvez alors décider de ne plus offrir certains droits, privilèges ou avantages à des participants et bénéficiaires. Certaines règles s'appliquent. Toutefois, cela ne peut pas se faire rétroactivement, sauf dans des situations bien précises.

Modifications réductrices visées

Les modifications réductrices visées sont celles qui ont pour objet de :
  • supprimer un remboursement ou une prestation
  • limiter l'admissibilité à un remboursement ou à une prestation
      Par exemple : limiter le droit de recevoir une rente d'invalidité aux participants embauchés avant le 1er janvier 2012
  • réduire le montant ou la valeur des droits des participants ou bénéficiaires
      Par exemple :
      • réduire la rente de 2 % à 1,5 % du salaire par année de service
      • cesser d'indexer la rente
      • réduire la cotisation patronale de 5 % à 4 % du salaire dans un régime à cotisation déterminée

Les réductions se constatent sur une base individuelle.

Date de prise d'effet d'une modification réductrice visée

La modification réductrice visée ne peut prendre effet :

  • avant la date de prise d'effet de la convention collective (ou de la sentence arbitrale ou du décret) qui l'a établie, en ce qui concerne les participants visés par cette convention
  • dans les autres cas, avant la date d'envoi aux participants de l'avis écrit énonçant l'objet de la modification.

Modification réductrice concernant la rente normale

Une modification réductrice qui concerne la rente normale, la méthode pour la calculer ou toute autre prestation établie sur la base de cette rente ou méthode ne peut s'appliquer aux services déjà fournis à la date de sa prise d'effet.

Deux exemples pour y voir plus clair...

Exemple 1 : Vous modifiez le régime des syndiqués pour restreindre les critères donnant droit à une rente anticipée sans réduction. La date de prise d'effet de la convention collective des participants visés établissant cette modification est le 30 juin 2012. La modification au régime ne pourra s'appliquer qu'aux services effectués à compter du 30 juin 2012.

Exemple 2 : Vous voulez modifier le régime de vos employés qui est à prestations déterminées de type fin de carrière pour réduire le pourcentage du montant de la rente normale de 2 % à 1,5 %. La date d'envoi de l'avis de modification aux participants est le 30 septembre 2012. La modification ne s'appliquera donc qu'aux services effectués à compter de cette date. Ainsi, le participant qui aura été actif de 2006 à 2020 avec une moyenne des derniers salaires de 56 000 $ aura droit à une rente différée égale à 14 490 $ (2 % × 56 000 × 6,75 + 1,5 % × 56 000 × 8,25).

Exceptions – rétroactivité permise

Une modification réductrice visée peut prendre effet avant la date d'envoi de l'avis ou la date de prise d'effet de la convention collective, selon le cas, dans les 3 situations suivantes :

  • Elle a pour objectif de se conformer aux règles fiscales.
  • Elle retire un employeur qui a fait faillite, et Retraite Québec l'a autorisée.
      Dans ce cas, le retrait doit prendre effet à la date de la faillite, même si cela a pour conséquence de réduire les droits des participants avant la date d'envoi de l'avis les informant de ce retrait.
  • Il y a consentement de tous les participants et bénéficiaires visés, et Retraite Québec l'a autorisée.

À savoir...
Ces 3 exceptions ne s'appliquent pas lorsque la rente est en cours de paiement. Ainsi, il n'est jamais possible de modifier un régime pour réduire le montant ou la valeur d'une rente qui est en paiement à la date d'envoi de l'avis ou de prise d'effet de la convention collective, selon le cas.

Prise en considération des réductions pour le financement du régime (à prestations déterminées)

Seules les cotisations dues après la transmission du rapport d'évaluation actuarielle peuvent être diminuées pour tenir compte d'une modification réductrice rétroactive qui a été autorisée et enregistrée. Ainsi, même si une telle modification est autorisée et enregistrée, diminuant ainsi le coût du régime, les cotisations qui étaient dues et qui n'avaient pas été versées à la caisse avant la transmission du rapport d'évaluation actuarielle doivent quand même être versées intégralement, avec les intérêts. Si le régime se termine, elles devront être incluses dans le calcul de la dette de l'employeur, et ce, même si le régime est solvable au moment de la terminaison.

Références juridiques

Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (articles 19, 20, 21, 198, 199, 228 et 229)

Voir aussi

  • Haut de la page