Régie des rentes du Québec

Termination of a simplified pension plan (SIPP)

As the employer, you have the right to cease participating in a simplified pension plan (SIPP). That is considered to be an "employer withdrawal". You must take certain steps, particularly if the plan members are unionized.

The financial institution that administers your plan also has the right to remove you from the SIPP if, for example, you go bankrupt. The financial institution can also decide to no longer offer the SIPP.

 

You decide to terminate your participation in an SIPP

Step to take before termination

Verify with the union any power sharing agreement to ensure that there is nothing to prevent you from withdrawing from the SIPP at the desired date.

Such an agreement (signed by you and the union) is considered to be an integral part of the SIPP text. However, it does not have to be included in collective agreement negotiations. You must take it into account if you decide to withdraw from the SIPP.

Termination steps


  1. Give written notice to the financial institution that administers the plan, specifying the date of your withdrawal from the SIPP. The financial institution will carry out the administrative and financial details related to termination of the plan.

  2. Give written notice to the union, if any, specifying the date of your withdrawal from the SIPP.

  1. Pay all the contributions required up to the date of your withdrawal. If all the contributions owing have not been paid, the financial institution that administers the SIPP will have to take the measures necessary to collect those contributions and to claim any interest accrued on the unpaid.

    Note: If the employer is unable to pay any of the sums due, because, for example, of bankruptcy, the financial institution will then be forced to reduce the amounts credited to the accounts of the affected plan members.

The financial institution decides to end your participation in the SIPP

Steps to be taken by the financial institution with respect to the employer


  1. Inform you of its decision.

  2. Ensure that all required contributions have been paid up to the date of the termination of your participation.

    If all the contributions owing have not been paid, the financial institution that administers the SIPP will have to take the measures necessary to collect those contributions and to claim any interest accrued on the unpaid.

    Note: If the employer is unable to pay any of the sums due, because, for example, of bankruptcy, the financial institution will then be forced to reduce the amounts credited to the accounts of the affected plan members.

  3. Handle the financial and administrative details related to the termination.

The financial institution decides to stop offering the SIPP

Steps to be taken by the financial institution with respect to the employer


  1. Inform you of its decision.

  2. Ensure that all required contributions have been paid up to the date of the termination.

    If all the contributions owing have not been paid, the financial institution that administers the SIPP will have to take the measures necessary to collect those contributions and to claim any interest accrued on the unpaid.

    Note: If the employer is unable to pay any of the sums due, because, for example, of bankruptcy, the financial institution will then be forced to reduce the amounts credited to the accounts of the affected plan members.

  3. Handle the financial and administrative details related to the termination.


If you want to continue offering an SIPP to your employees

You can transfer the accounts of your employees en bloc to an SIPP offered by another financial institution of your choice. Inform both institutions so that the required administrative steps can be taken.


To find out more...

  •  Share
  • Top of the page 
The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Terminer le régime de retraite simplifié (RRS)

En tant qu'employeur, vous avez le droit de mettre fin à votre participation au régime de retraite simplifié (RRS). Il s'agit alors d'un « retrait d'employeur ». Pour ce faire, vous devez faire certaines démarches, notamment si les participants sont syndiqués.

L'établissement financier qui administre votre régime a également le droit de vous retirer du RRS, par exemple si vous faites faillite. Il peut aussi décider de ne plus offrir le RRS.


Vous prenez la décision de terminer votre participation au RRS

Démarche préalable à la terminaison

Vérifiez la convention de partage de pouvoirs avec le syndicat pour vous assurer qu'il n'y a pas de contrainte à vous retirer du RRS à la date souhaitée.

Une telle convention (si elle a été signée entre vous et le syndicat) fait partie intégrante du texte du RRS; elle n'a toutefois pas à être négociée dans le cadre de la convention collective. Vous devez donc en tenir compte pour  vous retirer du RRS.

Démarches relatives à la terminaison

  1. Avisez par écrit l'établissement financier qui administre le régime, en précisant la date de votre retrait du RRS. C'est ce dernier qui sera chargé de réaliser les tâches administratives et financières liées à la terminaison du régime.

  2. Avisez par écrit le syndicat, le cas échéant, en précisant la date de votre retrait du RRS.

  3. Versez toutes les cotisations requises jusqu'à la date du retrait. Si toutes les cotisations n'ont pas été versées, l'établissement financier qui administre le RRS devra prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour récupérer les cotisations dues et réclamer les intérêts qui seront crédités sur les cotisations non versées.

    Note : Si l'employeur est dans l'incapacité de payer les sommes dues, en raison par exemple de sa faillite, l'établissement financier sera alors dans l'obligation de réduire les sommes portées aux comptes des participants concernés.

L'établissement financier met fin à votre participation au RRS

Démarches effectuées par l'établissement financier à l'égard de l'employeur

  1. Vous informer de sa décision.

  2. S'assurer que toutes les cotisations requises ont été versées jusqu'à la date de terminaison.

    Si toutes les cotisations n'ont pas été versées, l'établissement financier qui administre le RRS devra prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour récupérer les cotisations dues et réclamer les intérêts qui seront crédités sur les cotisations non versées.

    Note : Si l'employeur est dans l'incapacité de payer les sommes dues, en raison par exemple de sa faillite, l'établissement financier sera alors dans l'obligation de réduire les sommes portées aux comptes des participants concernés.

  3. Réaliser les tâches administratives et financières liées à la terminaison.

L'établissement financier a décidé de ne plus offrir de RRS

Démarches effectuées par l'établissement financier à l'égard de l'employeur

  1. Vous informer de sa décision.

  2. S'assurer que toutes les cotisations requises ont été versées jusqu'à la date de terminaison.

    Si toutes les cotisations n'ont pas été versées, l'établissement financier qui administre le RRS devra prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour récupérer les cotisations dues et réclamer les intérêts qui seront crédités sur les cotisations non versées.

    Note : Si l'employeur est dans l'incapacité de payer les sommes dues en raison de sa faillite par exemple, l'établissement financier sera alors dans l'obligation de réduire les sommes portées aux comptes des participants concernés.

  3. Réaliser les tâches administratives et financières liées à la terminaison.

Si vous voulez continuer d'offrir un RRS à vos employés

Vous pouvez transférer en bloc les comptes de vos employés dans le RRS du nouvel établissement financier choisi. Informez-en les établissements financiers concernés pour que les démarches administratives requises soient effectuées.

Pour en savoir plus...

  • Haut de la page