PrintClose

Diversifying Your RRSP Portfolio

It's possible to open one or more RRSP accounts at any type of financial institution (bank, credit union, insurance company, trust company) or investment broker. The procedure consists of "registering" your investments, which means you hold them within a registered plan (RRSP) and therefore, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) will not tax them or their returns until they're withdrawn.

If you have multiple RRSPs at a number of institutions, your portfolio will be harder to manage. However, this strategy could prove beneficial from the perspective of ensuring coverage by the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC).

You've certainly heard how important it is to diversify your RRSP portfolio. A wide range of investment options is available for your RRSP, depending on your investor profile. Some types of RRSP accounts, however, may be more restrictive.

The following are the types of RRSP accounts available and their features. 

Conventional RRSPs

This type of account lets you choose your investments according to your retirement savings strategy. All your investments are combined into one portfolio, and you receive a single detailed statement. This makes it easier to develop short and long term investment strategies, optimize your returns, and manage your portfolio. 

In general, investments eligible are the following:

  • Guaranteed term investments—guaranteed investment certificates (GICs) and term deposits (TDs)
  • Mutual funds

Self-directed RRSPs (discount brokerage)

Discount brokerage is for independent investors and those who want to manage their own holdings. A representative can guide you through the variety of investment products available. 

Since you manage your own investment portfolio, usually without advice, the fees are much lower than for a self-directed RRSP managed with a broker. Like in conventional RRSP accounts, your investments are combined into one portfolio and you receive a single detailed statement.

The following are some of the products eligible for this type of RRSP:

  • Treasury bills
  • Bankers' acceptances
  • Canada and Québec savings bonds
  • Term deposits
  • Federal, provincial, and municipal bonds (primary and secondary markets)
  • Stripped coupons and residual bonds
  • Debentures
  • Mutual funds
  • Canadian and U.S. shares
  • Canadian and U.S. stock options

Self-directed RRSPs (with a broker) 

This type of self-directed RRSP can include virtually all types of investments, as long as they're RRSP eligible. Nevertheless, it's important to verify that any given investment is eligible.

Self-directed RRSP accounts are for investors who have accumulated considerable savings in their RRSPs and want to further diversify their investments with the assistance of a financial advisor who can recommend financial products best suited to their needs and investor profile.

These accounts usually entail higher administration fees than conventional RRSPs and discount brokerage accounts (which are generally no charge since you don't receive advice). These expenses are nondeductible, because they're taken from your RRSP savings, which have never been taxed.

Your broker must respect the contract you conclude with him or her. Like the two other types of account, all your investments are combined in one portfolio and you receive a single detailed statement. For more information, refer to the flash RetraiteQuébec Capsule, "Everything You Need to Know About RRSPs".

Discretionary Management

With discretionary management, more well-to-do investors can entrust their portfolios to investment specialists, who make investment decisions for them for an annual administration fees. The fees may be a fixed rate or a percentage of the portfolio value: they may vary from one establishment to another.  

In short, an RRSP can contain virtually any type of investment, as long as it's eligible.

This text is intended exclusively to provide general information on financial security at retirement. This information may not be appropriate to the reader who wishes to obtain particular information on one of the treated subjects and cannot be a guarantee for results. It is up to the reader to make pertinent expert advice requests. This information capsule does not bind partner providers of these information.

© All rights reserved, flash RetirementQuébec

Accessibility

Flash Retraite

Comment diversifier votre portefeuille REER?

Il est possible d'ouvrir un ou plusieurs comptes régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER)  auprès de n'importe quel établissement financier (banque, caisse, compagnie d'assurance, fiducie) ou chez le courtier de votre choix. Cette procédure consiste à « enregistrer » des placements, ce qui signifie simplement que vous les possédez dans un régime enregistré (REER) et que, par le fait même, vous informez l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) que ces placements et leurs rendements ne sont pas imposables jusqu'à leur retrait.

La multiplication des REER auprès de plusieurs établissements rend le suivi du portefeuille plus complexe. Toutefois, cette stratégie peut être bonne si vous êtes préoccupé par la garantie de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC).

Vous avez certainement entendu parler de l'importance de la diversification de votre portefeuille REER. Or, il existe un grand éventail de placements que vous pouvez posséder à l'intérieur de votre REER selon votre profil d'investisseur. Par contre, selon le type de votre compte REER, vous pouvez avoir une variété plus ou moins grande de placements.

Voici les différents types de compte REER que vous pouvez ouvrir et leurs caractéristiques respectives.

Compte REER ordinaire

Ce compte vous permet de choisir vos placements en fonction de votre stratégie d'épargne-retraite. Tous vos placements sont regroupés dans un seul portefeuille et vous ne recevez qu'un relevé détaillé. Il est alors plus facile d'élaborer des stratégies d'investissement à court et à long terme, d'optimiser le rendement de votre portefeuille et d'en assurer le suivi.

Les placements admissibles sont généralement les suivants :

  • placements à terme garanti (certificat de placement garanti (CPG), dépôt à terme (DAT))
  • fonds communs de placement ou fonds distincts

Compte REER autogéré (courtage à escompte)

Le courtage à escompte s'adresse aux investisseurs autonomes ainsi qu'à ceux qui désirent s'occuper seuls de la gestion de leur patrimoine financier. En communiquant avec un représentant autorisé, vous pouvez faire tous les types de placements disponibles.

Étant donné que vous gérez vous-même votre portefeuille sans, en général, bénéficier de conseils, les frais sont beaucoup moins élevés que pour un REER autogéré avec courtier. Comme dans le compte REER ordinaire, vos placements sont regroupés dans un portefeuille unique et vous ne recevez qu'un seul relevé détaillé.

Voici un aperçu des produits admissibles dans ce type de compte REER :

  • bons du Trésor
  • acceptations bancaires
  • obligations d'épargne (Canada et Québec)
  • dépôts à terme
  • obligations fédérales, provinciales et municipales (marchés primaire et secondaire)
  • coupons détachés et obligations résiduelles
  • obligations non garanties
  • fonds communs de placement ou fonds distincts
  • actions canadiennes et américaines
  • options canadiennes et américaines

Compte REER autogéré (avec un courtier)

Le régime autogéré vous permet d'inclure dans votre REER tous les véhicules de placements, pourvu qu'ils soient admissibles. Même si le REER autogéré donne accès à un très large éventail de produits, il faut rester vigilant et s'assurer de leur admissibilité.

Le compte REER autogéré s'adresse plus particulièrement aux personnes qui ont cumulé une certaine somme dans leur REER et qui veulent diversifier davantage leurs placements dans ce dernier, tout en bénéficiant des conseils d'un courtier. Celui-ci a comme mandat de vous proposer des produits financiers adaptés à votre profil d'investisseur et à vos besoins.

Le REER autogéré entraîne habituellement des frais administratifs qui sont plus importants que pour un REER ordinaire ou de courtage à escompte (pour lesquels il n'y a généralement aucuns frais de gestion puisque vous n'êtes pas conseillé). Ces frais ne sont pas déductibles, car ils sont prélevés à même les actifs du régime, qui n'ont jamais été imposés.

Votre courtier doit respecter le contrat qu'il a établi avec vous. Comme dans les deux autres types de compte, tous vos placements sont regroupés dans un portefeuille unique et vous ne recevez qu'un seul relevé détaillé. Pour plus d'information, flash Retraite vous invite à consulter la capsule intitulée « Tout ce que vous devez savoir sur les REER ».

Gestion discrétionnaire

Pour certaines personnes plus fortunées, la gestion discrétionnaire permet de confier leurs avoirs à un spécialiste en placements qui prend les décisions de placements à leur place, moyennant des frais de gestion annuels. Ces derniers peuvent être fixes ou établis sur un pourcentage de la valeur du portefeuille; ils peuvent varier d'un établissement à un autre.

En conclusion, tous les types de placements sont possibles dans un REER, dans la mesure où ils sont admissibles.

Ce texte vise exclusivement fournir de l'information générale sur la sécurité financière à la retraite. Cette information peut ne pas être appropriée au lecteur qui désire obtenir une information particulière sur l'un des sujets traités et ne peut pas être une garantie de résultat. Il appartient au lecteur de faire les consultations pertinentes. Cette capsule d'information n'engage pas les partenaires fournisseurs de ces informations.

© Tous droits réservés, flash Retraite

Accessibilité