Flash Retirement

The ABCs of Trust Funds

A trust fund is an arrangement by which a person entrusts the management of property to an intermediary for his or her own benefit or for that of a third party. Trust funds involve 3 parties: the transferor, the trustee, and the beneficiary.

  • Transferor (or purchaser)

    The transferor is the person who sets up the trust. In Québec, a trust can only be set up either during the transferor's lifetime (inter vivos trust) or upon the transferor's death (testamentary trust, treated like an estate, until all property in the trust has been distributed to the heirs).
  • Trustee

    The trustee holds and manages the property placed in trust and reports to the transferor, beneficiary, and any other party involved. The trustee also ensures strict compliance with the provisions of the trust act that protect the rights of the beneficiary.
  • Beneficiary

    The beneficiary is the person designated in the trust act to receive the property, under certain conditions. Depending on the terms of the trust contract, the beneficiary may have the right, for example, to draw an income from the trust up to a certain age, then cash in the balance.
     
    For tax purposes, a trust is considered a distinct entity separate from the transferor and beneficiary. As such, it is taxed at its own rate.
     
    A testamentary trust is a legal entity separate from the estate.

Why Set Up a Trust Fund?

Trust funds are generally set up for the following reasons:

  • To split up your income in order to minimize your tax bill (for a testamentary trust. In the case of an inter vivos trust, tax savings are not usually the main objective)
  • To protect the capital placed in the fund
  • To ensure proper control over the capital and income paid out to the beneficiary
  • To protect certain categories of assets from possible legal action

Examples of Trust Funds

  • Spousal Trust

    In a true spousal trust, the spouse must receive all income from the trust during his or her lifetime and be the only person who has access to the capital.
  • Child Trust

    The transferor can bequeath property to his or her children through a trust contract that provides the children with the income once the transferor is deceased, then makes them owners of the property when they reach financial autonomy (e.g., at the age of 24).
  • Alter Ego Trust

    With an alter ego trust, the transferor can withdraw certain assets from the estate without forfeiting their use during his or her lifetime.

Other Important Factors

  • There are a number of other types of trusts, each with their own requirements. It's important to learn about them and consult a legal advisor, tax expert, and financial planner to help you use this strategy to its best advantage.
  • In some cases, setting up a trust can be expensive (legal fees, annual administration fees, tax advice, etc.). Because testamentary trusts are created only upon the transferor's death, the fees apply when the trust expires.
  • Find out about the attribution rules that determine who will have to pay taxes on the income and capital gains from the property placed in trust.
  • Writing up a trust act involves major, specific legal and tax restrictions.
  • When setting up a trust fund for a person with a disability, you can use the "preferred beneficiary" option for substantial tax savings.
  • Trusts are eligible for the same tax credits as an individual, with the exception of personal tax credits (spouse, dependent child, age, disability).
  • In some cases, property transferred into a trust is subject to the same tax treatment as a disposal of property, and the tax impact can be substantial.
  • Different tax periods apply for declaring testamentary and inter vivos trusts.
  • In some cases, there may be more than one transferor, trustee, or beneficiary.
Partners : Laurentian Bank, National Bank, CDP, CGI, Desjardins, Retraite Québec

Related capsules

This text is intended exclusively to provide general information on financial security at retirement. This information may not be appropriate to the reader who wishes to obtain particular information on one of the treated subjects and cannot be a guarantee for results. It is up to the reader to make pertinent expert advice requests. This information capsule does not bind partner providers of these information.

© All rights reserved, flash Retirement

Accessibility

Flash Retraite

Le b-a ba des fiducies

Une fiducie est un arrangement par lequel une personne confie l'administration de ses biens à un intermédiaire pour son propre bénéfice ou pour celui d'un tiers. La création d'une fiducie met en présence 3 acteurs : le constituant, le fiduciaire et le bénéficiaire.

  • Le constituant (ou disposant)

    Le constituant est à l'origine de la concrétisation d'une fiducie. Il importe de savoir qu'au Québec, une fiducie ne peut être instituée que du vivant (fiducie non testamentaire) ou qu'au décès d'une personne (fiducie testamentaire, comme dans le cas d'une succession, et ce, jusqu'à ce que tous les biens aient été distribués aux héritiers).

  • Le fiduciaire

    Sa responsabilité est de posséder et de gérer les biens de la fiducie et de rendre compte de sa gestion au constituant, au bénéficiaire ou à une autre personne concernée. Il doit également veiller à ce que les dispositions de l'acte de fiducie touchant la protection des droits du bénéficiaire soient suivies à la lettre.

  • Le bénéficiaire

    Le bénéficiaire est la personne qui, selon l'acte de fiducie, reçoit, à certaines conditions, les biens qui lui sont désignés. Selon les termes du contrat de fiducie, le bénéficiaire aura, par exemple, le droit de retirer les revenus de la fiducie jusqu'à un certain âge, puis d'encaisser le capital par la suite.

    Il importe de souligner que la fiducie représente une entité fiscale distincte du constituant ou du bénéficiaire. À ce titre, la fiducie a un taux d'imposition qui lui est propre.

    À noter qu'une fiducie testamentaire représente une personne morale distincte de la succession.

Pourquoi créer une fiducie?

La mise en place d'une fiducie vise essentiellement les objectifs suivants :

  • Fractionner les revenus, de manière à minimiser les impôts (pour une fiducie testamentaire). Pour une fiducie non testamentaire, l'économie d'impôt n'est habituellement pas le but premier de ce genre de planification.
  • Protéger le capital faisant l'objet du contrat de fiducie.
  • Contrôler adéquatement la remise au bénéficiaire des revenus et du capital mis en fiducie.
  • Protéger certaines catégories d'actifs de poursuites judiciaires éventuelles.

Exemples types de fiducies

  • Fiducie au profit du conjoint

    Pour qu'une fiducie au profit du conjoint survivant existe véritablement, celui-ci doit recevoir, de son vivant, tous les revenus de la fiducie et lui seul peut avoir accès au capital.

  • Fiducie au profit d'un enfant

    Le constituant peut léguer par acte de fiducie ses immeubles locatifs à ses enfants, de sorte qu'ils puissent en toucher les revenus à son décès et, lorsqu'ils auront acquis leur autonomie financière (à 24 ans par exemple), devenir propriétaires desdits immeubles.

  • Fiducie en faveur de soi-même

    La fiducie en faveur de soi-même permet de soustraire certains biens de la succession sans pour autant en perdre l'usage de son vivant.

Autres éléments importants à savoir

  • Il existe plusieurs autres types de fiducies comportant leurs propres exigences. Dans tous les cas, il importe de s'informer et de se faire conseiller par un conseiller juridique, un fiscaliste et un planificateur financier pour que le recours à ce genre de stratégie soit le plus profitable possible.
  • La constitution d'une fiducie comporte, dans certains cas, des coûts importants (frais de justice, frais annuels d'administration, avis fiscaux, etc.). Comme la fiducie testamentaire n'est créée qu'au décès du constituant, les frais sont reportés à l'échéance de la fiducie.
  • Il est recommandé de porter attention aux règles d'attribution déterminant qui devra acquitter les impôts sur les revenus et sur le gain en capital des biens faisant l'objet de l'acte de fiducie.
  • La rédaction d'un acte de fiducie comporte d'importantes contraintes légales et fiscales qui lui sont propres.
    Dans le cas d'une fiducie à l'usage d'une personne handicapée, il est possible de faire le choix du « bénéficiaire privilégié », ce qui peut se traduire par de substantielles économies d'impôt.
  • Une fiducie peut se prévaloir des mêmes crédits d'impôt qu'un particulier, sauf les crédits d'impôt personnels (conjoint, enfant à charge, âge, invalidité).
  • Sur le plan fiscal, un transfert de biens dans une fiducie peut équivaloir, dans certains cas, à se défaire des biens, ce qui peut avoir des incidences financières importantes.
  • La période fiscale de référence n'est pas la même pour produire la déclaration d'une fiducie testamentaire ou non testamentaire.
  • Dans certains cas, il peut y avoir plus d'un constituant, plus d'un fiduciaire et plus d'un bénéficiaire.

Ce texte vise exclusivement fournir de l'information générale sur la sécurité financière à la retraite. Cette information peut ne pas être appropriée au lecteur qui désire obtenir une information particulière sur l'un des sujets traités et ne peut pas être une garantie de résultat. Il appartient au lecteur de faire les consultations pertinentes. Cette capsule d'information n'engage pas les partenaires fournisseurs de ces informations.

© Tous droits réservés, flash Retraite

Accessibilité