Flash Retirement

Save for Retirement or Clear Your Debt?

Let's look at the cost of money...

Is it better to clear your debts or put money away? Since your net assets equal your gross assets minus your liabilities, you can improve overall financial health by working on either debt or savings.

Information about the different types of investments in the following list will help you determine your priorities, taking into account whether or not the cost of borrowing is deductible.

In the first three tables below, rules for determining priorities are suggested only for situations in which interest on the debt is nondeductible. In these cases, you must choose between paying off the debt or making a deposit in a tax-free savings account (TFSA), a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP), or a registered education savings plan (RESP).

In the fourth table, for unregistered investments, priorities are listed according to whether the interest is deductible.


1. TFSA deposits

Loans with Nondeductible Interest (e.g., home mortgage):

Using your available cash

Priority 1: Create a tax-free savings account (TFSA) cushion (about 6 months' salary).
Priority 2: Pay back your debts if the expected performance is considerably lower than the interest rate. If not, contribute to your TFSA.

RRSP contributions

Loans with Nondeductible Interest:

Using your available cash

Priority 1: Create a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) cushion (about 6 months' salary) if your TFSA contribution room is insufficient.
Priority 2: Pay back your debts if the expected performance is considerably lower than the interest rate. If not, contribute to your RRSP.
Priority 3: Make the minimum payments on your Home Buyers' Plan (HBP) withdrawal and concentrate on new RRSP contributions unless you've reached your deduction limit.

3. RESP contributions

Loans with Nondeductible Interest:

Contribute to a Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP) up to the amount eligible for the Canadian Education Savings Grant (CESG), as well as to the Québec Education Savings Incentive, especially if your child is between 10 and 17 years old. If you still have funds to invest beyond the amount eligible for the grant, contributing to an RRSP or a TFSA is the best strategy if the expected performance is higher than the interest rate.


4. Unregistered Investments


Loans with Nondeductible Interest:
Priority 1: Maximize to pay off debt.
Take advantage of additional payment on the principal or higher payment options in your contract.
Credits for student loans:
Priorité 2: Maximize to pay off debt.
Loans with Deductible Interest:
Priorité 3: Use all fixed income interest to pay off your debt (see the capsule "Leveraged Loans" and the section on investor profiles).

Save for Retirement or Clear Your Debts?

  • Loans with Nondeductible Interest

    Use any available savings (unregistered) to pay back your loan.
  • Registered Savings Plans

    Any RRSP loan that's totally reimbursed within the year is fine, but any longer and you'll have to consider the difference between the expected rate of return and the interest on the loan. A popular strategy is to contribute to your RRSP, then use your tax refund to pay down your loan. While it is a decent compromise, this strategy is not necessarily ideal. You should decide whether to pay down your loans or contribute to your TFSA or RRSP based on interest rates and expected returns. You will also need to decide whether to contribute to a TFSA or an RRSP (see the information capsule on the TFSA).

    Withdrawing from your RRSP through the HBP cuts into your investment growth, but lets you quickly improve your quality of life. The plan could also let you bypass Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) fees if you don't have the necessary 20% down payment.

    For more information, see the Flash Retirement information capsule entitled "Leveraged Loans: a Bold Strategy" on deductible interest and the inherent risks of this approach.

Take Out a New Loan?

Before taking out a loan, you'll have to think about repayment and interest rate terms. But first, be sure to draw up a thorough budget to determine how much debt you can really afford.

A number of ratios are used to calculate debt-carrying capacity, but be careful. Think of the maximums as critical limits to stay below. The best benchmark is the impact on your budget. This approach will help you avoid impulse spending and determine how much debt you can actually carry.

  • Repayment Term
    Financial planners agree that long term debts (e.g., mortgages) should be cleared while the borrower is still earning a salary.

    If you buy a home at 40 and plan to retire at 55, don't take a term of more than 15 years. Some people try to pay off their mortgages as fast as possible, whatever it takes. This is a laudable approach, but don't put yourself under too much financial strain or severely restrict your lifestyle for no reason.

    Although interest is nondeductible, remember that capital gains on your primary residence won't be taxed when you sell. Since a home usually goes up in value, the repayment term doesn't really cause a problem because the net value (your home's value minus your mortgage balance) generally rises. Your installments will be relatively linear (a fixed amount) for a number of years, while your employment income will tend to keep up with inflation.

    When you purchase your first home, avoid taking the maximum term. If you run into financial difficulties down the road, you'll appreciate the chance to extend the term when it's time to renew (e.g., from 20 to 25 years).
  • Weekly, Bimonthly, or Monthly?
    When you repay your debts, making payments weekly (or bimonthly) rather than monthly has a miraculous effect. It may seem too good to be true, but it's really just because your total annual payment is higher. If you pay back $12,000 per year at $1,000 per month or $231 per week, your mortgage will be paid off at about the same time. However, the most compelling reason to choose this method is to time your payments to coincide with your payday.
  • Car Loans—Be Practical!
    The term on your car loan should not exceed the normal life of the vehicle (which depreciates fast). A 4 year term is reasonable for a new car. Leasing a vehicle with a buyout option is similar to taking out a loan. The main difference is that your monthly installments are lower than they would be on a loan and you'll have to pay a lump sum at the end of the term if you wish to purchase the vehicle.
  • Credit Cards and Home Furnishing Loans
    Try not to stretch your payments out over more than two years. You'd be better off postponing the purchase or choosing a less expensive item if you'll have a hard time paying it off. It may be a good idea to take out a loan if you can't pay off your credit card at the end of each month, since you'll avoid the sky-high interest on your outstanding balance.

    Special promotional low interest rates can affect your repayment term. For example, it can make sense to take advantage of a no interest "Don't pay for a year" offer, but make sure the amount you'll have to pay in a year isn't higher than what you'd be able to negotiate up front. Never make this kind of purchase if it is beyond your immediate budget or you have other plans for the money.

Interest Rate Terms

Your choice of term will depend on whether you can absorb increases in interest rates. Short terms (lines of credit, 30 days, 6 months) usually carry lower rates than 5 year terms. While it's financially wise to choose a short term (and low rate), you run the risk that interest rates will rise. A 3 to 5 year term on a mortgage can provide peace of mind, especially if you're on a tight budget, like many new homeowners. You can now find even longer terms (for example, 10 or 20 years).

It's risky to select a term solely based on interest rate predictions, since even financial experts often misjudge the markets. Find out how a rise in rates would affect your budget. If the going rate is 4%, calculate whether you'd be able to afford it if the rate were to jump to 6%.

Financial institutions can help you decide. They offer products for a whole range of borrower needs. For those who are self-employed, for instance, there are ways to gradually make interest expenses deductible. Find out about "cash damming", defined in the lexicon.

If you have to take out a loan to pay back other debts, it's important to think it through with a financial planner. By continually pushing back debts, you'll end up pushing back your retirement! Debt consolidation is a good way to take stock and develop a repayment plan to get your finances back on track.

This text is intended exclusively to provide general information on financial security at retirement. This information may not be appropriate to the reader who wishes to obtain particular information on one of the treated subjects and cannot be a guarantee for results. It is up to the reader to make pertinent expert advice requests. This information capsule does not bind partner providers of these information.

© All rights reserved, flash Retirement

Accessibility

Flash Retraite

Épargner pour la retraite ou payer ses dettes?

Le vieux dicton Qui paie ses dettes s'enrichit! donne une direction...

Vaut-il mieux amortir sa dette ou épargner? La valeur nette de notre bilan personnel étant l'actif moins le passif, on peut effectivement améliorer notre portrait financier en travaillant sur l'un ou l'autre.

Voici des renseignements sur plusieurs types de placements qui vous permettront d'établir vos priorités, en considérant la possibilité de déduire ou non les frais d'emprunt.

Dans les trois premiers tableaux comparatifs ci-dessous, des règles pour établir des priorités sont proposées uniquement pour les situations où l'on est en présence d'une dette dont les intérêts ne sont pas déductibles. Dans ces cas-ci, vous hésitez entre payer une dette ou déposer une somme dans un compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI), un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) ou un régime enregistré d'épargne-études (REEE).

Dans le quatrième tableau, les priorités sont données selon que les intérêts sont déductibles ou non, en présence de placements non enregistrés.


1. Placement dans un CELI

Emprunts dont les intérêts ne sont pas déductibles (ex. : hypothèque résidentielle) :

Utilisation de liquidités additionnelles

Priorité 1 : Créer un coussin CELI (environ 6 mois de salaire).
Priorité 2 : Rembourser la dette si le rendement attendu est bien moindre que le taux d'emprunt; sinon, cotiser à un CELI.

2. Placement dans un REER

Emprunts dont les intérêts ne sont pas déductibles :

Utilisation de liquidités additionnelles

Priorité 1 : Compléter la création d'un coussin REER (environ 6 mois de salaire) si le compte CELI est insuffisant.
Priorité 2 : Rembourser la dette si le rendement attendu est bien moindre que le taux d'emprunt; sinon, cotiser à un REER.
Priorité 3 : Rembourser le Régime d'accession à la propriété (RAP) selon le minimum prévu; favoriser les nouvelles cotisations REER tant que tous les droits de déduction ne sont pas utilisés.

3. Placement dans un REEE

Emprunts dont les intérêts ne sont pas déductibles :

Contribuer au régime enregistré d'épargne-études pour la partie admissible à la subvention canadienne pour épargne-études et à l'incitatif québécois pour l'épargne-études, notamment si l'enfant a entre 10 et 17 ans. Pour la partie non subventionnée, l'épargne REER ou CELI devient la stratégie à considérer si le rendement attendu excède le taux de l'emprunt.


4. Placement non enregistré


Emprunts dont les intérêts ne sont pas déductibles :
Priorité 1 : Utiliser au maximum pour effacer la dette.
  Profiter des clauses contractuelles permettant le versement additionnel de capital ou la majoration des versements.
 
Crédits pour prêt étudiant:
Priorité 2 : Utiliser au maximum pour effacer la dette.
   
Emprunts dont les intérêts sont déductibles :
Priorité 3 : Utiliser toute partie à revenu fixe pour payer la dette (consulter la capsule sur le prêt levier et la section concernant le profil d'investisseur).

Épargne-retraite ou règlement des dettes?

  • Dans le cas d'un emprunt dont les intérêts ne sont pas déductibles

    On doit favoriser son remboursement avec toute liquidité (non enregistrée) existante. 
  • Dans le cas des régimes d'épargne enregistrés

    L'examen du rendement attendu versus le taux d'emprunt est important. Tout prêt REER totalement remboursé en un an est convenable. Au-delà de cette période, l'écart entre le rendement attendu et le taux d'emprunt est l'élément décisionnel. La stratégie populaire de cotiser au REER et d'utiliser le remboursement pour amortir la dette est un compromis justifié, mais pas nécessairement optimal. Le critère pour choisir entre le remboursement d'une dette ou la cotisation au CELI demeure la comparaison des taux, comme pour le REER. Une deuxième réflexion doit être faite concernant le CELI ou le REER (voir la capsule traitant du CELI).

    Le retrait du REER par le RAP réduit la croissance du REER, mais permet d'améliorer la qualité de vie plus rapidement. Il peut permettre d'éviter ou de réduire les frais de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) si vous n'avez pas réuni la mise de fonds nécessaire, qui représente 20 % du montant total de la résidence.

    Flash Retraite vous invite à consulter la capsule intitulée " Le prêt levier : une stratégie audacieuse " qui traite précisément de la situation où les intérêts peuvent être déductibles et des risques inhérents à cette approche audacieuse.

Contracter un nouvel emprunt? 

Avant de contracter un emprunt, plusieurs se questionnent sur le choix de la période d'amortissement et le terme du taux d'intérêt. Avant d'aborder ces deux points, mentionnons qu'un exercice budgétaire rigoureux s'impose pour déterminer notre réelle capacité d'emprunt.

Plusieurs ratios existent pour évaluer la capacité d'emprunt, mais il faut être vigilant : les maximums définis doivent être perçus comme des points limites et critiques. Ils sont donc à éviter. L'analyse de l'effet sur le budget demeure encore le meilleur point de repère. Cette réflexion permet d'éviter des achats compulsifs et surtout, de connaître notre réelle capacité d'emprunt.

  • Période d'amortissement

    Les planificateurs financiers sont unanimes : l'amortissement des dettes à long terme (ex. : achat d'une maison) devrait se terminer pendant la période où l'emprunteur reçoit un salaire.

    Ainsi, un particulier qui s'achète une maison à 40 ans devrait prévoir un terme n'excédant pas 15 ans s'il compte prendre sa retraite à 55 ans. Certains veulent à tout prix rembourser très rapidement leur hypothèque. Cette façon de faire est louable, mais ne devrait jamais être effectuée si elle soumet inutilement la personne à des pressions financières énormes, provoquant des restrictions sévères sur ses habitudes de vie.

    Bien que les intérêts ne soient pas déductibles, il faut se rappeler que le gain en capital sur une résidence principale n'est pas imposable à la vente. Puisque celle-ci prend habituellement de la valeur, l'étalement ne cause pas trop de problème, car la valeur nette (valeur de la résidence, moins le solde de l'emprunt) augmente généralement. De plus, l'amortissement sera assez linéaire (montants fixes sans augmentation sur une longue période) pendant plusieurs années, tandis que les revenus d'emploi ont tendance à suivre l'inflation.

    Finalement, il est sage de ne pas prendre la période maximale d'amortissement dès l'achat de sa première maison. Cette possibilité de pouvoir rallonger la période au renouvellement (ex. : passer de 20 à 25 ans) sera appréciée en cas de problèmes financiers.
  • Des versements hebdomadaires, bimensuels ou mensuels?

    Lorsqu'on parle du terme d'amortissement de la dette, il faut parler du " pseudo-miracle " que produit le paiement à la semaine (ou aux deux semaines) au lieu de versements mensuels. L'apparence du " coup du siècle " provient simplement du fait que le versement total annuel est plus élevé. Ainsi, si vous remboursez un total annuel de 12 000 $, soit 1 000 $ par mois ou 231 $ par semaine, la date de fin d'amortissement de votre hypothèque sera sensiblement la même. Cette méthode de versement devrait davantage être choisie pour synchroniser les paiements avec ses revenus d'emploi.
  • Le prêt auto : faire preuve de logique!

    Un prêt auto ne doit pas excéder la période de vie normale de l'automobile (à cause de la dépréciation rapide). Un prêt amorti sur 4 ans serait ainsi très raisonnable pour une voiture neuve. Sans en faire une analyse exhaustive, la location automobile, avec option d'achat, est en soi similaire à un prêt. La principale distinction est que les mensualités ne sont pas suffisantes (étant inférieures à celles de l'emprunt) et une somme finale est exigée à la fin du terme pour acquérir l'automobile.
  • Le remboursement des cartes de crédit et des prêts pour le mobilier et les accessoires de maison

    Il est prudent de ne pas étaler le remboursement sur plus d'un à deux ans. Mieux vaut reporter l'achat à plus tard ou faire un choix moins dispendieux si le remboursement est trop contraignant. Un emprunt est également utile si on ne parvient pas à liquider un solde de carte de crédit à la fin de chaque mois. On évite ainsi les frais exorbitants exigés sur les soldes impayés.

    Un bas taux d'intérêt offert lors d'une campagne promotionnelle pourrait influencer la durée de l'amortissement. Par exemple, les offres " Payez dans un an " donnent un exemple où le report, souvent sans intérêt, peut être justifié. Dans cette situation, il faut s'assurer que le coût demandé dans un an n'est pas plus élevé que celui qui résulte d'une négociation serrée. On ne devrait jamais faire ce genre d'achat si le budget actuel ne permet pas d'effectuer les paiements immédiatement ou si l'argent disponible est destiné à un autre achat.

Le terme du taux d'emprunt

Le choix dépend de la capacité budgétaire à absorber des hausses de taux d'intérêt. En optant pour un terme court, par exemple dans le cas d'une marge de crédit ou d'un terme de 30 jours à 6 mois, on profite habituellement d'un taux plus bas que celui offert pour un terme de 5 ans. Sur le plan financier, il est avantageux de favoriser un terme court (taux bas), mais il existe un risque de fluctuation. Un terme de 3 à 5 ans pour une résidence offre une grande tranquillité d'esprit, spécialement si le budget est serré, comme c'est souvent le cas des jeunes ménages. Il est maintenant possible de trouver des termes de longue durée (ex. : 10 ans, 20 ans).

Il est très hasardeux de choisir son terme sur l'unique base d'une perception de la direction des taux d'intérêt. Puisque même les experts du domaine font souvent fausse route, il est toujours prudent de vérifier l'effet d'une hausse de taux sur notre budget. Si les taux courants sont de 4 %, il est sage de vérifier si notre budget nous permettrait de faire les paiements exigés si les taux d'intérêt grimpaient à 6 %.

Les établissements financiers peuvent vous accompagner dans vos réflexions. Plusieurs produits ont été conçus pour répondre à diverses situations d'emprunt. D'ailleurs, les travailleurs autonomes peuvent trouver aujourd'hui des produits qui pourraient permettre de rendre leurs frais d'intérêts graduellement déductibles. Informez-vous sur le principe de la " mise à part de l'argent " défini dans le lexique.

Toutefois, si vous devez emprunter pour rembourser d'autres prêts, il est temps de discuter sérieusement avec un planificateur financier. Reporter constamment le paiement de ses dettes revient à retarder l'heure de sa retraite! La consolidation des dettes est une bonne façon de faire le point et de se fixer un plan de remboursement pour reprendre ses finances en main.

Ce texte vise exclusivement fournir de l'information générale sur la sécurité financière à la retraite. Cette information peut ne pas être appropriée au lecteur qui désire obtenir une information particulière sur l'un des sujets traités et ne peut pas être une garantie de résultat. Il appartient au lecteur de faire les consultations pertinentes. Cette capsule d'information n'engage pas les partenaires fournisseurs de ces informations.

© Tous droits réservés, flash Retraite

Accessibilité