Payment of the disability pension under the Québec Pension Plan

Amount of the pension

For 2019, the maximum monthly amount can reach $1362.27 a month. That amount consists of:

  • a fixed amount of $496.33, which is the same for all beneficiaries
  • an amount that varies on the basis of the employment earnings entered under your name under the Québec Pension Plan

When payment begins

Payment of your pension will normally begin in the fourth month following the one in which Retraite Québec deems you to have become disabled. This is called the waiting period.

However, if you are receiving an unreduced income replacement indemnity from the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), a disability pension can be paid as of the month following the one in which payment of the indemnity ends.

In certain cases and under certain conditions, you could be eligible for a retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan while your application for disability benefits is being processed.

In addition, if we deem you to be disabled and you choose to receive a disability pension, you must cancel your retirement pension and repay all amounts you have received since your first retirement pension payment.


An example of a waiting period
January February March April May
Retraite Québec deems you to have become disabled as of January. The waiting period begins as of February. 2nd month of the waiting period 3rd month of the waiting period The waiting period ends. Payment of your pension begins.

The disability pension is taxable

At the beginning of each year, Retraite Québec sends beneficiaries an RL-2 slip that they must enclose with their income tax return. The slip shows the amount that they received during the preceding year as a disability pension beneficiary.

Income tax deductions from a Pension under the Québec Pension Plan 

You can ask Retraite Québec to deduct income tax at source by telling us the amount to be deducted.

Payment frequency

Disability payments are made on the first working day of each month, by direct deposit or by cheque.

Note that...
  • If you are receiving an income replacement indemnity from the Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), certain rules apply to pension payment. To find out more, call Retraite Québec.
  • If you are receiving disability benefits from an insurance company, those benefits may be reduced by the amount of the disability pension paid by Retraite Québec. Contact your insurance company for more information.
  • Receiving benefits from another country will in no way reduce the amount of your disability pension under the Québec Pension Plan. However, pensions from some countries may be reduced if you are receiving a pension under the Québec Pension Plan.

When payments end

Your disability pension will automatically be replaced by a retirement pension when you reach age 65, which is the normal retirement age. You do not have to notify Retraite Québec or take any additional steps. The amount of your retirement pension will be reduced to take into account the years during which you received a disability pension. The reduction also depends on your year of birth.

If you were born before 1 January 1954

The amount of your retirement pension will be reduced by 6% for each year (0.5% per month) in which you received a disability pension between the ages of 60 and 65.

If you were born in or after 1954

Depending on the amount of your retirement pension and the year in which you begin receiving it, your pension will be reduced by 6% to 7.2% for each year (0.5% to 0.6% per month) in which you received a disability pension between the ages of 60 and 65.

Note that...

If you return to work or your employment earnings increase, payment of your disability pension could be terminated.


What you need to know

  • Top of page

Paiement de la rente d'invalidité du Régime de rentes du Québec 

Le montant de la rente

Pour l'année 2017, le versement mensuel peut atteindre 1 313,63 $ par mois. Cette somme est composée :

  • d'un montant de 478,00 $ identique pour tous les bénéficiaires
  • d'un montant qui varie en fonction des revenus de travail inscrits au nom du cotisant au Régime de rentes du Québec

Le début du paiement

Le paiement de votre rente commencera normalement le 4e mois suivant celui où nous considérerons que vous êtes devenu invalide. C'est ce qu'on appelle le délai de carence.

Toutefois, si vous aviez droit à la pleine indemnité de remplacement du revenu de la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail, la rente d'invalidité pourrait être versée le mois suivant celui où cette indemnité a cessé.

Dans certains cas et sous certaines conditions, vous pourriez être admissible à une rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec pendant le traitement de votre demande de prestations pour invalidité.

Aussi, si nous vous reconnaissons invalide et que vous choisissez de recevoir la rente d'invalidité, vous devrez annuler votre rente de retraite et rembourser les sommes reçues depuis le premier versement de celle-ci.


Délai de carence : un exemple pour y voir plus clair
Janvier Février Mars Avril Mai
Retraite Québec considère que la personne est devenue invalide à partir du mois de janvier. C'est à partir du mois de février que le délai de carence commence. 2e mois du délai de carence. 3e mois du délai de carence. Le délai de carence est terminé. Le paiement de la rente commence.

La rente d'invalidité est imposable

Au début de chaque année, Retraite Québec envoie aux bénéficiaires un relevé d'impôt qu'ils doivent joindre à leur déclaration de revenus. Ce relevé indique la somme qu'ils ont reçue à titre de bénéficiaire d'une rente pour l'année précédente.

Des retenues d'impôt sur une rente du Régime de rentes du Québec? 

Il suffit de nous demander de retenir l'impôt à la source et d'indiquer le montant qui doit être prélevé.

La fréquence des versements de votre rente

Votre rente sera versée le dernier jour ouvrable de chaque mois.

Notez que...
  • Si vous recevez une indemnité de remplacement du revenu de la Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), des règles particulières s'appliquent au paiement de la rente. Pour en savoir plus, téléphonez-nous.
  • Si vous recevez une indemnité d'une compagnie d'assurance, il est possible que votre indemnité soit réduite du montant de la rente d'invalidité de Retraite Québec. Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, communiquez avec votre compagnie d'assurance.
  • Une prestation payée par un autre pays ne peut en aucune façon réduire le montant de votre rente d'invalidité du Régime de rentes du Québec. Par contre, votre rente d'un autre pays peut être diminuée si vous recevez une rente du Régime de rentes du Québec.

La fin du versement de votre rente

Votre rente d'invalidité sera automatiquement remplacée par une rente de retraite quand vous atteindrez 65 ans, âge normal de la retraite. Vous n'avez donc pas à nous aviser ni à faire de démarche en ce sens. Le montant de votre rente de retraite sera réduit pour tenir compte des années au cours desquelles vous aurez reçu une rente d'invalidité. Cette réduction dépendra aussi de votre année de naissance.

Si vous êtes né avant le 1er janvier 1954

Le montant de votre rente de retraite sera réduit de 6 % pour chaque année (0,5 % par mois) où vous aurez reçu une rente d'invalidité lorsque vous étiez âgé de 60 à 65 ans.

Si vous êtes né en 1954 ou après

Selon l'année où vous commencerez à recevoir votre rente de retraite et son montant, celui-ci sera réduit de 6 à 7,2 % pour chaque année (0,5 à 0,6 % par mois) où vous aurez reçu une rente d'invalidité lorsque vous étiez âgé de 60 à 65 ans.

Notez que...


Un retour au travail ou une augmentation de revenus de travail pourrait avoir des répercussions sur votre rente d'invalidité. Le paiement de la rente d'invalidité pourrait alors se terminer avant.


Ce que vous devez savoir

  • Haut de la page
Inscrivez-vous au dépôt direct!