Adjusting benefits after partition

Important Notice

Please consult Newsletter number 32, Amendments to the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans effective 4 January 2018, as well as division V – Transfer of benefits between spouses This link will open in a new window. of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, to find out the rules for partition applicable to spouses in a civil union, the changes to the payment methods applicable to the former spouse, and the calculation of member benefits after partition.

After partition, the plan administrator must adjust the member's benefits in the plan to take into account the share transferred to the former spouse.

In a defined contribution plan

The member's account will be adjusted downward by the amount transferred to the former spouse.

In a simplified pension plan

Locked-in and not locked-in accounts will be adjusted downward proportionally.

In a defined benefit plan

Case number 1 - The member is not retired

The plan administrator will calculate a negative pension. The member's benefits will continue to accumulate as they did before partition. At retirement, the pension will be reduced by the amount of the negative pension.

Example

A member transferred 19 000 $ from his pension plan to his former spouse. The amount was estimated to correspond to a negative annual pension of 5 950 $, payable at age 65.

From his plan, he is entitled to a pension equal to 2% of his salary x the number of years of service.

At age 65, he has a salary of 60 000 $ and has accumulated 35 years of service. Therefore, his pension is 2% × 60 000 $ × 35 years of service = 42 000 $.

At age 65, he is entitled to an annual pension of 42 000 $, from which the negative of pension of 5 950 $ will be subtracted. He will receive 36 050 $ a year.

Case number 2 - The member is retired

The member's pension will be adjusted downward in proportion to the amount transferred to the former spouse from the value of the pension at the time of partition.

Example

The member receives a monthly pension of 1 421 $. On 15 April 2001, he files an application for divorce and agrees to give his former spouse half of the value of the benefits accumulated in his plan on that date. The value is 200 000 $.

On 15 October 2001, 103 000 $ was transferred to the former spouse, that is, the expected 100 000 $ plus 3 000 $ in interest covering the 6 months between the valuation date and the partition date.

At the time of partition, on 15 October 2001, the value of the member's pension is 197 371 $. His pension will be 679 $, that is:

1421 $ − (1421 $ × 103 000 / 197 371) $ = 679 $

The decrease of the pension by more than half is due to the lapse of time between the valuation date for the purposes of partition (the date on which they stopped living together or the date of the institution of the action) and the date on which partition was carried out. During that period, the value of the retirement pension decreased, and interest was added to the amount for the former spouse.

For the pension to be decreased by just half, the money would have had to be paid to the former spouse on the day of the valuation. Since partition was carried out later, the pension was reduced by more than half. The more time there is between valuation and partition, the more the pension decreases for the member.

Other adjustments in the case of the breakdown of a conjugal union during retirement

If the member had a spouse at the time of retirement, he would therefore have been notified that after his death, his spouse would be entitled to a pension until her own death (a joint and survivor's pension).

Important consideration

At retirement, the spouse could have renounced entitlement to a joint and survivor's pension. In addition, in certain plans, the person who is the spouse at the time of the member's death is entitled to the pension. In such a case, the following does not apply.

The spouse loses entitlement to a pension if the conjugal relationship breaks down during retirement. Two alternatives are possible:

  1. Maintaining the joint and survivor's rights

    The member can give written notice to the administrator that he or she wants his or her former spouse's pension maintained.

  2. Reinstatement of a pension

It is possible that the promised amount of the member's pension will be decreased at retirement to finance the spouse's pension. It is also possible that the other characteristics of the pension will be different from those of a retiree who is single.

If the member does not ask the administrator to maintain the former spouse's pension, the member can receive the pension to which he or she would have been entitled if the member had not had a spouse at retirement. This is called reinstatement of a pension.

If partition is carried out on benefits in the pension plan after the conjugal breakdown and the member has not demanded that the former spouse's pension be maintained, the plan administrator must reinstate the pension and calculate the new amount of the pension to take into account the amount transferred to the former spouse.

However, if partition is not carried out on plan benefits and the member wants to reinstate his or her pension, the member must apply to the plan administrator.

Example

If the member had not had a spouse, he would have been entitled to an annual guaranteed pension of 20 000 $ for 10 years (that is, if he died less than 10 years after retiring, his beneficiary or heirs would receive the payments remaining in the 10-year period).

Since he is married, he instead receives an annual pension of 18 000 $, with no guarantee. It is a joint and survivor pension, that is, upon his death, his spouse will receive a life income of 10 800 $ a year (60% of the pension).

The member divorces 4 years after retiring and partition is not carried out on his pension plan. He asks the administrator to reinstate his pension. He will receive an annual pension of 20 000 $. In addition, his plan will guarantee that his pension will be paid for at least 6 years.

To find out more...

Other useful link

Practical corner

The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.
Top of page

Rajustement des droits après le partage

Après le partage, l'administrateur du régime doit ajuster les droits du participant dans son régime pour tenir compte de la partie remise à son ex-conjoint.

Dans un régime à cotisation déterminée

Le compte du participant sera réduit de la somme remise à l'ex-conjoint.

Dans un régime de retraite simplifié

Les comptes immobilisé et non immobilisé seront réduits proportionnellement.

Dans un régime à prestations déterminées

Cas no 1 - Le participant n'est pas à la retraite

L'administrateur du régime calculera une rente négative. Les droits du participant continueront de s'accumuler comme avant le partage. À la retraite, on diminuera sa rente du montant de cette rente négative.

Exemple

Un participant a remis à son ex-conjointe 19 000 $ de son régime de retraite. On a estimé que cette somme correspond à une rente négative annuelle de 5 950 $, payable à compter de 65 ans.

Son régime lui donne droit à une rente égale à 2 % de son salaire × le nombre de ses années de service.

À 65 ans, il a un salaire de 60 000 $ et cumulé 35 années de service. Sa rente est donc de 2 % × 60 000 $ × 35 ans de service = 42 000 $.

À 65 ans, il a donc droit à une rente annuelle de 42 000 $ dont on soustraira la rente négative de 5 950 $. Il recevra 36 050 $ par année.

Cas no 2 - Le participant est à la retraite

La rente du participant sera diminuée en proportion de la somme remise à l'ex-conjoint sur la valeur de sa rente au moment du partage.

Exemple

Le participant reçoit une rente mensuelle de 1 421 $. Le 15 avril 2001, il dépose une demande de divorce et convient de donner à son ex-conjointe la moitié de la valeur des droits accumulés dans son régime à cette date. Cette valeur est de 200 000 $.

Le 15 octobre 2001, une somme de 103 000 $ est remise à l'ex-conjointe, soit les 100 000 $ prévus plus 3 000 $ d'intérêts couvrant les 6 mois écoulés entre la date de l'évaluation et celle du partage.

Au moment du partage, le 15 octobre 2001, la valeur de la rente du participant est de 197 371 $. Sa rente sera maintenant de 679 $ soit :

1 421$ − (1421 $ × 103 000 / 197 371) $ = 679 $

Cette diminution de plus de la moitié de la rente est due au fait qu'il y a un délai entre la date d'évaluation aux fins du partage (fin de vie commune ou date d'introduction de l'instance) et la date du partage. Pendant cette période, la valeur de la rente du retraité diminue et des intérêts sont ajoutés à la somme demandée.

Pour que la rente diminue effectivement de moitié, il faudrait que l'argent soit versé à l'ex-conjoint le jour de l'évaluation. Puisque le partage se fait plus tard, la rente aura alors diminué de plus de la moitié. Et plus il s'écoulera de temps entre l'évaluation et le partage, plus la rente diminuera.

Autres rajustements dans le cas d'une rupture de l'union pendant la retraite

Si le participant avait un conjoint au moment où il a pris sa retraite, il a alors été prévu qu'à compter de son décès son conjoint aura droit à une rente jusqu'à son propre décès (une rente réversible).

Mise en garde

Au moment de la retraite, le conjoint a pu renoncer au droit de recevoir une rente réversible. De plus, dans certains régimes, c'est celui qui est le conjoint du participant au moment de son décès qui a droit à cette rente. Dans ce cas, ce qui suit ne s'applique pas.

Le conjoint perd son droit de recevoir une rente s'il y a rupture pendant la retraite. Deux alternatives sont alors possibles :

  1. Le maintien de la réversibilité

    Le participant peut aviser, par écrit, l'administrateur du régime qu'il désire que la rente de son ex-conjoint soit maintenue.

  2. Le rétablissement de la rente


    Il est possible qu'on ait diminué le montant de la rente promise au moment de la retraite pour financer celle du conjoint. Il est également possible que les autres caractéristiques de la rente soit différentes par rapport à celles de la rente d'un retraité célibataire.

    Si le participant ne demande pas à l'administrateur de maintenir la rente de son ex-conjoint, ce participant peut recevoir la rente à laquelle il aurait eu droit s'il n'avait pas eu de conjoint au moment de sa retraite. C'est ce qu'on appelle le « rétablissement de la rente ».

    Si les droits dans le régime de retraite sont partagés à la suite de la rupture et que le participant n'a pas demandé le maintien de la rente de son ex-conjoint, l'administrateur du régime rétablira la rente et calculera le nouveau montant de cette rente pour tenir compte de la somme remise à son ex-conjoint.

    Toutefois, si les droits dans le régime de retraite ne sont pas partagés et que le participant désire rétablir sa rente, il doit le demander à l'administrateur de son régime.

  3. Exemple

    Si le participant n'avait pas eu de conjointe, il aurait eu droit à une rente annuelle de 20 000 $ garantie pendant 10 ans (c'est-à-dire que s'il décédait moins de 10 ans après le début de sa retraite, son bénéficiaire ou ses héritiers recevrait les versements restants pour compléter 10 ans de paiement).

    Comme il est marié, il reçoit plutôt une rente annuelle de 18 000 $, sans garantie. Cette rente est réversible, c'est-à-dire qu'à son décès, sa conjointe recevra une rente viagère de 10 800 $ par année (60 % de sa rente).

    Le participant divorce 4 ans après le début de sa retraite et il ne partage pas son régime de retraite. Il demande à l'administrateur de rétablir sa rente. Il recevra une rente annuelle de 20 000 $. De plus, son régime garantira que cette rente sera payée pendant au moins 6 ans.

Pour en savoir plus...

Autre lien utile

  • Haut de la page

Coin pratique