Laws and regulations applicable to supplemental pension plans

Supplemental pension plans (SPP) are subject to the Income Tax ActThis link will open in a new window., which is monitored by the Canada Revenue Agency This link will open in a new window..

Many SPPs are also subject to a provincial or federal pension plan act and are therefore monitored by another agency.

SPPs monitored by Retraite Québec

These SPPs include plans offered by employers in the private and municipal sectors, and certain plans in the parapublic sector, whose activities fall under provincial jurisdiction. They are subject to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window.and the regulations concerning supplemental pension plans.

SPPs administered by Retraite Québec

These SPPs are pension plans for public or parapublic organizations in Québec. The plans apply to employees in the Québec public service, the health and education systems, the Sûreté du Québec, peace officers, elected municipal officials, judges of the Court of Québec, etc. Each of the plans is subject to a Québec law specific to the employees affected. For more details on the subject, contact Retraite Québec.

SPPs monitored by a supervisory agency in Canada having a similar mandate to that of Retraite Québec

Where a pension plan has workers whose rights are subject to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act and workers whose rights are subject to another provincial or federal law, it may be under the supervision of another agency having a similar mandate to that of Retraite Québec. In such a case, the other agency must ensure, on behalf of Retraite Québec, that the rights of Québec workers are in conformity with the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. That agency takes its mandate from an agreement entered into between different government authorities that specifies how various pension plan legislation must be applied.

Below is the list of the agencies having a similar mandate to that of Retraite Québec as well as their respective laws.


Provinces, Territories or Government  Applicable Laws Agencies
Alberta Employment Pension Plans ActThis link will open in a new window. Alberta Treasury Board and Finance This link will open in a new window.
British Columbia Pension Benefits Standards ActThis link will open in a new window. BC Financial Services Authority This link will open in a new window.
Federal, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985This link will open in a new window. Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada This link will open in a new window.
Manitoba The Pension Benefits Act This link will open in a new window. Manitoba Finance – Pension Commission  This link will open in a new window.
New Brunswick Pension Benefits ActThis link will open in a new window. Financial and Consumer Services Commission This link will open in a new window.
Newfoundland and Labrador Pension Benefits Act, 1997This link will open in a new window. Service NL This link will open in a new window.
Nova Scotia Pension Benefits Act This link will open in a new window. Finance and Treasury Board This link will open in a new window.
Ontario Pension Benefits ActThis link will open in a new window. Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) This link will open in a new window.
Québec Supplemental Pension Plans Act Retraite Québec
Saskatchewan The Pension Benefits Act, 1992This link will open in a new window.

Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority :

SPPs in the private sector under federal jurisdiction

These SPPs are plans from private organizations whose activities fall under federal jurisdiction. Those plans apply to employees in banks, interprovincial transport or telecommunications companies, etc. They are subject to the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985This link will open in a new window. and are monitored by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions This link will open in a new window..

SPPs in the public sector under federal jurisdiction

These plans apply to employees in the federal public service, the Canadian Forces, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, etc. Each of the plans is subject to a specific federal law and administered by a specific organization according to the category of employees affected. For more details on the subject, contact the Government of Canada This link will open in a new window..

To find out more...

JurisprudenceDoctrine

Other useful link

Flash Retirement

The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.
Top of page

Lois et règlements applicables à un régime complémentaire de retraite

Les régimes complémentaires de retraite (RCR) sont assujettis à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenuCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.. L'organisme de surveillance de cette loi est l'Agence du revenu du Canada Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

De nombreux RCR sont également assujettis à une loi provinciale ou fédérale en matière de régimes de retraite. Ils sont alors surveillés ou administrés par un autre organisme.

RCR surveillés par Retraite Québec

Ces régimes de retraite regroupent principalement les régimes d'employeurs des secteurs privé et municipal, et certains régimes du secteur parapublic, dont les activités sont de compétence provinciale. Ils sont assujettis à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. et aux règlements concernant les régimes complémentaires de retraite.

RCR administrés par Retraite Québec

Ces RCR sont des régimes de retraite d'organismes public ou parapublic québécois. Ils s'adressent aux employés de la fonction publique québécoise, aux employés des réseaux de l'éducation et de la santé, aux employés de la Sûreté du Québec, aux agents de la paix, aux élus municipaux, aux juges de la Cour du Québec, etc.

Chacun des régimes est assujetti à une loi provinciale particulière selon la catégorie d'employés visés.Pour plus de détails au sujet de ces régimes, communiquez avec Retraite Québec.

RCR supervisés par une autorité de surveillance au Canada qui a un mandat semblable à celui de Retraite Québec

Lorsqu'un régime de retraite compte à la fois des travailleurs dont les droits sont assujettis à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite et des travailleurs dont les droits sont assujettis à une autre loi provinciale ou à la loi fédérale, il est possible que celui-ci soit sous la surveillance d'un organisme ayant un mandat semblable à celui de Retraite Québec. Dans un tel cas, cet organisme doit s'assurer, au nom de Retraite Québec, que les droits des travailleurs québécois sont conformes à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite. Cet organisme tient son mandat d'une entente conclue entre les différentes autorités gouvernementales qui vient préciser de quelle manière les différentes lois sur les régimes de retraite doivent être appliquées.

Voici la liste de ces organismes qui ont un mandat semblable à celui de Retraite Québec ainsi que leurs lois particulières.

Province, territoire ou gouvernement Loi applicable Organisme responsable
Alberta Employment Pension Plans ActCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. Alberta Treasury Board and Finance Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (en anglais seulement)
Colombie-Britannique Pension Benefits Standards ActCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. BC Financial Services Authority  Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (en anglais seulement)
Fédéral, Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Manitoba Loi sur les prestations de pension Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. Finances Manitoba – Commission manitobaine des pensions Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Nouveau-Brunswick Loi sur les prestations de pension Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. Commission des services financiers et des services aux consommateurs Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Nouvelle-Écosse Pension Benefits ActCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. Finance and Treasury BoardCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (en anglais seulement)
Ontario Loi sur les régimes de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. Autorité ontarienne de règlementation des services financiers (ARSF) Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Québec Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Retraite Québec
Saskatchewan The Pension Benefits Act, 1992Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority :

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador Pension Benefits Act, 1997Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. Service NLCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (en anglais seulement)

RCR du secteur privé fédéral

Ces RCR sont des régimes d'organismes privés dont les activités sont de compétence fédérale.

Ils s'adressent aux employés des banques, des entreprises de transport interprovincial ou de télécommunications, etc. Ils sont assujettis à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pensionCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. et sont sous la surveillance du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

RCR du secteur public fédéral

Ces régimes s'adressent aux employés de la fonction publique fédérale, des Forces canadiennes, de la Gendarmerie Royale du Canada, etc. Chacun de ces régimes est assujetti à une loi fédérale particulière et est administré par un organisme spécifique selon la catégorie d'employés visés. Pour plus de détails à ce sujets, communiquez avec le gouvernement du Canada Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Pour en savoir plus...

Autre lien utile

Flash Retraite

Haut de la page