Régie des rentes du Québec

Important considerations when setting up a defined contribution or a defined benefit pension plan

This section presents only the main points to consider. The Supplemental Pension Plans Act remains the best tool in guiding your actions and decisions.


Important points to consider

Registering a plan

A certified copy of the plan text must accompany the application for registration of a pension plan. This application has useful information for registering a new plan with the Régie des rentes du Québec.

A certified copy is one that bears the declaration of a qualified person that the copy is identical to the original. The copy can be a photocopy of the original, but it must have an original signature following the declaration. A seal is not necessary.


Members outside Québec

If the plan has members that work in another Canadian province, their benefits in the plan must be established according to the provisions of the law respecting pension plans in effect in the province where they are employed.


Multi-employer plans

If more than one employer participates in a plan, the names of all the employers must be indicated in the plan provisions.


Funding

A pension plan must be subject to an actuarial valuation on the date on which it becomes effective, unless it is an insured plan or the plan has only:

  • provisions for defined contributions
  • provisions for defined contributions and benefits guaranteed by an insurer.

Plan administration

A pension plan normally must be administered by a pension committee (the plan administrator) as of the date on which it is registered. However, until it is registered, the plan must be administered by the employer if the pension committee has not yet been formed.


Plans with fewer than 26 members and beneficiaries

The plan text may provide for plan administration to be transferred to the employer or a limited pension committee (their obligations are still the same as those incumbent on an administrator of a large plan).


Other points to be aware of

  •  Share
  • Top of the page 
The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Mises en garde relatives à la mise en place d'un régime à cotisation déterminée ou à prestations déterminées

Cette section ne présente que les principales mises en garde. La Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite demeure le principal outil devant guider vos gestes et vos décisions.

Points importants à considérer

Enregistrement d'un régime

Une copie certifiée conforme du texte du régime doit accompagner la demande d'enregistrement d'un régime de retraite. Cette demande contient des renseignements utiles pour faire enregistrer un nouveau régime auprès de Retraite Québec.

Une copie est certifiée conforme lorsqu'une personne habilitée a signé sur cette copie une déclaration établissant qu'elle est conforme, c'est-à-dire identique à l'original. Il peut s'agir d'une photocopie du document original, mais celle-ci doit porter une signature originale à la suite de la déclaration. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'y apposer un sceau.

Participants hors Québec

Si le régime compte des participants qui travaillent dans une autre province canadienne, leurs droits au titre du régime doivent être établis selon les règles prévues par la loi sur les régimes de retraite en vigueur de leur province d'emploi.

Régime interentreprises

Si plus d'un employeur participe au régime, le nom de tous les employeurs doit être indiqué dans les dispositions du régime.

Financement

Un régime de retraite doit faire l'objet d'une évaluation actuarielle à la date de son entrée en vigueur, sauf s'il s'agit d'un régime garanti par un assureur ou d'un régime qui ne comporte que :

  • des dispositions à cotisation déterminée
  • des dispositions à cotisation déterminée et des droits garantis par un assureur

Administration du régime

Un régime de retraite doit normalement être administré par un comité de retraite (l'administrateur du régime) à compter de son enregistrement. Cependant, jusqu'à ce qu'il soit enregistré, le régime peut être administré par l'employeur si le comité de retraite n'est pas formé.

Régime de moins de 26 participants et bénéficiaires

Le texte du régime peut prévoir que l'administration du régime peut être confiée à l'employeur ou à un comité de retraite restreint (leurs obligations sont cependant les mêmes que celles qui incombent à l'administrateur d'un régime de grande taille).

Autres mises en garde

  • Haut de la page