Actuarial assumptions and methods

The following instructions are designed to help actuaries choose actuarial assumptions and methods for determining the value of pension plan commitments on a going concern basis. Retraite Québec may request explanations from actuaries whose assumptions deviate from the instructions described below.

Notethat...

As part of its supervisory mandate, Retraite Québec may also require any information that it deems necessary to verify that the actuarial valuation report complies with all legislative requirements.


Interest rate assumption

Maximum assumption

Retraite Québec has analyzed the statistics regarding the interest rate assumptions used in actuarial valuation reports as at 31 December 2017, as well as the most recent return forecasts for the coming years. Based on this analysis, Retraite Québec expects the interest rate assumption of actuarial valuations carried out after 30 December 2018 to be established using a best estimate of the rate of return on investments (including the effects of rebalancing and diversification) that does not exceed 6%. This limit applies to plans with investment policies that provide for 50% of plan investments to be fixed-income investments, as defined in the first paragraph of section 60.8 of the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window..

For other investment policies, the actuary will establish the interest rate assumption of the actuarial valuation by taking into account the 6% limit as well as the risk premium limit presented below.

Risk premium

According to the educational note concerning the determination of best estimate discount rates, for publicly-traded Canadian securities, a reasonable risk premium should be between 3% and 5% over the yield on long-term Government of Canada bonds. As a result, Retraite Québec expects actuaries to stay within that range when determining the best estimate for the rate of return on investments, and that risk premiums for other asset categories be determined in a manner consistent with that range.

Best estimate and margins for adverse deviations

According to the Canadian Institute of Actuaries' Standards of Practice This link will open in a new window., for valuations on a going concern basis, actuaries must choose best-estimate assumptions that have been modified to include margins for adverse deviations to the extent required by legislation or by the terms of an appropriate engagement.

The Standards of Practice define a best-estimate assumption as an unbiased assumption. It must not be conservative or non-conservative. In cases where a stochastic model is used to determine the best estimate of the expected rate of return, Retraite Québec considers the median of the distribution of returns on investments to be the best estimate.

In addition, Retraite Québec expects actuarial valuations to include a margin for adverse deviations when the interest rate assumption on a going concern basis is established for a pension plan or the component of a plan where

  • no stabilization contribution is required by law

    OR
  • the following 3 conditions are met:
    1. a stabilization provision is calculated
    2. the investment policy is amended after the date of the valuation to increase the target for variable-yield investments
    3. the actuary takes the change into account in the valuation.

In the absence of such a margin, Retraite Québec could require that the valuation be revised or that a complete actuarial valuation be produced at the end of the fiscal year following the valuation date.

Methodology

In an actuarial valuation report, actuaries must describe the methodology used to establish the interest rate assumption. The description must take into account the following:

  • best estimate rate of return on investments
  • the adjustment stemming from the zero return of letters of credit
  • rebalancing and diversification
  • value added returns from active management
  • investment management fees
  • plan administration fees
  • rounding of figures
  • margin for adverse deviations.

Letters of credit

In the case of a plan whose assets include letters of credit, the best-estimate assumption on the rate of return on investments must be adjusted to take into account the letters of credit's zero return. The impact of the adjustment must be equal to the proportion that corresponds to the letters of credit included in the plan assets on the plan's liabilities on a going concern basis.

Nevertheless, Retraite Québec will accept an adjustment that only applies for periods in which the letters of credit are expected to be renewed, in accordance with the funding policy. In such cases, the interest rate assumption would be select and ultimate.

Active investment management

According to the educational note concerning the determination of best estimate discount rates, it is generally reasonable to assume that active management will generate returns equivalent to the additional investment management fees associated with active management over those for passive management. Retraite Québec therefore expects the actuary to limit the added value of active management that is included in the interest assumptions to the fees incurred for active management.

Fees

The plan's administration fees and the pension fund's management fees must be listed separately and reflect the advice provided in the educational note concerning expenses in funding valuations.

Rounding of figures

Actuaries can, in a reasonable manner, round the interest assumption to the nearest 0.1%. However, this rounding of figures must be done consistently from year to year before applying the margin for adverse deviations (so that the margin chosen by the plan administrator is not changed by the rounding of figures).

Salary increase assumption 

Where an actuarial valuation uses a salary increase assumption that is less than the assumption used in the previous valuation, actuaries should justify their choice of assumption by referring to plan experience, the interdependence of salary increase and inflation assumptions, economic conditions, etc.

Statistics

Expected returns

The following table presents the best estimates for expected returns on investments set out in the complete actuarial valuation reports as at 31 December 2017 filed with Retraite Québec. The estimates do not take into account the value added returns from active management or the administration and investment management fees. Note that the median expected return is 5.70% for plans in the private sector and 6.15% for plans in the municipal and university sectors.

Expected returns as at 31 December 2017 note 1
Expected returns (%)  See note 2  Number of plans
Municipal and university sectors See note 3Private sector note 4Total
4.00 or under01414
4.25 077
4.50 077
4.75 044
5.00 011
5.25 21113
5.50 21315
5.75 43842
6.00 123042
6.25 131730
6.50 12618
6.75 6410
7.00 or over 112
Total 52153205

Notes :

  1. These statistics exclude designated plans within the meaning of section 8515 of the Income Tax Regulations This link will open in a new window..
  2. The expected return has been rounded up to the nearest 0.25%.
  3. Municipal-sector plans are those where the employer is a municipality, a body referred to in section 18 of the Act respecting the Pension Plan of Elected Municipal Officers This link will open in a new window. or a municipal housing bureau. Retraite Québec received 40 actuarial valuation reports as at 31 December 2017 for plans in the municipal and university sectors. In the 12 cases where different components of a single plan did not have the same expected returns, the data for each component are shown.
  4. Private-sector plans are not grouped with plans in the municipal and university sectors. They include the pension plans for Québec emergency medical technicians, accredited early childhood centres (CPEs) and private daycares. Retraite Québec received 152 actuarial valuation reports as at 31 December 2017 for plans in the private sector. In the only case where different components of a single plan did not have the same expected returns, the data for each component are shown.

Allocation of investments to variable income securities

The following table shows the allocation of investments to variable income securities used to establish the interest rate assumptions in the complete actuarial valuation reports as at 31 December 2017 filed with Retraite Québec. Note that the median allocation of investments in variable income securities is 55% for plans in the private sector and 65% for plans in the municipal and university sectors.

Allocation of investments to variable income securities See note 1
Allocation to variable income (%) See note 2 Municipal and university sectors note 3 
Private sector note 4
See Number of plansExpected average return (%)Number of plans Expected average return (%)
10 or under0-52.77
200-94.19
300-64.13
400-124.59
5035.36385.36
60145.91505.81
70236.15265.94
 80 or over126.4876.13
Total 52-153-

Notes:

  1. These statistics exclude designated plans within the meaning of section 8515 of the Income Tax Regulations This link will open in a new window..
  2. The allocation of variable income securities has been rounded up to the nearest 10%. The variable income securities include equities, infrastructure and real estate.
  3. Municipal-sector plans are those where the employer is a municipality, a body referred to in section 18 of the Act respecting the Pension Plan of Elected Municipal Officers This link will open in a new window. or a municipal housing bureau. Retraite Québec received 40 actuarial valuation reports as at 31 December 2017 for plans in the municipal and university sectors. In the 12 cases where different components of a single plan did not have the same expected returns, the data for each component are shown.
  4. Private-sector plans are not grouped with plans in the municipal and university sectors. They include the pension plans for Québec emergency medical technicians, accredited early childhood centres (CPEs) and private daycares. Retraite Québec received 152 actuarial valuation reports as at 31 December 2017 for plans in the private sector. In the only case where different components of a single plan did not have the same expected returns, the data for each component are shown.

References

Legal references

References from the Canadian Institute of Actuaries

 

The Gouvernement du Québec publishes its Web pages in French. Consistent with the Charter of the French Language and to inform stakeholders outside Québec, this page is also published in English.
Top of page

Hypothèses et méthodes actuarielles

Les instructions suivantes guident l'actuaire dans son choix des hypothèses et méthodes actuarielles à utiliser pour déterminer la valeur des engagements d'un régime de retraite selon l'approche de capitalisation. Retraite Québec pourrait notamment demander des explications à un actuaire dont les hypothèses s'écarteraient de ces instructions.

Notezque...

Dans le cadre de sa surveillance, Retraite Québec pourrait également exiger tout renseignement qu'elle estime nécessaire pour vérifier que le rapport d'évaluation actuarielle est conforme aux lois et à leurs règlements.


Hypothèse d'intérêt

Hypothèse maximale

Retraite Québec a analysé les statistiques relatives aux hypothèses d'intérêt utilisées dans les rapports d'évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2017 ainsi que les plus récentes prévisions des rendements des prochaines années. À la suite de cette analyse, Retraite Québec s'attend à ce que l'hypothèse d'intérêt des évaluations actuarielles postérieures au 30 décembre 2018 soit établie à partir d'une meilleure estimation du rendement des placements du régime (incluant les effets du rééquilibrage et de la diversification), qui n'excède pas %. Cette limite s'applique à un régime dont la politique de placement prévoit que 50 % des placements du régime seront investis dans des titres à revenu fixe, tels que définis dans le premier alinéa de l'article 60.8 du Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Pour une politique de placement différente, l'actuaire établira l'hypothèse d'intérêt de l'évaluation actuarielle en tenant compte de cette limite ainsi que de celle sur la prime de risque présentée ci-après.

Prime de risque

Selon la note éducative portant sur l'établissement des taux d'actualisation fondés sur la meilleure estimation, la prime de risque raisonnable pour les titres canadiens cotés en bourse par rapport aux obligations à long terme du gouvernement du Canada devrait se situer entre 3 % et 5 %. Ainsi, Retraite Québec s'attend à ce que l'actuaire respecte cet intervalle dans la détermination de la meilleure estimation du rendement des placements et que la prime de risque des autres catégories d'actif soit cohérente avec cette fourchette.

Meilleure estimation et marge pour écarts défavorables

Selon les Normes de pratique de l'Institut canadien des actuaires Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre., pour une évaluation selon l'approche de capitalisation, l'actuaire devrait choisir des hypothèses de meilleure estimation, modifiées de manière à inclure des marges pour écarts défavorables dans la mesure requise par la loi ou selon les modalités d'un mandat approprié.

Une hypothèse de meilleure estimation est définie dans les Normes comme étant une hypothèse non biaisée. Elle devrait être ni prudente, ni imprudente. Dans le cas où un modèle stochastique est utilisé pour établir l'hypothèse de meilleure estimation du rendement des placements, Retraite Québec considère que la médiane de la distribution des rendements attendus des placements est la meilleure estimation.

De plus, Retraite Québec s'attend à ce que les évaluations actuarielles tiennent compte d'une marge pour écarts défavorables dans l'établissement de l'hypothèse d'intérêt selon l'approche de capitalisation dans un régime de retraite ou dans le volet d'un régime pour lequel :

  • la loi ne prévoit pas de cotisation de stabilisation
    ou
  • les 3 conditions suivantes sont remplies :
    1. Une provision de stabilisation est calculée.
    2. La politique de placement est modifiée après la date de l'évaluation pour augmenter la cible des placements en titres à revenu variable.
    3. L'actuaire tient compte de ce changement dans son évaluation.

En l'absence d'une telle marge, Retraite Québec pourrait exiger la révision de l'évaluation actuarielle ou la production d'une évaluation actuarielle complète dès la fin de l'exercice financier suivant la date de l'évaluation.

Méthodologie

Dans un rapport d'évaluation actuarielle, l'actuaire doit décrire la méthodologie utilisée pour établir l'hypothèse d'intérêt. La description devrait traiter des éléments suivants :

  • la meilleure estimation du rendement des placements
  • le rajustement dû au rendement nul des lettres de crédit
  • le rééquilibrage et la diversification 
  • la valeur ajoutée d'une gestion active des placements 
  • les frais de gestion des placements  
  • les frais d'administration du régime 
  • l'arrondissement 
  • la marge pour écarts défavorables.

Lettres de crédit

Pour un régime dont l'actif inclut des lettres de crédit, l'hypothèse de meilleure estimation du rendement des placements doit être rajustée pour tenir compte du rendement nul des lettres de crédit. Le rajustement doit refléter la proportion que représente le montant des lettres de crédit inclus à l'actif sur le passif du régime selon l'approche de capitalisation.

Néanmoins, Retraite Québec accepterait que le rajustement ne s'applique que pendant la période où le renouvellement des lettres de crédit est prévu, conformément à la politique de financement. Dans ce cas, l'hypothèse d'intérêt serait de type « sélect et ultime ».

Gestion active des placements

La note éducative portant sur l'établissement des taux d'actualisation fondés sur la meilleure estimation énonce qu'il est généralement raisonnable de supposer que la gestion active générera un rendement à la hauteur des frais de gestion des placements liés à la gestion active dépassant ceux liés à la gestion passive. Ainsi, Retraite Québec s'attend à ce que l'actuaire limite la valeur ajoutée d'une gestion active incluse dans l'hypothèse d'intérêt aux frais engendrés par celle-ci.

Frais

Les frais d'administration du régime et les frais de gestion des placements devraient être présentés séparément. Ils devraient refléter les conseils contenus dans la note éducative portant sur la prise en compte des frais dans les évaluations de provisionnement.

Arrondissement

L'actuaire peut arrondir de façon raisonnable l'hypothèse d'intérêt au 0,1 % le plus proche. Toutefois, cet arrondissement doit être effectué avant l'application de la marge pour écarts défavorables (pour éviter que la marge choisie par l'administrateur du régime soit modifiée par l'arrondissement). L'arrondissement doit être appliqué de façon cohérente d'année en année.

Hypothèse d'augmentation des salaires

Lorsqu'une évaluation utilise une hypothèse d'augmentation des salaires inférieure à celle de l'évaluation précédente, l'actuaire devrait justifier le choix de son hypothèse en se référant à l'expérience du régime, à l'interdépendance entre les hypothèses d'augmentation des salaires et d'inflation, à la conjoncture économique, etc.

Statistiques

Rendement attendu

Le tableau suivant présente les meilleures estimations du rendement des placements présentées dans les rapports d'évaluation actuarielle complète au 31 décembre 2017 qui ont été transmis à Retraite Québec. Elles ne tiennent pas compte de la valeur ajoutée de la gestion active ni des frais d'administration et de gestion des placements. Il est à noter que le rendement médian est de 5,70 % pour les régimes du secteur privé et de 6,15 % pour les régimes des secteurs municipal et universitaire.

Rendement attendu au 31 décembre 2017 Voir la note 1
Rendement attendu Voir la note 2 (%) Nombre de régimes
Secteurs municipal
et universitaire Voir la note 3
Secteur privé Voir la note 4Total
4,00 ou moins 01414
4,25 077
4,50 077
4,75 044
5,00 011
5,25 21113
5,50 21315
5,75 43842
6,00 123042
6,25 131730
6,50 12618
6,756410
7,00 ou plus112
Total 52153205

Notes :

  1. Ces statistiques excluent les régimes désignés au sens de l'article 8515 du Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..
  2. Le rendement attendu a été arrondi au 0,25 % supérieur.
  3. Les régimes du secteur municipal sont ceux dont l'employeur est une municipalité, un organisme visé à l'article 18 de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des élus municipaux Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. ou un office municipal d'habitation. Retraite Québec a reçu 40 rapports d'évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2017 des régimes des secteurs municipal et universitaire. Lorsque les volets d'un régime ne présentent pas le même rendement attendu, les données de chaque volet sont présentées. C'est le cas pour 12 régimes.
  4. Les régimes du secteur privé sont ceux qui ne sont pas considérés comme étant des régimes des secteurs municipal et universitaire. Les régimes des techniciens ambulanciers du Québec, des centres de la petite enfance et des garderies privées conventionnées du Québec sont considérés comme étant des régimes du secteur privé. Retraite Québec a reçu 152 rapports d'évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2017 des régimes du secteur privé. Lorsque les volets d'un régime ne présentent pas le même rendement attendu, les données de chaque volet sont présentées. C'est le cas pour 1 régime.

Répartition des placements en titres à revenu variable

Le tableau suivant présente les répartitions en titres à revenu variable utilisées pour établir l'hypothèse d'intérêt dans les rapports d'évaluation actuarielle complète au 31 décembre 2017 qui ont été transmis à Retraite Québec. Il est à noter que la répartition médiane des placements investis en titres à revenu variable est de 55 % pour les régimes du secteur privé et de 65 % pour les régimes des secteurs municipal et universitaire.

 

Répartition des placements en titres à revenu variable Voir la note 1
Répartition en titres à revenu variable Voir la note 2 (%)
Secteurs municipal
et universitaire note 3
Secteur privé note 4
Voir la Nombre de régimes Rendement attendu moyen (%)Nombre de régimes Rendement attendu moyen (%)
10 ou moins 0-52,77
200-94,19
300-64,13
400-124,59
5035,36385,36
60145,91505,81
70236,15265,94
 80 ou plus126,4876,13
Total 52-153-

Notes :

  1. Ces statistiques excluent les régimes désignés au sens de l'article 8515 du Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..
  2. La répartition en titres à revenu variable a été arrondie aux 10 % supérieurs. Les titres à revenu variable incluent notamment les actions, les biens en infrastructure et les biens immobiliers.
  3. Les régimes du secteur municipal sont ceux dont l'employeur est une municipalité, un organisme visé à l'article 18 de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des élus municipaux Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. ou un office municipal d'habitation. Retraite Québec a reçu 40 rapports d'évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2017 des régimes des secteurs municipal et universitaire. Lorsque les volets d'un régime ne présentent pas la même répartition en titres à revenu variable, les données de chaque volet sont présentées. C'est le cas pour 12 régimes.
  4. Les régimes du secteur privé sont ceux qui ne sont pas considérés comme étant des régimes des secteurs municipal et universitaire. Les régimes des techniciens ambulanciers du Québec, des centres de la petite enfance et des garderies privées conventionnées du Québec sont considérés comme étant des régimes du secteur privé. Retraite Québec a reçu 152 rapports d'évaluation actuarielle au 31 décembre 2017 des régimes du secteur privé. Lorsque les volets d'un régime ne présentent pas le même rendement attendu, les données de chaque volet sont présentées. C'est le cas pour 1 régime.

Références

Références juridiques

 

Références de l'Institut canadien des actuaires

 

  • Haut de la page