Required contributions

In the actuarial valuation report, the actuary must present the contributions that must be paid into the pension fund for the period covered by the actuarial valuation.

The Supplemental Pension Plans Act provides for 4 types of contributions:

Note that

The plan provisions may provide for the members to contribute to the payment of amortization payments and current service contributions. The actuary must therefore indicate the amortization member contributions and the current service member contributions separately in the actuarial valuation report.

Legal references

Current service contribution

The actuarial valuation on a funding basis must establish the current service contribution for each fiscal year ending in the last 3 years following the actuarial valuation date. This contribution can be a fixed sum, a rate or a percentage of the payroll. It includes the current service stabilization contribution and can be paid by the employer only or by the employer and the members. The contributions correspond to the following:

CS = (1 + SP)x(The value of the obligations arising from the plan for the service performed during a fiscal year, including the assumption of explicit fees, if applicable
)
StabCS = CS x[SP
(1 + SP)
]
whereCS=current service contribution

StabCS=current service stabilization contribution

SP=percentage of the stabilization provision

Legal references 

Special improvement payment

When an amendment is valuated for the first time in an actuarial valuation of which the determined funding ratio, by disregarding the amendment, is less than 90%, a special improvement payment is established. It is payable the day following the date of the actuarial valuation. It is calculated as follows:

Sip = (1 + SP) x Wgc

whereSip=special improvement payment

SP=target percentage of the stabilization provision

Wgc=the value, on a going-concern basis, of the additional obligations resulting from amendments considered for the first time on the valuation date

If the funding ratio is greater than 90%, an improvement amortization payment will be established to amortize the improvement unfunded liability.

Legal references

Special annuity purchasing payment

When an actuarial valuation evaluates the impact of paying benefits, made in accordance with the annuity purchasing policy, the date of the actuarial valuation must coincide with the one from the agreement with the insurer and a special annuity purchasing payment is established under certain circumstances.

This contribution must be paid into the pension fund so that the plan's degree of solvency, after payment, is at least equal to:

  • 100% if the degree of solvency calculated before the purchase of annuities is greater than 100%; or
  • the degree of solvency calculated before the purchase of annuities, in other cases.

This special contribution is payable the day following the date of the actuarial valuation.

Note that

For a plan in which certain annuities in payment are guaranteed with an insurance company, it is possible, if the annuity purchasing policy allows it, to pay the rights by subrogation. Subrogation consists of replacing the holder of the insurance contract so that he or she is the member of beneficiary. In that case, the rules aforementioned apply.

Example
An actuarial valuation as at 31 December 2018 is produced for a plan whose fiscal year ends on that date. In that valuation, no amendment is being considered for the first time. However, the payment of certain benefits is presented: all pensions in payment on the date of the valuation are to be paid, in accordance with the annuity purchasing policy. Some of the pensions were guaranteed before the date of the valuation.

Without taking into account the payment, the assets of the plan's defined contribution component on a solvency basis are $98 and the liabilities are $100. By excluding the benefits paid from the liabilities, the amount is $55. On a solvency basis, the value of the pensions in payment that were guaranteed prior to the date of the valuation is $15. According to the 31 December 2018 agreement, a $30 premium must be paid to the insurer.

In this example, the degree of solvency after the benefits are paid must be greater than or equal to 98%. Therefore, the special annuity purchasing payment (Sapp) is the value determined in the following equation, provided it is positive:

Assets before payment − Guaranteed pensions paid − Premium + Sapp
Liabilities after payment
=98%
98 − 15 − 30 + Sapp
55
=98%

As a result, the value of the special annuity purchasing payment is $0.90 in order to maintain a degree of solvency of 98%.

The actuary must, in his or her report, present the degree of solvency that applies to plan funding, which takes into account the purchase of annuities and is 98%.

Legal references 

Amortization payments

There are 3 types of amortization payments: improvement amortization payments, the technical amortization payment and the stabilization amortization payment.

These payments can be made by the employer or by both the employer and the members. They can be a rate or percentage of the total payroll if the members contribute to the payment.

Improvement amortization payments

The payments are established to amortize the improvement unfunded liabilities over a maximum period of 5 years.

Technical and stabilization amortization payments

These payments are established to amortize the technical deficiency and the stabilization deficiency over a maximum period of 10 years. However, for any actuarial valuation dated between 30 December 2015 and 31 December 2020, the amortization period of the deficiencies can end on 31 December 2030 at the latest.

Legal references

Practical corner

Top of page

Cotisations requises

Dans le rapport d'évaluation actuarielle, l'actuaire doit présenter les cotisations qui doivent être versées à la caisse du régime pour la période que couvre l'évaluation actuarielle.

La Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (la « Loi RCR ») prévoit 4 types de cotisations :

À noter

Les dispositions du régime peuvent prévoir que les participants contribuent au versement des cotisations d'équilibre et d'exercice. L'actuaire doit alors indiquer séparément les cotisations salariales d'équilibre et les cotisations salariales d'exercice dans son rapport d'évaluation actuarielle.

Références juridiques

Cotisation d'exercice

L'évaluation actuarielle selon l'approche de capitalisation doit établir la cotisation d'exercice pour chacun des exercices financiers prenant fin au cours des 3 années suivant la date de l'évaluation actuarielle. Cette cotisation peut être exprimée sous la forme d'une somme fixe, d'un taux ou d'un pourcentage de la masse salariale. Elle inclut la cotisation d'exercice de stabilisation et elle peut être payée par l'employeur seul, ou par l'employeur et les participants. Ces cotisations correspondent à :

CX = (1 + PS)x(Valeur des engagements nés du régime, pour les services effectués au cours d'un exercice financier, incluant l'hypothèse de frais explicites, le cas échéant)
CXStab = CX x[PS
(1 + PS)
]
CX=cotisation d'exercice

CXStab=cotisation d'exercice de stabilisation

PS=pourcentage visé de la provision de stabilisation

Références juridiques

  • Articles 14, 37, 38, 41,123, 128 et 140 de la Loi RCR Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Cotisation spéciale de modification

Lorsqu'une modification est évaluée pour la première fois dans une évaluation actuarielle dont le degré de capitalisation déterminé en faisant abstraction de la modification est inférieur à 90 %, une cotisation spéciale de modification est établie. Celle-ci est payable le jour qui suit la date de l'évaluation actuarielle. Elle se calcule de la façon suivante :

Csm = (1 + PS) x Wcap

Csm=cotisation spéciale de modification

PS=pourcentage visé de la provision de stabilisation

Wcap=valeur, selon l'approche de capitalisation, des engagements supplémentaires résultant de toute modification au régime évaluée pour la première fois à la date de l'évaluation

Si le degré de capitalisation est de 90 % ou plus, une cotisation d'équilibre de modification sera plutôt établie pour amortir le déficit de modification.

Références juridiques 

Cotisation spéciale d'achat de rentes

Lorsqu'une évaluation actuarielle évalue l'impact d'un acquittement de droits, fait conformément à la politique d'achat de rentes, la date de l'évaluation actuarielle doit coïncider avec celle de l'entente avec l'assureur et une cotisation spéciale d'achat de rentes est établie dans certaines circonstances.

Cette cotisation doit être versée à la caisse de retraite pour que le degré de solvabilité du régime soit, après l'acquittement, au moins égal :

  • à 100 %, si le degré de solvabilité calculé avant l'achat des rentes est supérieur à 100 %; ou
  • au degré de solvabilité calculé avant l'achat des rentes, dans les autres cas.

Cette cotisation spéciale est payable le jour qui suit la date de l'évaluation actuarielle.

À noter

Pour un régime dont certaines rentes en paiement sont garanties auprès d'une compagnie d'assurance, il est possible, selon ce que prévoit la politique d'achat de rentes, d'acquitter ces droits par subrogation. La subrogation consiste à remplacer le titulaire du contrat d'assurance pour qu'il soit le participant ou le bénéficiaire. Dans ce cas, les règles énoncées précédemment s'appliquent.

Exemple

Une évaluation actuarielle est produite au 31 décembre 2018 pour un régime dont l'exercice financier se termine à cette date. Dans cette évaluation, aucune modification n'est évaluée pour la première fois, mais l'acquittement de certains droits y est reflété : toutes les rentes en paiement à la date de l'évaluation sont acquittées, conformément à la politique d'achat de rentes. Certaines de ces rentes avaient été garanties avant la date de l'évaluation.  

Sans tenir compte de l'acquittement, l'actif du volet à prestations déterminées du régime selon l'approche de solvabilité est 98 $ et le passif est 100 $. En excluant les droits acquittés du passif, celui-ci s'élève à 55 $. La valeur des rentes en paiement, garanties avant la date de l'évaluation est de 15 $ selon l'approche de solvabilité. Selon l'entente intervenue le 31 décembre 2018, une prime de 30 $ doit être payée à un assureur. 

Dans cet exemple, le degré de solvabilité après l'acquittement de droits doit être supérieur ou égal à 98 %. Ainsi, la cotisation spéciale d'achat de rentes (Csar) est la valeur, si positive, qui résout l'équation suivante :

Actif avant acquittement − Rentes garanties acquittées − Prime + Csar
Passif après acquittement
=98 %
98 − 15 − 30 + Csar
55
=98 %

En conséquence, pour maintenir le degré de solvabilité à 98 %, la valeur de la cotisation spéciale d'achat de rentes s'élève à 0,90 $.

Dans son rapport, l'actuaire doit aussi présenter le degré de solvabilité du régime applicable au financement du régime. Celui-ci tient compte de l'achat de rentes et s'élève à 98 %.

Références juridiques 

Cotisations d'équilibre

Les cotisations d'équilibre sont de 3 types : les cotisations d'équilibre de modification, la cotisation d'équilibre technique et la cotisation d'équilibre de stabilisation.

Ces cotisations peuvent être payées par l'employeur ou par l'employeur et les participants. Elles peuvent être exprimées sous la forme d'un taux ou d'un pourcentage de la masse salariale si les participants contribuent à leur versement.

Cotisations d'équilibre de modification

Elles sont établies pour amortir les déficits de modification sur une période maximale de 5 ans.

Cotisations d'équilibre technique et de stabilisation

Elles sont établies pour amortir le déficit technique et le déficit de stabilisation sur une période maximale de 10 ans. Par contre, pour toute évaluation actuarielle dont la date se situe entre le 30 décembre 2015 et le 31 décembre 2020, la période d'amortissement de ces déficits peut se terminer au plus tard le 31 décembre 2030.

Références juridiques 

  • Articles 14, 37, 38.1, 39, 41, 42.2, 60, 137, 138 et 318.3 de la Loi RCR Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Coin pratique

Haut de la page