Private-sector pension plans et al.

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans This link will open in a new window. (2015, chapter 29) has effect as of 1 January 2016. It amends the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (R.S.Q., chapter R-15.1).

Affected plans

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans introduced funding measures effective as at 1 January 2016 for defined benefit plans (with the exception of pension plans of the municipal and university sectors and those covered by a special regulation). In addition to other pension plans, the new measures affect most plans in the private sector.

The Act also introduced other measures that came into effect on 1 January 2016. Although some of the measures affect pension plans of all types, others only affect plans with a defined benefit component or a defined contribution component.

Additional pension benefit and partial payments

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans has not abolished the additional pension benefit for private-sector pension plans in particular, unlike the Act to foster the financial health and sustainability of municipal defined benefit plans (CQLR, chapter S-2.1.1), which abolished the additional pension benefit for plans in the municipal sector (French only).

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans does not automatically abolish the additional pension benefit, but the repeal of section 60.1 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act provides for the removal of that type of benefit. Therefore, since 1 January 2016, pension plans are no longer required to offer it. However, the provision of a plan text that provides for the payment of an additional benefit is now more advantageous for members, and takes precedence over the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. Therefore, members are still entitled to the benefit, unless their pension plan has been amended. A provisional measure related to such an amendment is provided for under section 288.4 of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act This link will open in a new window..

Similarly, members and beneficiaries whose benefits have only been partially paid because their retirement plan was insolvent continue to be entitled to the balance of their benefits under all circumstances, if the provisions of the plan so provide.

Information on the amendments to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act that came into effect on 1 January 2016.

Newsletter number 31: Amendments to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act effective 1 January 2016  provides plan administrators with information on the measures that came into effect on 1 January 2016 and any effects that the measures could have on plan provisions.

To complement 2 provisions of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act that came into effect on 1 January 2016, the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans published in the Gazette officielle du Québec This link will open in a new window. on 13 July 2016 provides:

  • the scale that must be used to determine the target level of the stabilization provision for a pension plan
  • the information that the plan administrator must submit to Retraite Québec to inform it of the plan's financial situation at the end of a fiscal year of a pension plan for which no actuarial valuation is required.

Actuarial valuations carried out after 30 December 2015

Actuarial valuations carried out after 30 December 2015 on the affected plans must provide for the funding of a stabilization provision. They are no longer required to include a margin for adverse deviations in establishing the interest rate assumption on a funding basis.

For further information on the funding rules in effect since 1 January 2016, please refer to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act.

  • Top of page

Régimes de retraite du secteur privé et autres

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (2015, chapitre 29) est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016. Elle modifie la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (RLRQ, chapitre R-15.1), ci-après appelée la « Loi RCR ».

Régimes visés

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées a introduit des mesures de financement au 1er janvier 2016 pour les régimes à prestations déterminées à l'exception de ceux des secteurs municipal et universitaire et de ceux visés par un règlement d'exception. Par conséquent, ces mesures de financement visent la plupart des régimes de retraite du secteur privé ainsi que d'autres régimes.

Cette loi a également introduit d'autres mesures qui sont en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2016. Certaines d'entre elles visent tous les régimes, quel que soit leur type, alors que d'autres visent uniquement les régimes comportant des dispositions à prestations déterminées, et d'autres visent uniquement les régimes comportant des dispositions à cotisation déterminée.

Prestation additionnelle et acquittements partiels

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées n'a pas aboli la prestation additionnelle pour les régimes du secteur privé notamment, contrairement à la Loi favorisant la santé financière et la pérennité des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du secteur municipal (RLRQ, chapitre S-2.1.1) qui a aboli la prestation additionnelle pour les régimes du secteur municipal.

En effet, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées n'abolit pas automatiquement la prestation additionnelle, mais l'abrogation de l'article 60.1 de la Loi RCR permet maintenant d'abolir une telle prestation. Ainsi, depuis le 1er janvier 2016, les régimes de retraite ne sont plus tenus d'offrir cette prestation. Depuis cette date, la disposition d'un régime prévoyant le paiement d'une prestation additionnelle est donc une disposition plus avantageuse pour les participants, ce qui a préséance sur la Loi RCR. Ainsi, les participants y ont toujours droit, à moins que leur régime de retraite ne soit modifié. Une mesure transitoire relativement à cette modification est prévue à l'article 288.4 de la Loi RCR Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

De même, les participants et bénéficiaires dont les droits ont été acquittés seulement en partie parce que leur régime de retraite était non solvable continuent d'avoir droit au solde de leurs droits en toute circonstance, si c'est ce que prévoit leur régime.

Renseignements sur les modifications à la Loi RCR au 1er janvier 2016

La Lettre n° 31 : Modifications à la Loi RCR entrées en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016 renseigne les administrateurs de régimes sur les mesures en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016 et, le cas échéant, leur incidence sur les dispositions de régimes.

Pour compléter 2 dispositions de la Loi RCR entrées en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016, le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. le 13 juillet 2016 contient :

  • la grille à utiliser pour déterminer le niveau de la provision de stabilisation du régime
  • les informations que l'administrateur doit fournir à Retraite Québec quant à la situation financière du régime à la date de fin de l'exercice financier pour lequel aucune évaluation actuarielle n'est requise.

Références

  • Haut de la page