Recent legislative and regulatory measures

Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans

The Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans This link will open in a new window. was published in the Gazette officielle du Québec of 20 December 2017 and came  into force on 4 January 2018. It follows up on the measures provided for under the Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans (S.Q. 2015, chapter 29), which concern:

  • information that actuarial valuation reports and statements must contain
  • funding policies for defined benefit plans
  • annuity purchasing policies and special annuity purchasing payments
  • terms and conditions regarding letters of credit
  • rules for the transfer of benefits between spouses and for the seizure of benefits
  • variable benefits
  • prescribed fees.

Restructuring of university-sector plans

The Act respecting the restructuring of university sector defined benefit pension plans This link will open in a new window. (CQLR, chapter R 26.2.1) came into force on 8 June 2016. The Act provides that certain plans must be restructured in order to ensure better risk management and correct the financial situations of certain plans to ensure their sustainability.

For additional information, see our Web page on university-sector pension plans.

Funding of defined benefit pension plans and other measures that came into force on 1 January 2016

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans (S.Q. 2015, chapter 29) came into force on 1 January 2016. The main objectives of the Act are to

  • establish a new method for funding defined benefit pension plans that includes:
    • replacing the solvency method by one based on funding
    • establishing a stabilization provision
  • give plans a funding policy
  • modify the rules for appropriating and allocating surplus assets
  • eliminate the obligation of including the additional pension benefit
  • allow defined contribution plans to pay variable benefits.

The Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans, which was published in the Gazette officielle du Québec This link will open in a new window. of 13 July 2016, contains the scale that must be used to determine the target level of a pension plan's stabilization provision and the information that must be provided to Retraite Québec with regard to the plan's financial situation.

For further information, consult our Web page on private-sector pension plans et al.

Funding and restructuring of certain multi-employer plans

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act with respect to the funding and restructuring of certain multi-employer pension plans This link will open in a new window. (S.Q. 2015, chapter 7) came into force on 2 April 2015. The Act applies to certain multi-employer defined benefit-defined contribution plans that may not be amended unilaterally by any of the employers that are party to those plans and for which the employer's sole obligation is the negotiated contribution. The Act introduces rules specific to those plans concerning

  • their funding
  • their restructuring where, according to the actuarial valuation report, contributions are insufficient.

For further information, consult our Web page on multi-employer negotiated contribution pension plans.

Restructuring of municipal pension plans

The Act to foster the financial health and sustainability of municipal defined benefit pension plans This link will open in a new window. (CQLR, chapter S-2.1.1) came into force on 5 December 2014. The Act provides that municipal sector defined benefit plans must be restructured in order to improve the plans' financial health and ensure their sustainability.

For further details, consult our Web page on  municipal-sector pension plans (French only).

  • Top of page

Practical corner

Récentes mesures législatives et règlementaires

Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. a été publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec le 20 décembre 2017. Il est entré en vigueur le 4 janvier 2018. Il vise notamment à donner suite aux mesures prévues dans la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (L.Q., 2015, chapitre 29). Les mesures concernent :

  • le contenu du rapport d'évaluation actuarielle et de relevés
  • la politique de financement des régimes à prestations déterminées
  • la politique d'achat de rentes ainsi que la cotisation spéciale d'achat de rentes
  • les conditions relatives aux lettres de crédit
  • les règles relatives à la cession de droits entre conjoints et aux saisies de droits
  • les prestations variables
  • les droits exigibles.

Restructuration des régimes du secteur universitaire

La Loi sur la restructuration des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du secteur universitaire Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (RLRQ, chapitre R-26.2.1) est entrée en vigueur le 8 juin 2016. Elle prévoit la restructuration de certains de ces régimes dans le but de favoriser une meilleure gestion des risques ainsi que le redressement de leur situation financière pour en assurer la pérennité.

Pour plus de détails, consultez notre page Web sur les régimes de retraite du secteur universitaire.

Financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées et autres mesures en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (L.Q., 2015, chapitre 29) est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016. Elle a pour objet notamment :

  • d'établir une nouvelle méthode de financement des régimes à prestations déterminées avec entre autres :
    • le remplacement du financement selon l'approche de solvabilité par un financement axé sur la capitalisation
    • la constitution d'une provision de stabilisation
  • de doter les régimes d'une politique de financement
  • de modifier les règles d'affectation et d'utilisation des excédents d'actif des régimes
  • de supprimer l'obligation d'inclure la prestation additionnelle
  • de permettre aux régimes à cotisation déterminée de verser des prestations variables.

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. le 13 juillet 2016, contient la grille à utiliser pour déterminer le niveau de la provision de stabilisation du régime ainsi que les informations à fournir à Retraite Québec sur la situation financière du régime.

Pour plus de détails, consultez notre page Web sur les régimes de retraite du secteur privé et autres.

Financement et restructuration de certains régimes interentreprises

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite relativement au financement et à la restructuration de certains régimes de retraite interentreprises Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (L.Q., 2015, chapitre 7) est entrée en vigueur le 2 avril 2015. Elle vise certains régimes interentreprises à cotisation et à prestations déterminées qui ne peuvent être modifiés unilatéralement par aucun employeur qui y est partie et pour lesquels les engagements de l'employeur se limitent à la cotisation négociée. Elle a pour objet d'introduire des règles particulières à ces régimes pour :

  • leur financement
  • leur restructuration lorsqu'une insuffisance des cotisations est constatée dans le rapport d'évaluation actuarielle.

Pour plus de détails, consultez notre page Web sur les régimes de retraite interentreprises à cotisations négociées.

Restructuration des régimes du secteur municipal

La Loi favorisant la santé financière et la pérennité des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du secteur municipal Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. (RLRQ, chapitre S-2.1.1) est entrée en vigueur le 5 décembre 2014. Cette loi prévoit que les régimes à prestations déterminées du secteur municipal doivent être restructurés en vue d'en assainir la santé financière et d'en assurer la pérennité.

Pour plus de détails, consultez notre page Web sur les régimes de retraite du secteur municipal.

  • Haut de la page

Coin pratique