Types of plan pensions

A defined benefit pension plan must offer certain types of pensions. It can also offer other types as options.

A plan must provide all of the following:

  • Normal pension: the pension payable at the normal retirement age (65 unless the plan provides otherwise)
  • Deferred pension: the pension to which a member is entitled but which must be paid later because it is still too early for the member to receive a pension
  • Early pension: a pension paid before the normal retirement age (between 55 and 65, unless the plan provides otherwise)
  • Postponed pension: a pension paid after the normal retirement age (after 65 unless the plan provides otherwise)
  • Additional pension: a supplement to the retirement pension

Your plan may provide:

A plan may also give entitlement to cash payments (refunds).

Age is a deciding factor

A member's age is a deciding factor in determining the type of pension to which the member is entitled. Furthermore, the plan's normal retirement age must be considered. The normal retirement age is indicated in the plan summary.

The younger a member is when he or she retires, the lower the retirement income will be. Members should be sure that they have enough income for their retirement needs. They may want to see a financial planner.

Worth knowing about ...
  • A member cannot be forced to retire when he or she reaches the normal retirement age under the plan.
  • Payment of a retirement pension must begin no later than 31 December of the year in which the member reaches age 71, even if he or she continues to work.
  • To receive a retirement pension, a member must make an application to the plan administrator.

Normal pension: the pension payable at the normal retirement age

The plan must provide for the payment of a "normal pension", that is, a pension payable as of the normal retirement age under the plan. It must be a life pension, that is, payable until death.

The normal pension is payable when a member stops working at the normal retirement age that is set under your plan (usually 65). It will not be paid automatically. The member must apply to the plan administrator.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member stopped working at age 65, which is the normal retirement age under your plan. The member made an application to receive a pension as of age 65. The member will receive the normal pension under the plan.

 

Haut de page  

 

Deferred pension: payment of a pension is delayed if it is too early for payment to begin

If active plan membership ends and a member is not yet old enough to receive a pension under the plan or if the member is old enough but does not want to begin receiving his or her pension right away, he or she is entitled to a deferred pension, whose payment will begin at a later date.

Payment of a pension can be requested when a member is 10 years or less away from the normal retirement age under the plan (for example, at age 55 if the normal retirement age is 65) whether the member continues to work or not. Worth knowing about ...
  • If a member requests payment of his or her pension before the normal retirement age, the amount will usually be reduced because the pension will be paid for a larger number of years.
  • If a member requests payment of his or her pension after the normal retirement age, the amount will not necessarily be increased.

A helpful example...

Suppose the normal retirement age under the plan is 65. A member leaves his or her job at age 48 and is no longer an active member of the plan. He or she has a vested pension of 1 000 $ a month.

He or she can request payment of his or her pension as of age 55.

  • If the request is made before age 65, the amount of the pension may be less than 1 000 $ because the pension will be paid for a greater number of years.
  • If the request is made at age 65, the pension will be 1 000 $ a month.
  • If the request is made after age 65, the amount of the pension may still be 1 000 $ a month as of the month of the application.
 

Haut de page  

 

Early pension: a pension paid before the normal retirement age

A member is entitled to an early pension if he or she stops working during the 10 years that precede the normal retirement age under the plan (whether or not active plan membership has ended).

If the member takes an early pension, the amount will usually be reduced because the pension will be paid for a greater number of years.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member is entitled to a pension of 1 000 $ as of age 65, which is the normal retirement age under the plan. He or she asks for payments to begin at age 62. The reduction set by the plan is ½% a month for each month before age 65. He or she will thus be entitled to an early pension of 820 $ a month as of age 62, that is, 1 000 $ less a reduction for early pension of 180 $ (½% of 1 000 $ × 36 months).

A pension plan may give entitlement to an early pension at an earlier time, that is, before a member is at least 10 years away from the normal retirement age. For information about the plan's rules, consult the plan summary.

If active plan membership ends more than 10 years before the normal retirement age and a member wants to receive a pension before the normal retirement age, he or she can ask for payment of a deferred pension at any time, provided he or she is no more than 10 years away from the normal retirement age.

A helpful example...

Suppose the normal retirement age is 65 and active plan membership ends before age 55. The member can apply for payment of a pension as of age 55.

 

Haut de page  

 

Postponed pension: a pension paid after the normal retirement age

A member is entitled to a postponed pension if, when he or she reaches the normal retirement age, he or she continues to work for the same employer. Payment of the pension will be delayed unless the member and the employer agree otherwise. It will begin when the member stops working or no later than 31 December of the year in which the member reaches age 71.

The amount of the pension received will be higher than the amount provided for at the normal retirement age because, being started later, it will be paid for a shorter period of time.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member who stops working at age 65 would be entitled to a pension of 1 000 $ a month.

If he or she stops working at age 67, the pension will be 1 080 $* a month.

* This amount is given for illustrative purposes. The actual amount would be based on interest assumptions and the member's sex and age at the time of the calculation.

Worth knowing about ...
  • If a member continues working for the same employer after the normal retirement age, he or she will not lose any pension payments that would ordinarily have been made if he or she had stopped working at the normal retirement age. However, at retirement, no retroactive payments will be made. Instead, the amount of his or her pension payments will be increased by a corresponding amount.
  • If a member continues working but his or her pay is reduced permanently, for example, because of a reduction in work hours, he or she can request that a portion of the retirement pension be paid immediately to offset the reduction in earnings.
  • As soon as a member is no longer working for the employer that he or she had at the normal retirement age, the member's pension becomes payable. If it is taken at a later date, it will not be increased to take into account the payments that ordinarily would have been paid since the end of his or her employment, unless the plan provides otherwise.
  • If a member and the employer continue to contribute to the plan after the member reaches the normal retirement age, the contributions made after the normal retirement age (i.e., during postponement of the pension) will give the member entitlement to an additional pension.

 

Haut de page  

 

Additional pension: a supplement to a retirement pension

A member is entitled to an additionnal pension based on :

  • amounts transferred from a previous pension plan that cannot be refunded in cash
  • additional voluntary contributions (contributions that were made without a corresponding contribution by the employer) that have been converted into a pension
  • excess member contributions, that is, member contributions with interest that exceed 50% of the value of the pension to which the member is entitled
  • member contributions, with interest, that were made after the normal retirement age (that is, during the postponement of a pension).

If active plan membership ends more than 10 years before the normal retirement age (for example, before age 55 if the normal retirement age is 65) and the pension has low or no indexation between the date on which the member stopped working and the date on which he or she is 10 years away from the normal retirement age, the member may be entitled to an additional pension.

The additional pension will be added to the retirement pension.
 

Haut de page  

 

Bridging pension: a supplement to the retirement pension payable before age 65

A bridging pension is a temporary supplement that a plan may offer and that is usually paid until a member begins receiving the public pensions under the Old Age Security program and the Québec Pension Plan. The bridging pension has no effect on the amount of the retirement pension provided under the plan.

Unlike a temporary pension, which is an advance on retirement income, a bridging pension is a supplement to retirement income.

A helpful example...

Suppose a member is 62 years old. He or she is entitled to a retirement pension of 1 000 $ a month (12 000 $ a year) and to a bridging pension of 3 000 $ a year until age 65. The member will have an annual income of 15 000 $ (12 000 $ + 3 000 $) until age 65 and 12 000 $ as of age 65.

To those amounts will be added the retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan and the Old Age Security pension, when they begin.

The plan determines the age limit for receiving a bridging pension. Whether or not the member begins receiving the public pensions will not affect that limit.

For example, suppose that a plan offers a bridging pension that is payable until age 65 because that is the age at which the member will be entitled to a full pension under the Québec Pension Plan. Even if he or she applies before age 65 for an early retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan, the bridging pension will be paid until age 65.

 

Haut de page  

 

Phased retirement benefit: a salary supplement to encourage people to continue working or to return to work

If the plan allows, a member can reach an agreement with his or her employer to receive a phased retirement benefit under the plan while continuing to work full-time or part-time, if he or she is:

  • at least 60 years old OR at least 55 years old and receiving or entitled to receive an unreduced early pension
  • under 65 years old
Worth knowing about ...

As of age 65, the provisions for a postponed pension apply.

If the normal retirement age under the plan is under 65, a member must choose between a phased retirement benefit and a postponed pension for the period between the normal retirement age and age 65. The member can successively receive one then the other but not both simultaneously.


The phased retirement benefit does not reduce the amount of a member's retirement pension. If the plan so provides, a member can also accumulate new benefits during phased retirement, which will increase his or her retirement pension.

The calculation and payment terms of a phased retirement benefit must be included in the agreement. However, the amount of the benefit cannot exceed 60% of the amount of the pension to which the member is entitled or is already receiving, excluding any pension resulting from excess member contributions, additional voluntary contributions or sums transferred to the plan.

An agreement cannot provide for age conditions or other conditions that would be more advantageous.

To receive a phased retirement benefit, a member must make an application with the plan administrator.

A helpful example...

A member is 60 years and entitled to a retirement pension of 2 000 $ a month. Her excess member contributions provide an additional pension of 200 $ a month. In addition, the plan provides her with a bridging benefit of 400 $ a month until age 65. Thus, if she retires, her pension will be 2 600 $ a month until age 65 and 2 200 $ thereafter.

The maximum phased retirement benefit is 1 400 $ a month, that is, 60% of 2 400 $ since the additional pension of 200 $ a month is not included in the calculation.

If a retired member returns to work for an employer who is party to the same plan and if the member receives a phased retirement benefit, his or her retirement pension will be suspended.

Note that...
There is another phased retirement benefit; it gives entitlement to a cash payment. A member cannot receive both benefits for the same period.
 

Haut de page  

 

Disability pension

If disability forces a member to stop working for the employer who offers the plan or to cease active plan membership, the plan can provide for payment of a disability pension. Information about the availability and conditions of a disability pension can be found by checking the plan summary or contacting the plan administrator.

The value of a disability pension must be at least equal to the value of the benefits to which the member would have been entitled in the absence of disability. The amount of a disability pension may thus be different from the amount of a member's vested retirement pension.

Note that...


Disability may also give entitlement to a cash payment.


  • Top of page

Practical corner

Types de rentes du régime

Le régime de retraite à prestations déterminées doit offrir certains types de rentes. Il peut aussi en offrir d'autres en option.

Ce que le régime doit prévoir :

  • Rente normale : rente payable à l'âge normal de la retraite (65 ans*)
  • Rente différée : report du paiement de la rente s'il est trop tôt pour la mettre en paiement
  • Rente anticipée : rente payable avant l'âge normal de la retraite (de 55 à 65 ans*)
  • Rente ajournée : rente payable après l'âge normal de la retraite (après 65 ans*)
  • Rente additionnelle : supplément à la rente de retraite

Ce que le régime peut prévoir :

* Si l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime est établi à 65 ans.

Le régime peut aussi donner droit à des paiements au comptant (remboursements).

L'âge : un facteur à considérer

L'âge du participant est un facteur déterminant pour le type de rente de retraite à laquelle il a droit. De plus, il faut considérer l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime. Celui-ci est indiqué dans le sommaire du régime.

Plus un participant prend sa retraite jeune, plus ses revenus de retraite seront faibles. Il doit donc s'assurer d'avoir un revenu suffisant pour sa retraite. Au besoin, il peut consulter un planificateur financier.

À savoir ...
  • Le participant n'est pas obligé de prendre sa retraite lorsqu' il atteint l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime.
  • Le paiement de la rente de retraite doit commencer au plus tard le 31 décembre de l'année au cours de laquelle le participant atteint 71 ans, même s'il continue à travailler.
  • Pour recevoir une rente de retraite, le participant doit la demander à l'administrateur du régime.

Rente normale : rente payable à l'âge normal de la retraite

Le régime de retraite doit prévoir le versement d'une rente dite « normale », c'est-à-dire payable à compter de l'âge normal de la retraite. Cette rente doit être viagère, c'est-à-dire qu'elle doit être payée jusqu' au décès du participant.

La rente normale est payable lorsque le participant cesse de travailler à l'âge normal de la retraite prévu par le régime, qui est généralement de 65 ans. Pour qu'elle lui soit versée, le participant doit la demander à l'administrateur de son régime.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant cesse de travailler à 65 ans, soit à l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime. Il a demandé le paiement de sa rente à compter de 65 ans. Il recevra donc la rente normale prévue au régime.

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente différée : report du paiement de la rente s'il est trop tôt pour la mettre en paiement

Si le participant cesse de participer activement au régime et qu'il n'a pas l'âge prévu à son régime pour recevoir une rente, ou encore s'il a l'âge requis mais qu'il ne veut pas recevoir le paiement de sa rente immédiatement, il a droit à une rente différée. Cette rente lui sera donc versée plus tard.

Le participant peut demander le paiement de sa rente lorsqu'il sera à 10 ans ou moins de l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime (par exemple, à compter de 55 ans si l'âge normal de la retraite est de 65 ans), qu'il continue ou non de travailler.

À savoir ...
  • Si le participant demande le paiement de sa rente avant l'âge normal de la retraite, le montant de sa rente sera habituellement réduit, puisque celle-ci lui sera versée pendant un plus grand nombre d'années.
  • S'il demande le paiement de sa rente après l'âge normal de la retraite, le montant de sa rente ne sera pas nécessairement ajusté à la hausse.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

L'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime est de 65 ans. Un participant quitte son emploi et cesse de participer activement au régime à l'âge de 48 ans. Il a accumulé une rente de 1 000 $ par mois.

Il peut demander le paiement de sa rente à compter de 55 ans.

  • S'il la demande avant 65 ans, il se peut que le montant de sa rente soit inférieur à 1 000 $ par mois, compte tenu qu'il recevra cette rente plus longtemps.
  • S'il la demande à 65 ans, il recevra 1 000 $ par mois.
  • S'il la demande après 65 ans, il se peut que le montant de sa rente soit toujours de 1 000 $ par mois à compter de la date de sa demande.
 

Haut de page  

 

Rente anticipée : rente payable avant l'âge normal de la retraite

Le participant a droit à une rente anticipée de son régime s'il cesse de travailler dans les 10 ans précédant l'âge normal de la retraite (qu'il ait cessé de participer activement au régime ou non).

S'il choisit la rente anticipée, le montant de sa rente sera habituellement réduit, puisque la rente lui sera versée pendant un plus grand nombre d'années.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant a droit à une rente de 1 000 $ par mois à compter de 65 ans, qui est l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime. Il demande le paiement de sa rente à 62 ans. La réduction prévue par le régime est de ½ % par mois d'anticipation. Il aura donc droit à une rente anticipée de 820 $ par mois à compter de 62 ans, soit 1 000 $ moins une réduction pour anticipation de 180 $ (½ % de 1 000 $ × 36 mois d'anticipation).

Un régime de retraite pourrait donner droit à une rente anticipée encore plus tôt, c'est-à-dire avant les 10 ans de l'âge normal de la retraite. Le sommaire du régime indique ce qu'il en est.

Si le participant cesse sa participation active au régime plus de 10 ans avant l'âge normal de la retraite et qu'il veut recevoir sa rente avant l'âge normal de la retraite, il peut demander le paiement de sa « rente différée » à compter de l'âge voulu, pourvu qu'il soit dans les 10 ans de l'âge normal de la retraite.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

L'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime est de 65 ans. Un participant cesse sa participation active avant 55 ans. Il peut demander le paiement de sa rente différée à compter de 55 ans.

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente ajournée : rente payable après l'âge normal de la retraite

Le participant a droit à une rente ajournée si, à l'âge normal de la retraite, il continue à travailler pour le même employeur. Le paiement de sa rente sera alors retardé, à moins qu'il n'en décide autrement avec son employeur. Sa rente lui sera versée lorsqu'il cessera de travailler ou au plus tard le 31 décembre de l'année où il aura 71 ans.

Le montant de la rente qu'il recevra sera plus élevé que le montant prévu à l'âge normal de la retraite, car sa rente, étant payée plus tard, sera versée moins longtemps.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant cessant de travailler à 65 ans aurait eu droit à une rente de 1 000 $ par mois.

S'il met fin à son emploi à 67 ans, il aura alors droit à une rente d'environ 1 080 $* par mois.

* Ce montant est fourni à titre indicatif parce qu'il est notamment basé sur des hypothèses d'intérêts, sur le sexe et sur l'âge du participant au moment de l'évaluation.

À savoir ...
  • Si le participant travaille pour le même employeur depuis l'âge normal de la retraite, il ne perd pas les paiements de rente qui auraient été normalement payables à compter de l'âge normal de retraite s'il avait cessé de travailler à cet âge-là. Cependant, à sa retraite, on ne lui versera pas ces paiements de façon rétroactive. À la place, le montant de sa rente sera augmenté pour une valeur équivalente.
  • Si le participant continue à travailler mais que sa rémunération diminue de façon permanente, par exemple parce qu'il a réduit ses heures de travail, il peut demander qu'une partie de sa rente soit versée immédiatement pour lui permettre de combler le manque à gagner.
  • Dès que le participant ne travaille plus pour l'employeur qu'il avait à l'âge normal de la retraite, sa rente devient payable. S'il en retarde la mise en paiement, elle ne sera pas augmentée pour tenir compte des paiements de rentes qui auraient normalement été payables depuis sa fin d'emploi, à moins d'indications contraires dans le régime.
  • Si le participant et son employeur continuent à cotiser au régime après que le participant a atteint l'âge normal de la retraite, les cotisations versées après l'âge normal de la retraite (c'est-à-dire durant l'ajournement de sa rente) lui donneront droit à une rente additionnelle.

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente additionnelle : supplément à la rente de retraite

Le participant a droit à une rente additionnelle provenant :

  • des sommes transférées d'un ancien régime de retraite et qui ne peuvent pas lui être remboursées
  • de ses cotisations volontaires (les cotisations qu'il a versées sans contrepartie de l'employeur) qui ont été converties en rente
  • des cotisations salariales excédentaires, soit les cotisations salariales avec intérêts qui excèdent 50 % de la valeur de la rente à laquelle il a droit
  • des cotisations salariales avec intérêts qu'il a versées après l'âge normal de la retraite, c'est-à-dire durant l'ajournement de sa rente

Si le participant cesse de participer activement au régime plus de 10 ans avant l'âge normal de la retraite (par exemple, avant 55 ans si l'âge normal de la retraite est de 65 ans), et que le montant de sa rente est peu indexé ou ne l'est pas du tout entre le moment de son départ et celui où il aura atteint les 10 ans de l'âge normal de la retraite, il est également possible que cela lui donne droit à une rente additionnelle.

La rente additionnelle s'ajoute à la rente de retraite.

 

Haut de page  

 

Prestation de raccordement : supplément (boni) à la rente de retraite payable avant 65 ans

La prestation de raccordement (ou « bridge ») est un supplément temporaire que le régime peut offrir. Normalement, elle est payée jusqu'à ce que les rentes provenant des régimes publics (Sécurité de la vieillesse et Régime de rentes du Québec) soient versées. Cette prestation n'a aucune incidence sur le montant de la rente de retraite prévue par le régime.

Contrairement à la rente temporaire, qui est une avance sur le revenu de retraite, la prestation de raccordement est un supplément à ce revenu.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant a 62 ans. Il a droit à une rente de 1 000 $ par mois (12 000 $ par année) et à une prestation de raccordement de 3 000 $ par année payable jusqu'à 65 ans. Il aura un revenu annuel de 15 000 $ (12 000 $ + 3 000 $) jusqu'à 65 ans et de 12 000 $ à partir de 65 ans.

À ces revenus s'ajouteront la rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec et la pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, lorsqu'il en demandera le paiement.

Le régime indique jusqu'à quel âge la prestation de raccordement sera versée, peu importe si le participant reçoit ou non les rentes des régimes publics.

Par exemple, un régime offre une prestation de raccordement payable jusqu'à 65 ans parce que c'est l'âge à compter duquel le participant a droit à la pleine rente du Régime de rentes du Québec. Même si celui-ci demande sa rente du Régime de rentes du Québec à 62 ans, la prestation de raccordement lui sera quand même versée jusqu'à 65 ans.

 

Haut de page  

 

Prestation de retraite progressive: un supplément (boni) à votre salaire pour vous inciter à demeurer au travail plus longtemps ou à y retourner

Si le régime le permet, le participant peut convenir avec son employeur de recevoir une prestation de retraite progressive de son régime de retraite tout en travaillant à temps plein ou à temps partiel s'il est âgé :

  • d'au moins 60 ans OU d'au moins 55 ans et qu'il reçoit ou a droit à une rente anticipée sans réduction
  • de moins de 65 ans

À savoir ...


À compter de 65 ans, les dispositions de la rente ajournée s'appliquent.

Si l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime est inférieur à 65 ans, le participant doit choisir entre la prestation de retraite progressive et la rente ajournée pour la période comprise entre l'âge normal de la retraite et 65 ans. Il peut s'en prévaloir successivement mais pas en même temps.


La prestation de retraite progressive ne diminuera pas le montant de la rente de retraite. Selon les dispositions du régime, le participant peut également accumuler de nouveaux droits pendant cette période ce qui augmentera sa rente de retraite.

Les modalités de calcul et de paiement de la prestation de retraite progressive doivent être prévues dans l'entente. Toutefois, le montant de cette prestation ne peut pas dépasser 60 % du montant de la rente à laquelle le participant a droit ou à la rente qu'il reçoit, en excluant la rente constituée avec les cotisations salariales excédentaires, les cotisations volontaires et les sommes transférées au régime.

L'entente ne peut pas prévoir des conditions d'âge ou d'autres modalités plus avantageuses.

Pour recevoir une prestation de retraite progressive, le participant doit en faire la demande à l'administrateur du régime.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Un participant a 60 ans et a droit à une rente de retraite de 2 000 $ par mois. Ses cotisations salariales excédentaires lui procurent une rente additionnelle de 200 $ par mois. Par ailleurs, le régime lui accorde une prestation de raccordement de 400 $ par mois jusqu'à 65 ans. S'il prend sa retraite, sa rente s'élèverait à 2 600 $ par mois jusqu'à 65 ans et de 2 200 $ par la suite.

La prestation de retraite progressive maximale est de 1 440 $ par mois, soit 60 % de 2 400 $, puisque la rente additionnelle de 200 $ n'est pas incluse dans ce calcul.

Si le participant retraité retourne au travail pour un employeur partie au même régime et qu'il reçoit une prestation de retraite progressive, sa rente de retraite sera suspendue.

Notez que...
Il existe une autre mesure de retraite progressive qui peut donner droit à un paiement au comptant. Un participant ne peut pas se prévaloir de ces deux mesures pour une même période.

 

Haut de page  

 

Rente d'invalidité :

La valeur de la rente d'invalidité doit être au moins égale à la valeur des droits à laquelle le participant aurait eu droit sans invalidité. Le montant de la rente d'invalidité peut donc être différent du montant de la rente de retraite qu'il a acquise.

Notez que...


L'invalidité peut également donner droit à un paiement au comptant.


  • Haut de la page

Coin pratique