Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Act, regulations and agreements concerning pension plans in the pulp and paper sector

2016 Agreement Respecting Multi-Jurisdictional Pension Plans

The Agreement was signed by British Columbia, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Québec and Saskatchewan. It applies to pension plans that are under the jurisdiction of the supervisory authority of any of the provinces and that have members and beneficiaries in more than one of the provinces. The Agreement has effect from 1 July 2016.

For the provinces party to the Agreement, it replaces the:

  • Memorandum of Reciprocal Agreement, which, since 1968, applied to pension plans for which member benefits were governed by laws of those jurisdictions
  • 2011 Agreement Respecting Multi-Jurisdictional Pension Plans between Québec and Ontario.

Consult the 2016 Agreement on the website of the Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA) This link will open in a new window..

Consult the Newsletter Express of 20 July 2016 on the 2016 Agreement.

2011 Agreement Respecting Multi-Jurisdictional Pension Plans

The Agreement was signed by Québec and Ontario and applies to pension plans under the supervision of the Québec or Ontario pension authorities with regards to members and beneficiaries in each jurisdiction. The Agreement has effect from 1 July 2011.

The 2011 Agreement continues to apply to matters pending on 30 June 2016 before the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario as of 8 June 2019), Retraite Québec, an administrative body or court (section 28 of the 2016 Agreement).

Consult the following documents on the Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA) website:

Entente concernant les exploitations de pâtes et papiers d'AbitibiBowater au Québec

(Agreement concerning pulp and paper operations of AbitibiBowater in Québec; French only)

The agreement between AbitibiBowater and the Gouvernement du Québec was reached as a result of the restructuring of the company. The purpose of the agreement is to ensure the continuity of the pension plans with Retraite Québec's supervision (the Régie des rentes du Québec's supervision before 1 January 2016).
Last update: August 2011.
  • Top of page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Loi, règlements et ententes concernant des régimes du secteur des pâtes et papiers

Entente de 2016 sur les régimes de retraite relevant de plus d'une autorité gouvernementale

Cette entente a été signée par la Colombie-Britannique, la Nouvelle-Écosse, l'Ontario, le Québec et la Saskatchewan. Elle s'applique aux régimes de retraite qui relèvent de l'une ou l'autre des autorités de surveillance de ces provinces et qui comptent des participants et bénéficiaires dans plus d'une de ces provinces. Elle entre en vigueur le 1er juillet 2016.

Cette entente remplace, pour les provinces qui y sont parties, à la fois :

  • l'Accord multilatéral de réciprocité qui s'appliquait depuis 1968 aux régimes de retraite dont les droits des participants sont régis par les lois de ces autorités législatives
  • l'entente de 2011 entre le Québec et l'Ontario sur les régimes relevant de plus d'une autorité législative.

Consultez l'entente 2016 sur le site de l'Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR) Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Consultez La Lettre express du 20 juillet 2016 portant sur l'entente de 2016.

Entente de 2011 sur les régimes de retraite relevant de plus d'une autorité gouvernementale

Cette entente a été signée par le Québec et l'Ontario. Elle s'applique aux régimes de retraite sous la surveillance du Québec ou de l'Ontario en ce qui concerne les participants et bénéficiaires de l'une ou l'autre de ces deux autorités gouvernementales. Elle est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2011.

Cette entente continue de s'appliquer à l'égard des affaires en cours au 30 juin 2016 devant la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (l'Autorité ontarienne de réglementation des services financiers depuis le 8 juin 2019), Retraite Québec, un organisme administratif ou un tribunal (article 28 de l'entente de 2016).

Consultez sur le site de l'Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR) :

Entente concernant les exploitations de pâtes et papiers d'AbitibiBowater au Québec

Cette entente entre AbitibiBowater et le gouvernement du Québec a été conclue dans le contexte de la restructuration de l'entreprise. Elle vise notamment le maintien des régimes de retraite surveillés par Retraite Québec (la Régie des rentes du Québec avant le 1er janvier 2016).
Dernière mise à jour : août 2011.
  • Haut de la page