To become a member of the information committee

Are you a member of a simplified pension plan (SIPP) and interested in actively take part in its administration?

Unlike a defined contribution plan in which a pension committee generally acts as plan administrator, the SIPP is administered by the financial institution chosen by your employer, or by your employer and your union.

The financial institution provides the members as well as the supervisory agencies (Retraite Québec and the Canada Revenue Agency) relevant information about the plan administration, including a statement of member contributions and a summary of the provisions of the plan with a description of members' rights and obligations.

The employer also assumes some administrative tasks

Membership and member withdrawal

  • Sets the requirements for membership and withdrawal
  • Informs the employee of his or her eligibility
  • Notifies the financial institution of memberships and withdrawals

Contributions

  • Collects contributions and sends them to the financial institution

Information to members

  • Sends the members' requests for information to the financial institution and sends the members the institution's responses, if there is no retirement information committee.

Setting up a retirement information commitee

A retirement information committee can be set up in the company. However, the simplified pension plan (SIPP) must have at least 50 members who work for the same employer and who wish to create this type of committee. The financial institution and the employer must be informed before the committee is organized.

There are no established procedures for setting up the committee or for the number of members who can participate. Members of the SIPP who work for the same employer as well as any other interested person can express their interest in participating.

The role of the retirement information committee

The committee acts as an intermediary between the financial institution and the members. The committee, rather than the employer, sends the members the administrative and financial information related to the plan that must be available to members. The committee can also provide members with other administrative information to give them a better understanding of their rights.

  • Top of page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Pour devenir membre du comité d'information...

Vous êtes un participant à un régime de retraite simplifié (RRS) et vous désirez prendre part activement à son administration?

Contrairement à un régime à cotisation déterminée pour lequel un comité de retraite agit à titre d'administrateur, le RRS est administré par l'établissement financier avec lequel votre employeur, ou votre employeur et votre syndicat, ont choisi de faire affaire.

L'établissement financier fournit aux participants et aux organismes de surveillance (Retraite Québec et l'Agence du revenu du Canada) les renseignements pertinents sur l'administration du régime, dont un relevé de cotisations des participants et un sommaire des dispositions du régime de retraite avec une description de leurs droits et obligations.

L'employeur assume aussi certaines tâches administratives

Adhésion et retrait des participants

  • Fixer les conditions d'adhésion et de retrait
  • Informer l'employé de son admissibilité
  • Aviser l'établissement financier des adhésions et des retraits

Cotisations

  • Percevoir les cotisations et les transmettre à l'établissement financier

Information aux participants

  • Transmettre les demandes d'information des participants à l'établissement financier s'il n'y a pas de comité d'information sur la retraite.

La création d'un comité d'information sur la retraite

Un comité d'information sur la retraite peut être mis sur pied dans l'entreprise. Cependant, le régime de retraite simplifié (RRS) doit compter au moins 50 participants qui travaillent pour un même employeur et qui souhaitent créer ce type de comité. L'établissement financier et l'employeur doivent être avisés préalablement de la mise en place du comité.

Il n'existe aucune règle sur la procédure à suivre pour établir ce comité, ni sur le nombre de membres qu'il peut compter. Les participants au RRS d'un même employeur ainsi que toute personne intéressée peuvent manifester leur désir d'en faire partie.

Le rôle du comité d'information sur la retraite

Ce comité agit comme intermédiaire entre l'établissement financier et les participants. Il transmet à la place de l'employeur les renseignements administratifs et financiers relatifs au régime, qui doivent être accessibles aux participants. Le comité peut aussi fournir aux participants d'autres renseignements administratifs pour les aider à mieux comprendre leurs droits.

  • Haut de la page