Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Inflation and Indexation

In our society, the cost of goods and services has a tendency to increase every year. This is what we call inflation. Inflation has a direct impact on your buying power. When prices increase, your buying power decreases. However, your buying power increases when prices decrease. To maintain your buying power, you must take inflation into consideration.

Inflation is usually measured using the consumer price index (CPI), which is set by Statistics Canada using a basket of consumer goods and services. The index allows us to estimate the average price variation of goods from one year to the next.

For example, in Québec, the CPI increased from 129.7 to 132.6 between June 2018 and July 2019. The inflation rate was therefore 2.2% ((132.6 – 129.7) ÷ 129.7 = 2.2%).  It usually varies between 1.0% and 3.0% per year.

The following table shows the future cost of $10 000 in buying power, calculated using different inflation rates over three decades.

Cost of $10 000 in buying power according to inflation rates and the number of years
Inflation rate10 years 20 years 30 years
1.0% $11 046 $12 202  $13 478 
1.5% $11 605  $13 469 $15 631 
2.0% $12 190  $14 859  $18 114 
2.5% $12 801  $16 386 $20 976 
3.0% $13 439  $18 061  $24 273 

As a result, with a 2.0% inflation rate, if you spend $10 000 per year, making the same purchases in 10 years will cost you $12 190.

In the last decade, the annual inflation rate has always been under 3.0% and, according to specialists, it should remain around 2.0% in the long term. Although it seems unlikely that it should reach 11% like in 1980, it could be possible.

Annual indexation of the pensions under the Québec Pension Plan

When a value is adjusted according to an index or reference rate, it means that it is indexed. Generally, retirement income that comes from personal savings is not indexed. Consequently, its buying power decreases over time.

However, pensions paid under the Québec Pension Plan and the Old Age Security Program, as well as the Guaranteed Income Supplement are indexed according to the consumer price index (CPI).  The pensions are indexed for beneficiaries to maintain the same buying power over the years.

The indexation rate of benefits under the Plan correspond to the percentage of adjustment of the amounts paid to beneficiaries. The indexation rate is set in January in accordance with the average CPI, which is calculated using data published by Statistics Canada for the 12-month period ending on 31 October of the previous year. The annual average corresponds to the Québec Pension Plan pension index.

For example, from 2018 to 2019, the QPP pension index increased from 130.0 to 133.0. This means that the pensions' indexation rate for 2019 was 2.3% ((133.0 – 130.0) ÷ 130.0 = 2.3%). However, if, for a given year, the pension index were lower than the year before (deflation), the pension amounts would remain the same.

Indexation rate of pensions under the Plan according to the year
 YearIndexation rate (%)
2019 2.3
2018 1.5
2017 1.4
2016 1.2
2015 1.8

Summary

Inflation is a key factor to consider when planning your retirement withdrawal strategy. Part of your savings is protected: your pensions paid under the Old Age Security Program and the Québec Pension Plan, for example. As for the remainder, you have to plan enough savings to counter inflation and maintain your buying power.  

  • Top of page

Inflation et indexation

Dans notre société, les prix des biens et des services ont tendance à augmenter chaque année. C'est ce qu'on appelle l'inflation. Celle-ci a une incidence directe sur votre pouvoir d'achat. Quand les prix augmentent, votre pouvoir d'achat diminue. À l'inverse, quand les prix diminuent, votre pouvoir d'achat augmente. Ainsi, pour maintenir celui-ci dans le temps, il faut tenir compte de l'inflation.

Pour mesurer l'inflation, on utilise habituellement l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC), qui est établi par Statistique Canada à partir d'un panier de biens et de services. Grâce à cet indice, on peut estimer la variation moyenne du prix des biens en comparant leur prix d'une année à l'autre.

Par exemple, pour le Québec, l'IPC est passé de 129,7 à 132,6 entre juin 2018 et juillet 2019. On dira donc que l'inflation a été de 2,2 % ((132,6 – 129,7) ÷ 129,7 = 2,2 %). Généralement, elle varie de 1,0 % à 3,0 % par année.

Le tableau suivant vous permet de voir combien vous coûterait le maintien d'un pouvoir d'achat d'une valeur de 10 000 $ selon différents taux d'inflation et sur 3 décennies.

Somme à débourser pour des achats annuels de 10 000 $ selon le taux d'inflation et le nombre d'années
Taux d'inflation 10 ans 20 ans 30 ans
1,0 % 11 046 $ 12 202 $ 13 478 $
1,5 % 11 605 $ 13 469 $ 15 631 $
2,0 % 12 190 $ 14 859 $ 18 114 $
2,5 % 12 801 $ 16 386 $ 20 976 $
3,0 % 13 439 $ 18 061 $ 24 273 $

Ainsi, si vous dépensez 10 000 $ par année et que l'inflation est de 2,0 %, faire les mêmes achats dans 10 ans vous coûtera 12 190 $.

Au cours des 10 dernières années, le taux d'inflation annuel a toujours été inférieur à 3,0 %. Les spécialistes s'attendent généralement à ce qu'il se situe aux alentours de 2,0 % à long terme. Bien qu'il soit peu probable qu'il grimpe à 11 % comme en 1980, cela reste dans le domaine du possible.

Indexation annuelle des rentes du Régime de rentes du Québec

On parle d'indexation lorsqu'on rajuste une valeur à partir d'un indice ou d'un taux de référence. Habituellement, les revenus de retraite qui proviennent des économies personnelles ne sont pas indexés. Par conséquent, le pouvoir d'achat qu'ils procurent diminue avec le temps.

Par contre, les rentes versées par le Régime de rentes du Québec de même que la pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Supplément de revenu garanti sont indexés en fonction de l'IPC. L'indexation des rentes vise à ce que les bénéficiaires conservent le même pouvoir d'achat au fil des années.

Le taux d'indexation des rentes du Régime correspond au rajustement, en pourcentage, de la somme versée aux bénéficiaires. Il est fixé en janvier en fonction de la moyenne de l'IPC établi d'après les données fournies par Statistique Canada, pour la période de 12 mois prenant fin le 31 octobre précédent. Cette moyenne annuelle correspond à l'indice des rentes du Régime de rentes du Québec.

Par exemple de 2018 à 2019, l'indice des rentes du RRQ est passé de 130,0 à 133,0. On dira donc que le taux d'indexation des rentes pour 2019 a été de 2,3 % ((133,0 – 130,0) ÷ 130,0 = 2,3 %). Cependant, si pour une année donnée, l'indice des rentes était inférieur à celui de l'année précédente (déflation), le montant des rentes demeurerait identique.

Taux d'indexation des rentes du Régime de rentes du Québec selon l'année
Année Taux d'indexation (en %)
2019 2,3
2018 1,5
2017 1,4
2016 1,2
2015 1,8

En bref

Le risque d'inflation est un élément important à considérer dans votre stratégie de décaissement. Une partie de votre épargne en vue de la retraite, par exemple votre pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et votre rente du Régime de rentes du Québec, est protégée contre ce risque. Pour le reste, pensez à économiser suffisamment pour contrer l'inflation et conserver votre pouvoir d'achat.  

Haut de la page