Régie des rentes du Québec

You stop working

Québec Pension Plan

  • The Régie des rentes du Québec excludes from your contributory period certain months in which you had low or no earnings. This increases your average monthly income and thus the amount of your pension.

Supplemental pension plans

  • If you stop working, it is likely that you will no longer be an active member of the pension plan. In such case, your plan administrator will send you a statement of your benefits. You may be able to transfer these benefits to another savings instrument of your choice.
  • The methods for transferring benefits depend on whether you are a member of a defined contribution plan, a defined benefit plan or a simplified pension plan.
  • If you stop working temporarily, you will most likely continue to be an active member of your plan. However, you will not necessarily accumulate new benefits during that period. For more information, consult the plan summary or contact your plan administrator.

Other useful links...

  • Will you stop working temporarily because of a birth or adoption? Consult our section on Birth and adoption to find out more about the child assistance measure.
  • To find out what steps to take following the birth of a child, or to learn more about parental leave, consult the section Becoming a parent This link will open in a new window. on the Québec government portal, or the publication "Becoming a Parent", available in English on the same site.
  •  Share
  • Top of the page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Vous cessez de travailler

Régime de rentes du Québec

  • Nous déduisons de votre période de cotisation certains mois de gains faibles ou nuls. Ceci a pour effet de hausser la moyenne mensuelle des revenus et d'augmenter ainsi le montant de votre rente.

Régimes complémentaires de retraite

  • Si vous cessez de travailler, il est probable que cela mette fin à votre participation active au régime. Dans un tel cas, votre administrateur de régime vous transmettra un relevé de vos droits. Vous pourriez alors avoir la possibilité de transférer ces droits dans l'instrument de votre choix.
  • Les modalités de transfert applicables à votre régime diffèrent selon que vous participez à un régime à cotisation déterminée, à un régime à prestations déterminées ou à un régime de retraite simplifié.
  • Si vous cessez temporairement de travailler, dans la plupart des cas, vous continuez de participer activement à votre régime. Toutefois, vous n'accumulez pas nécessairement de nouveaux droits pendant cette période. Consultez le sommaire de votre régime ou communiquez avec l'administrateur pour en savoir plus.

Autres liens utiles

  • Vous cessez temporairement de travailler en raison d'une naissance ou d'une adoption? Consultez notre rubrique Naissance et adoption pour en savoir plus sur l'Allocation famille. 
  • Pour connaître les démarches à effectuer lors de la naissance d'un enfant, ou pour vous informer sur les congés parentaux, consultez la section Devenir parent Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre. du portail du gouvernement du Québec.
  • Haut de la page