International Social Security Agreements

The Gouvernement du Québec has social security agreements with 39 countries. Our Bureau des ententes de sécurité sociale (BESS) is responsible for the application of these agreements. The agreements allow workers:

See also

The table of signatory countries. It gives:

  • the worker an overview of the types of benefits that could be paid by the countries that have signed a social security agreement '
  • the various contributions employers and employees who have a certificate of coverage must make for social benefits
  • links to download the forms needed by employers and self-employed workers to request a certificate of coverage for France and the United States of America.

List of countries that have a social security agreement with Québec

The following countries have signed a social security agreement with Québec under which it is possible to apply for a pension or obtain a certificate of coverage.

Bulgaria ChileCroatiaCyprus
Czech RepublicDenmarkDominicaFinland
RomaniaSaint LuciaSerbiaSlovakia
SloveniaSouth KoreaSwedenSwitzerland
TurkeyUnited States of America Uruguay 

Table of the signatory countries

Do you need help? Feel free to make an appointment with one of our representatives.

To find out more...

Practical corner


Tool for estimating your retirement income

It's free, intelligent and innovative. CompuPension is an effective and useful tool for knowing about the income sources that you will have after retirement.

Top of page