Régie des rentes du Québec

Balancing work and retirement

For workers in the last phase of their working life, the Québec Pension Plan provides measures to guide them progressively toward retirement.

Early retirement

As of age 60, workers who made sufficient contributions can draw a retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan and continue to work on a part-time or full-time basis.

Retirement pension supplement

Workers who are already receiving a retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan and who work must contribute to the Plan once their earnings exceed the 3 500 $ basic exemption.

These contributions entitle workers to an increase in their retirement pension: the retirement pension supplement. No application needs to be filed because the Régie will automatically pay it.

  • The supplement is added to the person's pension for the rest of his or her life.
  • The supplement is payable as of 1 January of the year following the one in which the person made contributions.
  • The total supplement for the year is 0,5% of the earnings on which he or she contributed during the previous year.
  • The pension increases even if the person is already receiving the maximum regular pension payable.
  • The pension continues to increase on a yearly basis as long as the person continues to make contributions.

Important...

Even if the supplement is payable as of 1 January, it usually takes a few months before the Régie receives from Revenu Québec the information required to calculate it. The Régie will pay the amounts owing retroactive to 1 January.



Example

Louise is receiving a retirement pension of 750 $ per month. This year, her employment earnings are 22 700 $. She contributes to the Plan based on employment earnings of 19 200 $ (22 700 $ minus the basic exemption of 3 500 $). On 1 January of the following year, Louise will be entitled to a supplement of 8 $ a month (19 200 $ x 0,5% = 96 $ a year) because of the contributions she made. If she continues to work in the following years, new supplements will be added to her pension for each year worked.


Note that...
Workers who are receiving a retirement pension under the Canada Pension Plan and who work in Québec could receive a retirement pension supplement under the Québec Pension Plan (QPP). If workers contribute to the QPP, the Régie will automatically pay them the supplement without them having to apply for it. The amount will be equal to 0,5% of the earnings on which they contributed to the QPP in the previous year.

Agreement on contributions to the Québec Pension Plan during phased retirement

Employees 55 years of age or over (but under age 70) can work less while contributing just as much.

One cannot receive a retirement pension under the Plan before age 60. However, at age 55, workers can reduce their work hours while continuing to contribute to the Plan as if their pay had not been reduced. That means that their future retirement pension would not be reduced. To take advantage of phased retirement, your employer must be willing to reach an agreement with you for that purpose.

A worker's conditions of employment or the provisions of a company pension plan may not allow him or her to reach an agreement on contributions during phased retirement. The worker should ask the employer whether an agreement is possible in his or her case.

Note that phased retirement is not available to self-employed workers. However, the owner of an incorporated business who contributes to the Québec Pension Plan as an employee can take phased retirement.

The Régie offers on request an online service that workers can use to obtain a simulation of the effects of an agreement on contributions during phased retirement.

  •  Share
  • Top of the page 

CompuPension

Tool for estimating your retirement income

It's free, intelligent and innovative. CompuPension is an effective and useful tool for knowing about the income sources that you will have after retirement.

La conciliation travail-retraite

Lorsqu'un travailleur arrive en fin de carrière, le Régime de rentes du Québec prévoit des mesures pour l'amener progressivement vers la retraite.

La rente de retraite anticipée

À partir de 60 ans, une personne qui a suffisamment cotisé peut recevoir sa rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec et continuer à travailler à temps plein ou à temps partiel.

Le supplément à la rente de retraite

Une personne qui reçoit déjà sa rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec et qui travaille doit cotiser au Régime dès que ses revenus de travail dépassent l'exemption générale de 3 500 $.

Ces cotisations lui donnent droit à une augmentation de sa rente : le supplément à la rente de retraite. Il n'y a aucune demande à faire, puisque nous le verserons automatiquement.

  • La personne recevra ce supplément à même sa rente pour le reste de sa vie.
  • Le supplément est payable à partir du 1er janvier de l'année suivant celle où la personne a cotisé.
  • Le supplément total pour une année est égal à 0,5 % du revenu sur lequel la personne a cotisé pendant l'année précédente.
  • La rente sera augmentée même si la personne reçoit déjà chaque mois la somme maximale.
  • La rente continuera d'augmenter annuellement tant que la personne versera de nouvelles cotisations.
Important

Même si le supplément est payable à partir du 1er janvier, il s'écoule généralement quelques mois avant que nous recevions de Revenu Québec les données requises pour le calculer. Nous versons alors sous forme de paiement rétroactif l'augmentation due pour les mois écoulés depuis le 1er janvier.


Exemple
Louise est bénéficiaire d'une rente de retraite de 750 $ par mois. Cette année, son revenu de travail est de 22 700 $. Elle cotise donc au Régime de rentes sur des revenus de travail de 19 200 $ (22 700 $ moins l'exemption générale de 3 500 $). Le 1er janvier de l'année suivante, Louise aura droit à un supplément de 8 $ par mois (19 200 $ x 0,5 % = 96 $ par année) grâce aux cotisations qu'elle aura versées. Si elle continue de travailler au cours des années suivantes, de nouveaux suppléments s'ajouteront alors à sa rente pour chaque année de travail.

Notez que...


Une personne qui reçoit une rente de retraite du Régime de pensions du Canada et qui travaille au Québec pourrait recevoir du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) un supplément à sa rente de retraite. En effet, si elle cotise au RRQ, nous lui verserons automatiquement ce supplément sans qu'elle ait à le demander. Le montant sera égal à 0,5 % du revenu sur lequel elle aura cotisé au RRQ l'année précédente.

L'entente sur la cotisation au Régime de rentes du Québec dans le cadre d'une retraite progressive

Un travailleur salarié de 55 ans ou plus mais de moins de 70 ans peut travailler moins tout en cotisant autant.

Il n'est pas possible de recevoir une rente de retraite du Régime avant l'âge de 60 ans. Par contre, dès 55 ans, un travailleur pourrait réduire ses heures de travail et continuer de cotiser au Régime comme si son salaire n'avait pas subi de réduction. Ainsi, le montant de sa future rente de retraite ne serait pas diminué. Son employeur devra cependant accepter de conclure une entente avec lui.

Il est possible que les conditions de travail ou que les dispositions du régime de retraite d'un travailleur ne permettent pas une entente sur la cotisation dans le cadre d'une retraite progressive. Il est conseillé de s'informer auprès de son employeur pour savoir si une telle entente peut être autorisée.

Notez qu'un travailleur autonome n'est pas admissible à la retraite progressive. Toutefois, le propriétaire d'une entreprise incorporée qui cotise au Régime à titre de travailleur salarié peut en profiter.

Nous offrons sur demande un service de simulation des effets d'une entente sur la cotisation dans le cadre d'une retraite progressive pour les personnes admissibles qui s'intéressent à cette mesure.

  • Haut de la page

SimulRetraite

Outil de simulation des revenus à la retraite

Gratuit, intelligent et novateur, SimulRetraite est un outil efficace et utile pour connaître les sources de revenus dont vous disposerez à la retraite !