Private pension plans

  • Private pension plans, of which there are several types, are a complement to public plans. You need to know what type of plan you have in order to find out the income that could be available to you.
  • To obtain retirement income from your private plans, consult your information documents or contact the plan administrator to find out the conditions that apply.
  • Retirement income is taxable.

Are you a member of a pension plan?

  • If you are a member of a pension plan offered by an employer in the private or municipal sectors or some parapublic sectors, whose activities are under Québec jurisdiction, your supplemental pension plan is under the supervision of Retraite Québec and is subject to the Québec Supplemental Pension Plans Act.
  • If your plan has workers in Québec and in another Canadian province or territory, it may be under the supervision of another agency, whose supervisory authority is similar to that of Retraite Québec. In such a case, the other agency must act on behalf of our agency to ensure that your rights are in conformity with the Québec Supplemental Pension Plans Act.
  • If your plan is offered by an employer in the Québec public or parapublic sectors, (Québec public service, school system, health system, employees of the Sûreté du Québec, peace officers, etc.), it is administered by Retraite Québec. The plan is subject to the Québec law specific to the category of employees affected.
  • If your plan is offered by an employer in the federal private sector, whose activities are under federal jurisdiction (banks, interprovincial transportation companies, telecommunications, etc.), it is supervised by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions This link will open in a new window. and is subject to the federal Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985.
  • If your plan is offered by an employer in the federal public sector (federal public service, the Canadian Forces, the RCMP, etc.), it is administered by a specific agency and subject to a specific federal law. For more information, contact the Government of Canada This link will open in a new window..

Do you have an LIRA or LIF?

  • Locked-in retirement accounts (LIRAs) and life income funds (LIFs) are transfer instruments used to transfer amounts that have been accumulated in supplemental pension plans. An LIRA is a retirement savings plan, while an LIF allows you to withdraw a retirement income (disbursement).
  • The Supplemental Pension Plans Act applies to your LIRA or LIF if the pension plan from which the amounts are transferred is subject to the Act or if we administer the plan.

Other useful links

  • Top of page

CompuPension

Tool for estimating your retirement income

It's free, intelligent and innovative. CompuPension is an effective and useful tool for knowing about the income sources that you will have after retirement.

Les régimes privés de retraite

  • Il existe plusieurs types de régimes privés de retraite qui sont un complément aux régimes publics. Vous devriez connaître les vôtres afin de vérifier les revenus qu'ils pourraient vous procurer.
  • Pour obtenir un revenu de retraite de vos régimes privés, consultez vos documents d'information ou communiquez avec l'administrateur du régime pour vous informer des modalités applicables.
  • Les revenus de retraite sont imposables.

Vous participez à un régime de retraite

  • Si vous participez à un régime de retraite offert par un employeur du secteur privé, municipal et de certains secteurs parapublics, dont les activités sont de compétence provinciale, il s'agit d'un régime complémentaire de retraite surveillé par Retraite Québec. Ce régime est assujetti à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.
  • Si votre régime compte à la fois des travailleurs québécois et des travailleurs d'autres provinces ou territoires, il est possible que celui-ci soit sous la surveillance d'un autre organisme ayant un mandat semblable à celui de Retraite Québec. Cet organisme doit s'assurer, au nom de Retraite Québec, que vos droits sont conformes à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.
  • Si votre régime est offert par un employeur des secteurs public ou parapublic québécois (fonction publique québécoise, réseaux de l'éducation et de la santé, Sûreté du Québec, agents de la paix, etc.), il est administré par Retraite Québec. Ce régime est assujetti à une loi provinciale particulière selon la catégorie d'employés visés.
  • Si votre régime est offert par un employeur du secteur privé fédéral dont les activités sont de compétence fédérale (banques, entreprises de transport interprovincial ou de télécommunications, etc.), il est surveillé par le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre.. Ce régime est assujetti à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension.
  • Si votre régime est offert par un employeur du secteur public fédéral (fonction publique fédérale, Forces canadiennes, GRC, etc.), il est administré par un organisme précis et assujetti à une loi fédérale particulière. Pour plus de détails, communiquez avec le gouvernement du Canada Cet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre..

Vous avez un CRI ou un FRV

  • La Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite s'applique à votre CRI ou à votre FRV si le régime de retraite d'où proviennent les sommes y est assujetti ou encore s'il est administré par Retraite Québec.

Autres liens utiles

  • Haut de la page

SimulRetraite

Outil de simulation des revenus à la retraite

Gratuit, intelligent et novateur, SimulRetraite est un outil efficace et utile pour connaître les sources de revenus dont vous disposerez à la retraite !