Phased retirement under the Québec Pension Plan

During the last phase of your working life, the Québec Pension Plan provides measures to guide you progressively toward retirement.

Early retirement

If you are 60 years of age and have contributed sufficiently to the Québec Pension Plan, you can receive your retirement pension while continuing to work on a part-time or full-time basis. However, you must have contributed to the Plan for at least 1 year.

Since you continue to contribute to the Plan, you will receive a retirement pension supplement as of the following year.

Retirement pension supplement

 

Are you already receiving your retirement pension under the Québec Pension Plan (QPP)?

You can work and continue to receive it. However, you must contribute to the Plan as soon as your earnings exceed the $3500 basic exemption.

These contributions entitle you to an increase in your retirement pension: the retirement pension supplement. No application needs to be filed to receive it because we will automatically pay it.

  • The supplement will be added to your pension amount for the rest of your life.
  • The supplement is payable as of 1 January of the year following the one during which you made contributions.
  • The supplement that will be paid in 2022 in respect of income earned in 2021 is equal to 0.58% of the earnings on which you contributed. Due to the enhancement of the QPP in effect since 2019, the supplement will continue to increase until 2024, the year during which it will be 0.66% of the earnings on which you contributed during the previous year.
  • Your pension will increase even if you are already receiving the maximum amount each month.
  • Your pension will continue to increase on a yearly basis as long as you continue to make new contributions.
Important

Even if the supplement is payable as of 1 January, it usually takes a few months before we receive from Revenu Québec the information required to calculate it. We will pay you the amounts owing retroactive to 1 January.

Example

Louise is receiving a retirement pension of $750 per month. In 2021, her employment earnings were $22 700. She is therefore contributing to the Québec Pension Plan based on employment earnings of $19 200 ($22 700 minus the basic exemption of $3500). On 1 January 2022, Louise was entitled to a supplement of about $9.28 a month ($19 200 x 0.58% = $111.36 a year) because of the contributions she made in 2021. If she continues to work in the following years, new supplements will then be added to her pension for each year worked.

Note that...

If you are receiving a retirement pension under the Canada Pension Plan and are working in Québec, you could receive a retirement pension supplement under the Québec Pension Plan. If you are contributing to the Plan, we will automatically pay you the supplement without you having to apply for it. Due to the enhancement of the QPP in effect since 2019, the percentage used to calculate the retirement pension supplement gradually increases from 0.5% to 0.66% of the earnings on which you contributed during the previous year.

Agreement on contributions to the Québec Pension Plan during phased retirement

If you are an employee 55 years of age or over (but under age 70), you can work less while contributing just as much.

You cannot receive a retirement pension under the Plan before age 60. However, at age 55, you can reduce your work hours while continuing to contribute to the Plan as if your pay had not been reduced. That means that your future retirement pension would not be reduced because you had decided to work fewer hours. To take advantage of phased retirement, your employer must be willing to make an agreement with you for that purpose.

Your conditions of employment or the provisions of your company pension plan may not allow you to reach an agreement on contributions during phased retirement. Ask your employer whether an agreement is possible in your case.

Note that phased retirement is not available to self-employed workers. However, the owner of an incorporated business who contributes to the Québec Pension Plan as an employee can take phased retirement.

If you are eligible and phased retirement interests you, we offer on request a service that simulates the effects of an agreement on contributions during phased retirement.

Top of page

La retraite progressive et le Régime de rentes du Québec

Lorsque vous arrivez en fin de carrière, le Régime de rentes du Québec prévoit des mesures pour vous amener progressivement vers la retraite.

La rente de retraite anticipée

Si vous avez 60 ans, vous pouvez recevoir votre rente de retraite tout en continuant à travailler à temps plein ou à temps partiel. La seule condition est d'avoir cotisé pour au moins une année au Régime.

Comme vous continuez à cotiser au Régime, vous bénéficierez, dès l'année suivante, du supplément à la rente de retraite.

Le supplément à la rente de retraite

Vous recevez déjà votre rente de retraite du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ)?

Vous pouvez travailler et continuer à la recevoir. Toutefois, vous devez cotiser au Régime dès que vos revenus de travail dépassent l'exemption générale de 3 500 $.

Ces cotisations vous donnent droit à une augmentation de votre rente : le supplément à la rente de retraite. Il n'y a aucune demande à faire, puisque nous vous le verserons automatiquement.

  • Vous recevrez ce supplément à même votre rente pour le reste de votre vie.
  • Le supplément est payable à partir du 1er janvier de l'année suivant celle au cours de laquelle vous avez cotisé.
  • Le supplément total pour l'année 2021 est égal à 0,548 % du revenu sur lequel vous avez cotisé pendant l'année précédente. Grâce à la bonification du RRQ en vigueur depuis 2019, le supplément continue d'augmenter jusqu'en 2024, année au cours de laquelle il sera de 0,66 % du revenu cotisable de l'année précédente.
  • Votre rente sera augmentée même si vous recevez déjà chaque mois la somme maximale.
  • La rente continuera d'augmenter annuellement tant que vous verserez de nouvelles cotisations.
Important

Même si le supplément est payable à partir du 1er janvier, il s'écoule généralement quelques mois avant que nous recevions de Revenu Québec les données requises pour le calculer. Nous vous versons alors sous forme de paiement rétroactif l'augmentation due pour les mois écoulés depuis le 1er janvier.


Exemple

Louise est bénéficiaire d'une rente de retraite de 750 $ par mois. En 2020, son revenu de travail était de 22 700 $. Elle cotise donc au Régime de rentes du Québec sur des revenus de travail de 19 200 $ (22 700 $ moins l'exemption générale de 3 500 $). Le 1er janvier 2021, Louise a eu droit à un supplément d'environ 9 $ par mois (19 200 $ x 0,548 % = 105 $ par année) grâce aux cotisations qu'elle a versées. Si elle continue de travailler au cours des années suivantes, de nouveaux suppléments s'ajouteront alors à sa rente pour chaque année de travail.

Notezque...

Si vous recevez une rente de retraite du Régime de pensions du Canada et que vous travaillez au Québec, vous pourriez recevoir du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) un supplément à votre rente de retraite. En effet, si vous cotisez au RRQ, nous vous verserons automatiquement ce supplément sans que vous ayez à le demander. Grâce à la bonification du RRQ en vigueur depuis 2019, le pourcentage utilisé dans le calcul du supplément à la rente de retraite passe progressivement de 0,5 % à 0,66 % du revenu sur lequel vous avez cotisé l'année précédente.


L'entente sur la cotisation au Régime de rentes du Québec dans le cadre d'une retraite progressive

Si vous êtes un travailleur salarié de 55 ans ou plus mais de moins de 70 ans, vous pouvez travailler moins tout en cotisant autant.

Vous ne pouvez pas recevoir une rente de retraite du Régime avant l'âge de 60 ans. Par contre, dès 55 ans, vous pourriez réduire vos heures de travail et continuer de cotiser au Régime comme si votre salaire n'avait pas subi de réduction. Ainsi, le montant de votre future rente de retraite ne serait pas diminué. Votre employeur devra cependant accepter de conclure une entente avec vous.

Il est possible que vos conditions de travail ou que les dispositions de votre régime de retraite ne permettent pas une entente sur la cotisation dans le cadre d'une retraite progressive. Informez-vous auprès de votre employeur pour savoir si une telle entente peut être autorisée dans votre cas.

Notez qu'un travailleur autonome n'est pas admissible à la retraite progressive. Toutefois, le propriétaire d'une entreprise incorporée qui cotise au Régime à titre de travailleur salarié peut en profiter.

Si vous êtes admissible et que cette mesure vous intéresse, nous vous offrons sur demande un service de simulation des effets d'une entente sur la cotisation dans le cadre d'une retraite progressive.

Haut de la page