Cash payments

In some situations, you are entitled to a cash payment (refund). Your defined benefit plan must provide for certain payments. Others may be offered as options.

Your plan must provide cash payments for:

Your plan may provide cash payments for:

Your plan also offers you different types of pensions.

Note that...

Generally, to obtain a cash payment (refund), you must make an application to your plan administrator. All refunds are taxable. However, it is possible to defer taxation if you can have the amounts deposited directly in an RRSP or a registered retirement income fund (RRIF).

Unless otherwise indicated, you are entitled to a refund at any time, even if you do not have a transfer right, if you meet all the required conditions.


Phased retirement: to reduce your number of hours worked before retirement

If you are still an active member, less than 10 years from the normal retirement age (for example, you are at least 55 if the normal retirement age is 65) and you reach an agreement with your employer to reduce the number of hours you work, you can receive a payment under your pension plan to offset the reduction in your employment income.

You can decide how much you want to receive under your plan, but it cannot be more than the smallest of the following amounts:

  • 70% of the reduction in employment earnings resulting from a reduction in the number of hours worked
  • 40% of the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE) under the Québec Pension Plan for the year in question ($24 640 in 2021)
  • your benefits under the plan

The payment must be made to you in a lump sum for the entire year, on the date of your choice. If you work hours are reduced during a period lasting more than one year, you can receive more than one payment, but not more than one in any single year.

The payment you receive is an advance on your retirement savings. Thus, your benefits will be reduced by the amount equal to the payment. Moreover, since you will still be an active member of the plan, you will continue to accumulate benefits by working during that period.

Note that...


Your employer cannot be required to grant a reduction in your work hours. If the employer refuses, you will not be able to benefit from this measure.

You do not have to take retirement at the end of a period of phased retirement unless the agreement you have with your employer requires you to retire at that time.

Phased retirement can be taken no matter how large or small the percentage of reduction in the number of hours worked.


A helpful example...

Caroline is 56 years old and earns $50 000 a year. She reaches an agreement with her employer to reduce the number of hours worked by 45%. As a result, her employment earnings will be reduced by $22 500, leaving her with an annual salary of $27 500. The amount credited to her account is $250 000.

In 2021, she is entitled to a maximum payment of $15 750 from the pension plan.

In other words, $15 750, which is 70% of the reduction in earnings, is less than 40% of the MPE in 2021, wich is $24 640. That is also less than the balance of her account.

Her income in 2021 could be as much as $43 250 ($27 500 + $15 750).

Note that...


There is another phased retirement measure; it can give entitlement to a cash payment. You cannot benefit from both measures simultaneously.

Advance on your retirement savings under the plan (between ages 55 and 65)

If you are between the ages of 55 and 65 and you are entitled to a pension under your plan (for example, because your active plan membership has ceased) but you do not want to receive your retirement pension right away, you can receive an advance on your pension by opting for a lump-sum payment.

The maximum annual advance

The maximum advance cannot exceed 40% of the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE) under the Québec Pension Plan in the year in which payment of your pension begins less the amount of any temporary pension from another pension plan, annuity contract or life income fund (LIF). In 2021, the advance cannot exceed $24 640.

A helpful example...

Suppose that your active plan membership ceases and you are entitled to a deferred pension of 1 000 $ a month, payable as of age 65. At age 58, you request and receive an advance of 10 000 $. At age 65, you will be entitled to an adjusted pension of 885 $* a month.

* This is a hypothetical amount. The actual amount would be based on actuarial assumptions that include interest rates, your sex and your age at the time the value of your benefits is calculated.

Value of your benefits is less than 20% of the maximum pensionable earnings under the Québec Pension Plan ($12 320 in 2021)

You can receive a refund of the value of your benefits when your active membership ceases if the value is less than 20% of the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE) under the Québec Pension Plan (12 320 $ in 2021). The benefits used to make the calculation do not include any additional voluntary contributions or transfers from another plan that have not been converted into a retirement pension. However, you cannot receive the refund if you are already receiving a retirement pension under the plan.

You can apply for a refund at the following times:

  • within 90 days following receipt of your statement of cessation of active membership, if you are more than 10 years away from the normal retirement age under the plan (for example, if you are under 55 and the normal retirement age is 65)
  • thereafter, once every 5 years, within 90 days following the anniversary of the date on which your active membership ceased

Your plan can, however, have provisions that allow you to receive a refund at other times.

Note that...


In this case, the plan administrator can decide to make a refund to you even if you have not asked for one. The administrator will inform you of the decision and you will have 30 days to indicate how you want payment of your benefits to be made (for example, by a transferring the refund to an RRSP or by a direct, cash payment). If you do not give instructions, the administrator will decide how to pay you (for example, by a direct, cash payment).


Non-residency in Canada

Regardless of the total value of your benefits under the plan and even if you have already started receiving a retirement pension under the plan, you can receive a refund of the value of your benefits or, if you are already receiving a pension, a payment that represents the value of your future pension payments. You must meet all 3 of the following conditions:

  • you have not lived in Canada for at least 2 years
  • your active plan membership has ceased
  • you no longer work for the employer who sponsors the plan.

Benefits in excess of tax limits on transfers

If you request a transfer of your benefits and the plan administrator finds that a portion of those benefits exceeds the amount that can be transferred tax-free, the excess must be paid to you. In this case, you cannot have the refund transferred directly to an RRSP for tax deferral purposes.

Additional voluntary contributions

Your additional voluntary contributions (if any) can be refunded to you if both of the following conditions are met:

  • your active plan membership has ceased
  • your additional voluntary contributions have not already been converted into an additional pension benefit.

You can ask for a refund of your additional voluntary contributions at the following times:

  • within 90 days following receipt of your statement of cessation of active membership, if you are more than 10 years away from the normal retirement age under the plan (for example, if you are under 55 and the normal retirement age is 65)
  • thereafter, once every 5 years, within 90 days following the anniversary of the date on which your active membership ceased

Your plan can, however, have provisions that allow you to receive a refund at other times.

Sums transferred from a previous plan

You can receive a refund of sums that you transferred from a previous plan if all 3 of the following conditions are met:

  • your active membership in your current plan has ceased
  • the sums in question could have been refunded to you under the rules of the plan from which they came
  • the provisions of your current plan allow such refunds.

Disability that reduces your life expectancy

If you are disabled, you can receive a refund of your benefits, in one or several payments, of all 4 of the following conditions are met:

  • you have a physical or mental disability
  • this disability reduces your life expectancy
  • you are already entitled to a pension under your plan (for example, your active membership has ceased)
  • your plan's provisions allows such a refund

Note that...


Disability can also give you entitlement to a pension.


Deferred pension with little or no indexation

If your plan membership ends before you are 10 years away from the normal retirement age (for example, if you are under age 55 and the normal retirement age is 65) and there is little or no indexation for your pension between the time you leave the plan and the time when you are 10 years away from the normal retirement age, you may be entitled to an additional pension benefit. If that is the case, you can receive a cash payment that corresponds in whole or in part to the value of that additional benefit, if your plan so provides.

Other useful links...

Practical corner

Top of page

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Les paiements au comptant de votre régime

Il y a des situations où vous avez droit à un paiement au comptant (ou remboursement). Votre régime à prestations déterminées doit prévoir certains paiements. Il peut également vous en offrir d'autres en option.

Situations où votre régime doit prévoir un remboursement :

Situations où votre régime peut prévoir un remboursement:

Le régime vous offre aussi différents types de rentes.


Notez que...


Pour obtenir un paiement au comptant (un remboursement), vous devez généralement en faire la demande auprès de l'administrateur de votre régime. Tout remboursement est imposable. Toutefois, il est possible de reporter l'imposition si vous pouvez faire déposer les sommes directement dans un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) ou un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR).

Sauf indication contraire, vous avez le droit de demander un remboursement en tout temps, même si vous n'avez pas le droit au transfert, dans la mesure où vous remplissez toujours les conditions requises.



Retraite progressive : pour réduire votre temps de travail avant la retraite

Si vous êtes toujours un participant actif, que vous êtes à moins de 10 ans de l'âge normal de la retraite (par exemple, vous avez au moins 55 ans si l'âge normal de la retraite est de 65 ans) et que vous convenez avec votre employeur de réduire votre temps de travail, vous pouvez recevoir un paiement de votre régime de retraite pour compenser votre perte de revenu.

Vous pouvez choisir le montant que vous désirez recevoir de votre régime, sans toutefois dépasser le plus petit des montants suivants :

  • 70 % de la perte de revenu résultant de la réduction de vos heures de travail
  • 40 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) pour l'année concernée, soit 23 480 $ pour 2020
  • la valeur de vos droits dans le régime

Ce paiement doit vous être fait en un seul versement pour l'année, au moment où vous le désirez. Si votre temps de travail est réduit pendant plus d'un an, vous pouvez donc recevoir plus d'un paiement, sans toutefois dépasser un paiement par année.

Il s'agit d'une avance sur votre épargne-retraite. Ainsi, vos droits dans le régime seront réduits d'un montant équivalent au paiement que vous avez reçu. Par ailleurs, puisque vous êtes toujours actif, vous continuerez à accumuler de nouveaux droits en travaillant pendant cette période.

Notez que...


Votre employeur n'est pas obligé de consentir à la réduction de votre temps de travail. Dans le cas d'un refus, vous ne pourrez pas vous prévaloir de cette mesure.

Vous n'êtes pas obligé de prendre votre retraite une fois la période de retraite progressive terminée, sauf si l'entente avec votre employeur l'exige.

Pour avoir droit à une retraite progressive, aucun minimum n'est requis quant au pourcentage de réduction de votre temps de travail.


Haut de page 

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Vous avez 56 ans et un salaire de 50 000 $ par année. Vous vous entendez avec votre employeur pour réduire votre temps de travail de 45 %. Votre perte de revenu sera alors de 22 500 $ et votre salaire annuel de 27 500 $. La valeur de vos droits au titre du régime s'élève à 250 000 $.

En 2020, vous avez droit à un paiement maximal de 15 750 $ de votre régime de retraite.

En effet, le montant équivalant à 70 % de la perte de vos revenus, soit 15 750 $ (70 % de 22 500 $), est plus petit que le montant équivalant à 40 % du MGA de 2020, soit 23 480 $. Il est également inférieur à la valeur de vos droits.

Votre revenu de 2020 pourrait donc atteindre 43 250 $ (27 500 $ + 15 750 $).

Notez que...


Il existe une autre mesure de retraite progressive qui peut donner droit à une rente. Vous ne pouvez pas vous prévaloir de ces deux mesures pour une même période.

Avance sur votre épargne-retraite du régime (entre 55 et 65 ans)

Si vous avez entre 55 et 65 ans, que vous avez droit à une rente de votre régime (par exemple, parce que vous avez cessé votre participation active), mais que vous ne désirez pas la recevoir immédiatement, vous pouvez obtenir une avance sur votre revenu de retraite en optant pour un paiement en un seul versement.

Le montant annuel maximal de l'avance

Ce montant ne peut dépasser 40 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) pour l'année où commence le versement de votre rente, moins le montant de toute rente temporaire d'un autre régime de retraite, contrat de rente ou fonds de revenu viager (FRV). En 2020, l'avance ne peut excéder 23 480 $.

Un exemple pour y voir plus clair...

Vous avez cessé votre participation active et vous avez droit à une rente différée de 1000 $ par mois payable à 65 ans. À 58 ans, vous obtenez l'avance de 10 000 $ que vous avez demandée. À 65 ans, vous aurez alors droit à une rente de l'ordre de 885 $* par mois.

* Ce montant vous est fourni à titre indicatif, parce qu'il est notamment basé sur des hypothèses d'intérêts, votre sexe et votre âge au moment de l'évaluation.

Haut de page 

Valeur de vos droits inférieure à 20 % du MGA, soit 11 740 $ en 2020

Vous avez droit au remboursement de la valeur de vos droits au titre du régime si, au moment où vous cessez d'être actif, cette valeur est inférieure à 20 % du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA), soit 11 740 $ en 2020. Ces droits excluent vos cotisations volontaires et les sommes que vous avez transférées d'un autre régime de retraite et qui n'ont pas été converties en rente de retraite. Toutefois, vous ne devez pas recevoir une rente de retraite de votre régime.

Vous pouvez demander ce remboursement dans les délais suivants :

  • dans les 90 jours suivant la réception de votre relevé de fin de participation active au régime si vous êtes à plus de 10 ans de l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime (par exemple, si vous avez moins de 55 ans et que l'âge normal de la retraite est de 65 ans)
  • par la suite, à tous les 5 ans de la date où vous avez cessé votre participation active, pour une période de 90 jours

Votre régime peut toutefois vous permettre de demander ce remboursement en dehors de ces délais.

Notez que...


Exceptionnellement dans ce cas, l'administrateur du régime peut décider de vous rembourser même si vous n'en faites pas la demande. Il vous avisera alors de sa décision et vous aurez 30 jours pour lui indiquer la façon dont vous voulez que vos droits soient acquittés (par exemple, par un dépôt des ces sommes directement dans un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) ou bien par un paiement au comptant). À défaut d'indication de votre part, l'administrateur décidera lui-même du mode d'acquittement (par exemple, un paiement au comptant).


Non-résidence au Canada

Quelle que soit la valeur de vos droits au titre du régime, et même si avez commencé à recevoir votre rente de retraite du régime, vous pouvez demander un remboursement de la valeur de vos droits ou un remboursement représentant la valeur des paiements de rentes à recevoir, si les 3 conditions suivantes sont satisfaites :

  • vous ne résidez plus au Canada depuis au moins 2 ans
  • vous avez cessé de participer activement au régime
  • vous ne travaillez plus pour l'employeur qui offre ce régime

Haut de page 

Droits excédant ce qui est transférable en franchise d'impôt

Si vous demandez le transfert de vos droits et que l'administrateur du régime constate qu'une partie de ces droits excède ce qui est transférable en franchise d'impôt, il doit vous rembourser cette partie excédentaire. Vous ne pouvez déposer cette somme directement dans votre REER pour en reporter l'imposition.

Cotisations volontaires

Vous pouvez obtenir un remboursement de vos cotisations volontaires si les 2 conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • vous avez cessé votre participation active au régime
  • vos cotisations volontaires n'ont pas été converties en rente additionnelle

Vous pouvez demander ce remboursement dans les délais suivants :

  • dans les 90 jours suivant la réception de votre relevé de fin de participation active au régime, si vous êtes à plus de 10 ans de l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime (par exemple, si vous avez moins de 55 ans et que l'âge normal de la retraite est de 65 ans)
  • par la suite, à tous les 5 ans de la date où vous avez cessé votre participation active, pour une période de 90 jours

Votre régime peut toutefois vous permettre de demander ce remboursement en dehors de ces délais.

Sommes transférées d'un ancien régime

Vous pouvez obtenir un remboursement des sommes que vous avez transférées d'un ancien régime si les 3 conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • vous avez cessé votre participation active au régime
  • ces sommes auraient pu vous être remboursées dans le régime d'où elles proviennent
  • le régime le permet

Haut de page 

Invalidité réduisant votre espérance de vie

Vous pouvez obtenir un remboursement en un ou plusieurs versements de la valeur de vos droits au titre du régime, si les 4 conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • vous souffrez d'une invalidité physique ou mentale
  • cette invalidité réduit votre espérance de vie
  • vous avez droit à une rente de votre régime (par exemple, parce que vous avez cessé votre participation active)
  • le régime le permet

Notez que...


L'invalidité peut également donner droit à une rente.


Rente différée peu indexée ou pas du tout indexée

Si vous cessez de participer au régime avant d'avoir atteint les 10 ans de l'âge normal de la retraite (par exemple, si vous avez moins de 55 ans et que l'âge normal de la retraite est de 65 ans) et que le montant de votre rente est peu indexé ou ne l'est pas du tout entre le moment de votre départ et celui où vous aurez atteint cet âge, il est également possible que vous ayez droit à une prestation additionnelle. Dans un tel cas, vous pouvez obtenir un paiement au comptant représentant une partie ou la totalité de la valeur de cette prestation, si votre régime le permet.

Haut de page 


Autres liens utiles...

  • Haut de la page

Coin pratique