Régie des rentes du Québec

When you retire

  • If you have exercised your transfer right, you may have used a life income fund (LIF) to draw a retirement income or to purchase a life annuity from an insurer. In the case of an annuity, you can begin receiving payments immediately or at a latter date, as you wish.
  • If you have exercised your transfer right and you prefer to use other sources of income before drawing your retirement income, you can leave your retirement savings in a locked-in retirement account (LIRA) where they will continue to grow.
  • To find out more about the terms and conditions for transfers from your defined benefit pension plan, consult the section You want to transfer the value of your benefits.

Payment of a pension or another benefit by your pension plan

  • If you have not exercised your transfer right, you can obtain the payment of your pension by applying to the plan administrator.
  • Under a defined benefit plan, the amount of your pension is determined according to a precise formula. The pension usually corresponds to a percentage of your salary multiplied by the number of years of credited service under the plan.
  • The pension payment options available to you depend mainly on your age, your conjugal status and your financial situation. Those factors may affect the amount of your pension.
  • Your pension plan must provide various types of pensions (early pension, deferred pension, etc.) depending on your age and the normal retirement age under the plan.
  • Your plan provides various forms of pensions (60% joint and survivor pension, pension with a 10-year guarantee, etc..). Some of these forms provide protection for your spouse if you die, others may take increases in the cost of living into account, etc.
  • In certain situations, you may be entitled to a un cash payment from your plan.

Other useful links...

  •  Share
  • Top of the page 
  CompuPension LIF Quick Calc

Youtube facebook twitter PinterestLinkedin Instagram

Vous prenez votre retraite

  • Si vous avez exercé votre droit au transfert, vous pouvez alors avoir utilisé un fonds de revenu viager (FRV) pour en tirer un revenu de retraite, ou encore avoir acheté une rente viagère auprès d'un assureur. Dans ce dernier cas, la rente achetée auprès d'un assureur peut vous être versée immédiatement ou plus tard, selon ce que vous choisissez.
  • Si vous avez exercé votre droit au transfert et que vous préférez utiliser d'abord d'autres sources de revenus, vous pouvez laisser votre épargne dans un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) pour qu'elle continue de fructifier.
  • Pour connaître les modalités de transfert applicables à votre régime à prestations déterminées, consultez la rubrique Vous voulez transférer la valeur de vos droits.

Paiement d'une rente ou d'une autre prestation par votre régime

  • Si vous n'avez pas exercé votre droit au transfert, vous pourrez obtenir le paiement d'une rente en vous adressant à l'administrateur de votre régime.
  • Dans un régime à prestations déterminées, le montant de votre rente est établi selon une formule précise. Il correspond généralement à un pourcentage du salaire multiplié par les années de service reconnues par le régime.
  • Les choix et options qui s'offrent à vous en ce qui concerne le paiement d'une rente de votre régime dépendent notamment de votre âge, de votre statut matrimonial et de votre situation financière. Ceux-ci peuvent modifier le montant de votre rente.
  • Votre régime prévoit divers types de rentes (rente anticipée, rente différée, etc.) selon votre âge et l'âge normal de la retraite prévu au régime.
  • Votre régime prévoit diverses formes de rentes (rente réversible à 60 %, rente garantie 10 ans, etc.). Certaines offrent une protection pour votre conjoint en cas de décès, d'autres peuvent tenir compte de la hausse du coût de la vie, etc.
  • Il y a des situations où vous pouvez avoir droit à un paiement au comptant de votre régime.

Autres liens utiles

  • Haut de la page